Old 07-14-2016, 07:32 PM   #81
romick
Human being with feelings
 
romick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Commala View Post
Are you on OSX? It works here on Windows, the text remains even if you set the font size to be larger than the field itself

Nope. Running W10. The largest font size I can use is 10pt. Any larger than that, I don't get the complete readout of the three sets of numbers - start point, end point and time selection.

I thought that maybe there was a larger graphical "cell" or something in which the numbers were encapsulated. But I compared your theme to some others that show a larger font with all three sections, but found no .png that seemed any different.

My aged eyes would appreciate larger numbers like the ones in the play window.
romick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2016, 07:37 PM   #82
JayJSE2
Human being with feelings
 
JayJSE2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 229
Default

Awesome theme, but any chance of having a condensed TCP layout with horizontal meters instead of vertical? I've been using the default v3 theme lately and I like the detail of having a long horizontal meter.
JayJSE2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 07:08 AM   #83
romick
Human being with feelings
 
romick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 20
Default

Hope this works. Never attached a .jpg to a message on the forum before. Also not sure to upload the modified theme and color scheme to the Stash, so I haven't done that yet.

I love the Commala_5_light.ReaperTheme.

I do voiceover and produce audiobooks for Audible.

I modified the the theme by culling some pieces of other themes and adding my own color scheme to make my personal work flow easier. (Also not sure how to add my color scheme to the modified theme as one file. I have the modified file and a tweak file.)

It's stripped down and streamlined for me (as far as the toolbar goes), but very colorful, based on a cyanogen.mod kind of Android look.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg My_Altered_Default_Commala_5_light1.jpg (56.6 KB, 583 views)

Last edited by romick; 07-20-2016 at 07:24 AM.
romick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2016, 11:43 AM   #84
TheMetalMachine
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 6
Default

Commala 5 is the best theme, in my opinion!
But just like some others, I wanted tinted tracks, so I changed it a little and uploaded it to the stash.
I hope you are ok with that, Commala.

Here it is: https://stash.reaper.fm/theme/1822/De...nCommala_5.zip

edit: the dark version, it is

Last edited by TheMetalMachine; 07-29-2016 at 12:03 PM.
TheMetalMachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 01:36 PM   #85
Commala
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 614
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by romick View Post
Nope. Running W10. The largest font size I can use is 10pt. Any larger than that, I don't get the complete readout of the three sets of numbers - start point, end point and time selection.

I thought that maybe there was a larger graphical "cell" or something in which the numbers were encapsulated. But I compared your theme to some others that show a larger font with all three sections, but found no .png that seemed any different.

My aged eyes would appreciate larger numbers like the ones in the play window.
Ah, I thought you meant the numbers actually disappeared. The cell size for the readout element can be changed, it's at the bottom of the rtconfig in the transport layouts, under trans.sel

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayJSE2 View Post
Awesome theme, but any chance of having a condensed TCP layout with horizontal meters instead of vertical? I've been using the default v3 theme lately and I like the detail of having a long horizontal meter.
This is a good idea, but I don't know that I'll add it in myself because the right-click menu for changing layouts has an upper limit to how many layouts can be in the list. Adding more would cause others to not appear, which just seems too sloppy to go there

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMetalMachine View Post
Commala 5 is the best theme, in my opinion!
But just like some others, I wanted tinted tracks, so I changed it a little and uploaded it to the stash.
I hope you are ok with that, Commala.

Here it is: https://stash.reaper.fm/theme/1822/De...nCommala_5.zip

edit: the dark version, it is
Sorry, take it down !

Jk, I don't mind at all. I will probably add this in the future to a separate version, eventually
Commala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 04:15 PM   #86
JayJSE2
Human being with feelings
 
JayJSE2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 229
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Commala View Post
This is a good idea, but I don't know that I'll add it in myself because the right-click menu for changing layouts has an upper limit to how many layouts can be in the list. Adding more would cause others to not appear, which just seems too sloppy to go there
In that case, I can give it a go myself, but how do you edit the individual layouts?
JayJSE2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2016, 06:38 AM   #87
Trancit
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Gran Canaria
Posts: 409
Default

Nevermind... great theme thx :-)

Last edited by Trancit; 09-21-2016 at 09:06 AM.
Trancit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 11:29 AM   #88
Vagalume
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 456
Default

Is there a way to limit the height of the TCP tracks? ... I use a template with more than 100 instruments so I need as much space as possible.I know the height is not big ... but I would like to get some more room.

Last edited by Vagalume; 09-26-2016 at 12:13 PM.
Vagalume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2016, 08:05 AM   #89
DANIELE
Human being with feelings
 
DANIELE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Florence, Italy
Posts: 362
Default

I'm still using the commala 4 version modded by me in many parts, I miss the full color tracks, they are very useful to me.
I hope that you'll update this great theme with this feature.

Anyway great work, for me the best theme out there. I can't find anything better.

However, if I can ask a question, what are the new Reaper 5 theming features?
__________________
Audio: AKG-K240 MKII, Adam A7X, Audient iD22 - Steinberg UR22; Piano: Yamaha P-250 - NI S88 MK1;
!!DANIELE EPIC ORCHESTRAL MUSIC!! |*| STAR WARS SERIES
DANIELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 11:16 AM   #90
matthewjumpsoffbuildings
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 441
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Commala View Post
Jk, I don't mind at all. I will probably add this in the future to a separate version, eventually
i really like this theme and i too would like background tinting on panels, any news on when you will be implementing this?

thanks
__________________
[array] soundcloud facebook
matthewjumpsoffbuildings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 12:45 PM   #91
hermitcrab
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 351
Default

Really liking Commala 5 dark thanks but is there any way you could make an option to stop the red cursor from flashing please ?

Other thank that it looks perfect. I also love commala 4 dark

cheers
hermitcrab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 08:47 AM   #92
chip mcdonald
Human being with feelings
 
chip mcdonald's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NA - North Augusta South Carolina
Posts: 3,779
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMetalMachine View Post
Commala 5 is the best theme, in my opinion!
But just like some others, I wanted tinted tracks, so I changed it a little and uploaded it to the stash.
I hope you are ok with that, Commala.

Here it is: https://stash.reaper.fm/theme/1822/De...nCommala_5.zip

edit: the dark version, it is
Is there a reason my controls reverted to Reaper 2.x style?


/ Frakking frak, where did the theme controls get moved to in the menu? Ahrghh...
// the seemingly never ending quest to make auto coloring work..
__________________
]]]>-guitar lessons - www.chipmcdonald.com-<[[[
Experiencing Guitar: Essays from Teaching by Chip McDonald https://www.amazon.com/dp/1521877823..._QZJxAbA4GVDC1
chip mcdonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2017, 04:23 PM   #93
dreamtuned
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 88
Default

How to change the tracks in mixer grouping vertical one on another and instead scroll them horizontally like on most daws?
dreamtuned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 06:53 PM   #94
ontariomaximus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Default

pardon this newbie question, but why is there a light and dark?
ontariomaximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 11:40 AM   #95
gwok
Human being with feelings
 
gwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nelson, BC
Posts: 3,315
Default

Hi,

Thanks for the great work, looks awesome!

I'm wondering though, I am getting my midi items (in all versions of the theme) looking like this. It's not a huge deal, but it is somewhat distracting, and it does not look like that in the pictures of the theme. And it does somewhat hinder identifying certain parts.

I am on

OSX - 10.9.5
reaper 5.4

if there's anything I can do to help or tweak it myself, please let me know,

thanks!

edit: nevermind, solved with prefs>peaks>draw edges on midi events
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2017-03-30 at 11.34.08 AM.png (19.8 KB, 394 views)
__________________
MacPro Xeon, 10.9.5
Reaper 5

Last edited by gwok; 03-30-2017 at 01:03 PM.
gwok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 10:02 AM   #96
tzzsmk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Prague
Posts: 103
Default

wow this is probably the theme I'll settle on
actually yesterday I've been browsing through themes, ran across Analog Default, which actually this Commala theme is based on, VERY nice!

just one thing, not a big deal I guess though,
how can I make transport bar main controls appear horizontally in center/middle??

these "actions" are how I have my Reaper set:
1) Transport: Show transport docked to top of main window
2) Transport: Center transport controls

strange thing is it works correct (but loads different buttons GUI set) if I click Options -> Layout -> Transport -> Large
__________________
High Sierra i7-5820K @4.3GHz, ASUS X99-S, 32GB DDR4, GTX980Ti Classified, 850 EVO 500GB, HDSPe AIO, ADI-2 DAC, Faderport Classic, Seaboard RISE49, Eris E8, AW3418DW, MacBook Pro 13 Mid-2012 (i7, 16GB, 840 EVO 500GB, 1TB), Fireface UFX, Octamic D & II
tzzsmk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 05:45 PM   #97
yellowmix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tzzsmk View Post
how can I make transport bar main controls appear horizontally in center/middle??
Dock transport in main window
Docked transport position > Below Arrange
Center transport controls
yellowmix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 03:31 AM   #98
tzzsmk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Prague
Posts: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowmix View Post
Dock transport in main window
Docked transport position > Below Arrange
Center transport controls
nope, doesn't work,
I never get the stop/play/pause/rec/loop in the middle :/
see: https://i.imgur.com/VdXduFE.png
__________________
High Sierra i7-5820K @4.3GHz, ASUS X99-S, 32GB DDR4, GTX980Ti Classified, 850 EVO 500GB, HDSPe AIO, ADI-2 DAC, Faderport Classic, Seaboard RISE49, Eris E8, AW3418DW, MacBook Pro 13 Mid-2012 (i7, 16GB, 840 EVO 500GB, 1TB), Fireface UFX, Octamic D & II
tzzsmk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 08:14 AM   #99
andyp24
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 691
Default Identify folder level

Hi

I tend to build projects which use several nested levels of folders (5 or more levels).

When adding/rearranging tracks, it can sometimes be tricky to check visually that everything is at the right level.

Is it possible to show in the theme visually which level a folder is at?

Possibilities might include a number somewhere on each track showing the level of that track in the nested structure. Or just a series of vertical lines down the "blank space" to the left of the folders/tracks so it's easier to see which ones align with each other.

Thanks for any input on this. I'm enjoying using the Commala theme overall.

Andy
andyp24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 08:30 AM   #100
BobF
Human being with feelings
 
BobF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tzzsmk View Post
nope, doesn't work,
I never get the stop/play/pause/rec/loop in the middle :/
see: https://i.imgur.com/VdXduFE.png
This is true with all of my favorite themes
__________________
--
Reaper 5 x64/Studio One 4P, Win10 Pro x64, UMC1820, FaderPort
i7-6700@3.8G/32G
BobF is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 11:51 AM   #101
Luster
Human being with feelings
 
Luster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 563
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andyp24 View Post
H
When adding/rearranging tracks, it can sometimes be tricky to check visually that everything is at the right level.

Is it possible to show in the theme visually which level a folder is at?

Possibilities might include a number somewhere on each track showing the level of that track in the nested structure. Or just a series of vertical lines down the "blank space" to the left of the folders/tracks so it's easier to see which ones align with each other.

Thanks for any input on this. I'm enjoying using the Commala theme overall.
Yeah, we have the possibility to do that (move / alter graphics depending on folder level) but unfortunately not a lot of themes use it. I made a mod which has this implemented in the mixer:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=183266

The folder depth numbering would only be possible with a trick (write the numbers in the bg-graphics...).
Luster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 12:06 PM   #102
alex2035
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Default

May I ask a question? I am new to Commala 5, adopted after seeing ReaperTV, found it very cool.
So I installed latest one from stash. thing is I see no extended ReaperMenus like shown on the screenshots, namely the MIDI editor, the main toolbar , toolbar1....for me it just shows the default reaper icons.
Would it be a ReaperMenu thing to be loaded after insall, perhaps inherited from an earlier version?
Sorry it could be a newbie question, I am just learning this adopted daw.

alex
alex2035 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2017, 05:06 AM   #103
jbraner
Human being with feelings
 
jbraner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 256
Default

Hi,


New Reaper user here, and certainly no graphical genius ;-)


I'm trying to figure out which theme to settle on, so I can "set and forget".


I like the Commala 5 dark theme - but there's only one thing I'd like to edit, and that is the bright colours on the waveform peak backgrounds.
Is there a way to tone these down?


I'm happy to mess around with rtconfig, and the png files, but I'm not really sure where to look for this. It will be the equivalent of just turning down the tint setting in prefs.


Can anybody point me in the right direction?
jbraner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2017, 06:15 AM   #104
tzzsmk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Prague
Posts: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbraner View Post
Hi,
Can anybody point me in the right direction?
as I noticed you seem to be previously Sonar user (I was too, but years ago), I can recommend this theme for you, should solve your problem too:
https://forums.cockos.com/showthread.php?p=1778709
__________________
High Sierra i7-5820K @4.3GHz, ASUS X99-S, 32GB DDR4, GTX980Ti Classified, 850 EVO 500GB, HDSPe AIO, ADI-2 DAC, Faderport Classic, Seaboard RISE49, Eris E8, AW3418DW, MacBook Pro 13 Mid-2012 (i7, 16GB, 840 EVO 500GB, 1TB), Fireface UFX, Octamic D & II
tzzsmk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2017, 07:28 AM   #105
jbraner
Human being with feelings
 
jbraner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 256
Default

Hi tzzsmk,

Thanks for the link - but Commala 5 is the theme we're talking about ;-)

I don't want the tinted panels though - I like the ver 5 without it - I just want to tone down the bright colours of the media items ("clips" in SONAR speak) ;-)
jbraner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 07:20 AM   #106
jbraner
Human being with feelings
 
jbraner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 256
Default

Quote:
So there is an option to allow tinting the peaks and item backgrounds separately, if you're comfortable editing an rtconfig. Near the top of the rtconfig, these lines appear:


tinttcp 1962
; "track panel tinting" enabled, allowing true colour swatches
; items are coloured according to track colour, and can be set independently as well
; colouring of individual takes will tint the waveform
; if you replace "1962" with "1578", take peaks are tinted instead of take backgrounds, but this will make it more difficult to see item selection(in this theme, peaks turn white when the item is selected, but not when takes are coloured)


You can change that to 1578 and see how you like it then. In fact there are many different numbers you can enter to affect how tracks and items are coloured, but they are derived from a rather complicated process. You can see that here, if you're brave: http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php...2&postcount=37

Thanks you for this link!


I eventually figured out how this works (in case anyone else is interested)


so here's the order of bits
Bitswitch
&11HEXGDFCBA

I set:


True = ON
0 A= tracklabel tinting
1 B= trackpanel tinting


False = ON
0 C= tint waveform peaks to track color
1 D= tint waveform peaks to item
1 E= tint waveform peaks to Take


True = On
0 F= tint background to track color
0 G= tint background to item
0 H= tint background to take


which is (trying to line them up)
11HEXGDFCBA
110 10 01 0010


So these 11 bits add up to a decimal number
1024 + 512 +128 + 16 +2
see how it works? (columns are 1024,512,256,128,64,32,16,8,4,2,1 so add up the columns with a "1" in them)

so tinttcp 1682
jbraner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 01:36 PM   #107
dotpc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 10
Default

I love Commala, but there appears to be an issue with text boxes inside of NINJAM. See the attached screenshot for an example.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2019-04-17 at 1.34.18 PM.png (46.3 KB, 177 views)
dotpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 08:00 PM   #108
Commala
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 614
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dotpc View Post
I love Commala, but there appears to be an issue with text boxes inside of NINJAM. See the attached screenshot for an example.
I replied to your PM, but I can't create a remote channel to see the light text you're showing, because I am not familiar/don't use Ninjam. I'd say that this is probably an overlooked colour assignment discrepancy in the ReaNinjam interface, it's basically pulling from a different colour definition when it should just be the same text colour definition as the Local channels. That could be considered a bug, maybe the devs would fix this if you created a bug report for it.
Commala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 02:04 PM   #109
HerrKung
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 16
Default

Nice theme.

I have a few suggestions on improvement:

I like the horizontal meter in tracks but its too short. Should be longer. Volume slider could be moved under the meter or to the right.

Maybe and option to have the track icons to the left.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg theme suggestions.JPG (36.0 KB, 231 views)
HerrKung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 09:52 PM   #110
Commala
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 614
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HerrKung View Post
Nice theme.

I have a few suggestions on improvement:

I like the horizontal meter in tracks but its too short. Should be longer. Volume slider could be moved under the meter or to the right.

Maybe and option to have the track icons to the left.
This is a good suggestion, I could probably change one of the layouts to provide a longer horizontal meter. I plan to do some theme updates when Reaper 6 is released, then I can take a look at that.

The track icons can't be positioned by the theme, they are where they are.
Commala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 12:09 PM   #111
HerrKung
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Commala View Post
This is a good suggestion, I could probably change one of the layouts to provide a longer horizontal meter. I plan to do some theme updates when Reaper 6 is released, then I can take a look at that.

The track icons can't be positioned by the theme, they are where they are.
Good to hear.
Is there some other way to move the track icons to the left?
HerrKung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 06:52 PM   #112
Commala
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 614
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HerrKung View Post
Good to hear.
Is there some other way to move the track icons to the left?
No, this is built into Reaper
Commala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 01:52 AM   #113
HerrKung
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Commala View Post
No, this is built into Reaper
Ah thats a flaw or what do you think?
The developer should fix this so its fully customizable in my opinion.
HerrKung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2019, 12:47 PM   #114
Commala
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 614
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HerrKung View Post
Ah thats a flaw or what do you think?
The developer should fix this so its fully customizable in my opinion.
Personally I don't mind the icons being where they are. So I don't feel like it's something that is worth changing, just speaking for myself of course.
Commala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 07:47 AM   #115
Freex
Human being with feelings
 
Freex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 585
Default

Hi all, I posted this earlier in a separate thread, but figure it should really be here.

Hoping to pick a brain with more knowledge than my own about Editing Themes.
I've been messing about with Default_Commala_5 trying to add a few extra fader colours. which I actually managed to do.
But I've noticed that the track panel layout menu doesn't scroll and is missing the last 4 layout options if I use the
"right click on strip>Track Layout>Track Panel"
or from main menu
"track>Track Layout>Track Panel".
If I use
"Options>Layouts>Track Panel" I can see everything correctly.

Mixer layouts work perfectly in all.

Any idea what i need to do?
Freex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2019, 09:35 AM   #116
tompad
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fjugesta, Sweden
Posts: 407
Default How to change layout

Hi!

I've been using Default Commala 5 for a long time now, and I like it a LOT!
Now I would like to make my own layouts in the theme - to start with, one
with only Rec, Label, I/O, M, S, Trim and FX. I have checked the info from
White Tie and Kenny Gioia about Editing rtconfig.txt and it looked simple
to remove some parts just by setting 0 in order.

But when I open rtconfig.txt for Default Commala 5 its not the same sort of code,
or is it? I cant find the code that order the parts in Layout.

Any help is most appreciated - I love this theme, I just want to make some
own layouts (NOT change theme).

Regard
Thomas
__________________
ToDoList Obliques MusicMath Donation Mark4celeste Frid i ditt hjärta Eve & the Fisherman on Spotify
tompad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 01:53 AM   #117
themixtape
Human being with feelings
 
themixtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 727
Default

I LOVE this theme. Absolutely love it. All variations of it, too. Fantastic work, and thank you!
themixtape is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.