COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :
Old 02-27-2011, 10:06 AM   #1
Krillo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 104
Default Buffer size OS X client?

Hi all,
I'm sorry if I'm "double posting" this, I also started a thread in the Reaper OS X section. My question is: How to set buffer size when using Ninjam client on Mac OS X 10.4? I'm guessing setting buffer size in OS X is different from PC and ASIO, and that it is set via menu in the software used, and not in the control panel for the soundcard (M-audio Audiophine 2496 PCI), but I can find no such menu. Help please

thanx
/Krillo
Krillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 10:55 AM   #2
pljones
Human being with feelings
 
pljones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 598
Default

I don't know Mac but...

In the standalone NINJAM client, under "Options->Audio configuration", when that's set to "ASIO", you should have an "ASIO Configuration" button that takes you to your ASIO driver's panel for setting buffer sizes and such like.

For CoreAudio or whatever it's called, you may have the "Buffer [ ] x [ ] bytes (latency XXms)" on the Audio configuration panel.

---

For Reaper itself, click the right-hand end of the menu bar where it says your sample rate, channels, latency and driver. That'll pop up the Reaper audio configuration panel. From there, it's much as above - pick the audio system (ASIO, CoreAudio, whatever) then set the other bits.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Williams
...Playing fast around the drums is one thing. But to play with people for others, to listen to, that's something else. That's a whole other world.
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 07:04 AM   #3
Krillo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pljones View Post
I don't know Mac but...

In the standalone NINJAM client, under "Options->Audio configuration", when that's set to "ASIO", you should have an "ASIO Configuration" button that takes you to your ASIO driver's panel for setting buffer sizes and such like.

For CoreAudio or whatever it's called, you may have the "Buffer [ ] x [ ] bytes (latency XXms)" on the Audio configuration panel.

---

For Reaper itself, click the right-hand end of the menu bar where it says your sample rate, channels, latency and driver. That'll pop up the Reaper audio configuration panel. From there, it's much as above - pick the audio system (ASIO, CoreAudio, whatever) then set the other bits.
I will check it out tonight, try reaper demo too.
Krillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 04:59 PM   #4
mrelwood
Human being with feelings
 
mrelwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,365
Default

In OSX the buffer size is determined by the software itself, not the audio device settings.

I suggest using the ReaNINJAM plugin instead, so you can control the buffer size from within Reaper.
__________________
______Announcing__mrelwood plugins______
.. MacBook Pro 15" Late '13 .. Scarlett 6i6, Saffire Pro 24 DSP (+ADA8000) .. FCA610 .. EVE: SC207 .. Focal: Alpha 65, CMS 40, Listen Pro ..
mrelwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.