Old 10-29-2015, 08:18 AM   #1
shurt
Human being with feelings

Default Best plug in for creating drums from sample library

Hi,

Been using Reaper for a while now and generally use loops or samples pasted into the session (time consuming) for my drum tracks.

What I'd love to be able to do is play basic drum parts on my midi controller and then change the snare/kick/hats sound by scrolling through a list - my samples aren't sorted into folders of snare, kick etc but it's something I'm planning on doing. I'd love to have a system that allowed me to do this in Reaper.

Another separate question is could I do this an the drums be automatically quantized to account for any mistakes in my playing?

I'm pretty new to midi having just got the 2 octave Arturia hybrid synth which can also be used as a controller. It took me a while to get this working so would love some suggestions as to how I can get this drum set up going.

Oh, and I'm on a Mac btw
shurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2015, 08:45 AM   #2
DarkStar

A1)
CWITec's TX16Wx - cheaper, more features, multiple instruments at one itme

or discoDSP's Bliss - newer, simpler, in beta at the moment, shows a lot of promise.

Traditionally, for changing, say, a snare sound, you could:
-- load several different snares, each onr mapped to a different MIDI trigger note
-- load one snare, then if you do not like it replace it by another,
-- load one snare and use the software's controls to change the sound, apply internal effects etc

A2) Yes

Details are in the User Guide
Old 10-29-2015, 02:02 PM   #3
foxAsteria

Haven't tested extensively yet, but this one seems very slick too: http://bedroomproducersblog.com/2015...-sampler-free/
Old 10-29-2015, 02:38 PM   #4
shurt

Thank you both so much for your replies. I'll have a look into both and report back. I've already downloaded TX16W so that'll be my first port of call...
Old 10-29-2015, 03:40 PM   #5
shurt

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post