COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :
Old 05-13-2010, 11:42 PM   #1
jayendra
Human being with feelings
 
jayendra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Gippsland, Aus
Posts: 510
Default How to run over a network

Is it possible to run ninjam server and then connect computers within the same network at 100mps lan with no delay?
__________________
.-. . .- .--. . .-. | .. ... | --. --- .-.. -..
jayendra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 12:27 AM   #2
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 20,842
Default

i haven't setup a ninjam server before, but i can tell you that you're not going to achieve zero latency over a network. if that were possible, i'm sure that ninjam would have the option to not delay by bars of time.
__________________
It's time to take a stand against the synthesizer.
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 12:44 AM   #3
Brennan
hey man
 
Brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 331
Default

As long as you're using TCP/IP and soundcards and such it'll be fairly difficult to get a low enough latency. You might consider just using the same wire to send audio directly.

However, if you want to experiment, try switching your Local Channels to "Voice chat" mode, which will give you the lowest possible latency within NINJAM. In this mode audio is sent ASAP and played back ASAP with no intervallic delay.

You might also try the ReaStream plugin bundled with REAPER. Then you can send MIDI too and I'd guess the latency *might* be a tiny bit lower (no OGG encode/decode)...
Brennan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 02:47 AM   #4
nancyd589
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Hello, I now became a member of this community here and I would love to be a part of it. Just enjoy the environment here.
nancyd589 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 11:24 AM   #5
AndyMc
Human being with feelings
 
AndyMc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 441
Default

Brennan I haven't really checked yet but is Voice Chat stereo?
Also ya right about using LAN cables to do Audio, seen a few projects on that and sure I've seen hardware here and there when looking for other stuff.
__________________
Latest Shit (looking for singers): http://www.soundcloud.com/AndyMcProducer
Twitter (@AndyMcProducer): http://www.twitter.com/AndyMcProducer
Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/AndyMcProducer
AndyMc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.