Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2018, 03:36 PM   #1
Tyrannocaster
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 524
Default Can I use my Windows PC config file?

Reaper is working fine for me on Linux Lite, but all the custom key shortcuts I have spent years getting just right are missing. I know you can copy the config file from one Windows machine to another - can I do it from my W7 PC to this Linux installation? What about stuff like the SWS actions? I probably don't need most of them here, but some are very useful.
Tyrannocaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2018, 03:41 PM   #2
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,443
Default

I copied all of mine from 8.1 over to Linux on the same machine and it worked fine aside from anything involving file paths, for obvious reasons.

For SWS, there's a Linux build on www.landoleet.org , and your existing SWS preferences should be picked up if you copy them over too.
Lokasenna is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2018, 03:55 PM   #3
Tyrannocaster
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 524
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
I copied all of mine from 8.1 over to Linux on the same machine and it worked fine aside from anything involving file paths, for obvious reasons.

For SWS, there's a Linux build on www.landoleet.org , and your existing SWS preferences should be picked up if you copy them over too.
Great news! Thanks very much. I am using a computer with an Intel e5300 chip - OS is 64 bit. Which of the two 64 bit SWS ones do I want? And then I'll have to figure out what to do with it once I download it, LOL.
Tyrannocaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2018, 07:19 AM   #4
Tyrannocaster
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 524
Default

It worked perfectly. Thanks!

I got the SWS file and extracted it. Where do the three files go? In Windows, an installer does this, so I looked in my windows Reaper installation folder but I can't find files with these names. The only folder that looks suitable is the Plugins folder, is that right?

Last edited by Tyrannocaster; 09-30-2018 at 07:27 AM.
Tyrannocaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2018, 07:46 AM   #5
jiff 41
Human being with feelings
 
jiff 41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: WALES, UK
Posts: 763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrannocaster View Post
It worked perfectly. Thanks!

I got the SWS file and extracted it. Where do the three files go? In Windows, an installer does this, so I looked in my windows Reaper installation folder but I can't find files with these names. The only folder that looks suitable is the Plugins folder, is that right?

A little info for you!
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=209098
__________________
"I started out with nothing & i still have most of it left"(seasick steve)
jiff 41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2018, 08:10 AM   #6
Tyrannocaster
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 524
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jiff 41 View Post
Your idea of "little" and mine are two different things, LOL. But I assume you are talking about the OP in the thread, which did not work for me; I was unable to install Reaper using the shell script or via the terminal. Luckily, it works as a portable so I was able to use it right away anyhow. I don't remember what I had to do to get it to integrate with the menus, etc., but I had to do it separately. My "installation" is on the second internal drive.

So I still don't know where to put those SWS files.
Tyrannocaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2018, 08:52 AM   #7
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,809
Default

I don't know about 3 files, but unless you have a portable install reaper_sws64.so goes into ~/.config/REAPER/UserPlugins/
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040, etc. :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2018, 09:26 AM   #8
Tyrannocaster
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 524
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Winter View Post
I don't know about 3 files, but unless you have a portable install reaper_sws64.so goes into ~/.config/REAPER/UserPlugins/
Okay, I found that location. Yeah, when I extracted the file it gave me three files:

reaper_sws64.so
reaper_sws64.so.debug
sws_python64.py
Tyrannocaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2018, 09:39 AM   #9
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,809
Default

Then put all 3 there, you probably won't need the .debug file though.
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040, etc. :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.