Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Video Editing/Mangling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-20-2018, 03:32 PM   #1
hanstimmermans
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Default parameter modulating videoprocessor fx possible?

I'm trying to modulate the videoprocessor with audio.
The LFO works but not the audio modulating.
I don't get audio in...
Is this a bug or am I doing something wrong ?

Hope any body can help me out..
hanstimmermans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 04:30 PM   #2
Theristis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
Default

I tried this in the past with no luck.

I managed to modulate with the following workaround:
Add some other effect to the same track and modulate one of the parameters, go to the video processor and make a link to the modulated parameter.

I would like to know if there is a better way to achieve this.

Last edited by Theristis; 12-21-2018 at 01:40 AM.
Theristis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 11:41 PM   #3
hanstimmermans
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Default

thanks Theristis. It works but is very heavy on the cpu...

Is it possible to change the speed of updating the modulation into the frame rate?

(sorry for my english)
hanstimmermans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 02:21 AM   #4
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,171
Default

there is a JSFX in the pre-releases called 'video sample peeker'. Video processor code can get info from that. There are a couple examples in the presets (oscilloscope and spectrum analyzer)
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 03:07 AM   #5
Eliseat
Human being with feelings
 
Eliseat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Cologne
Posts: 835
Default

If you don't want to use the dev version you also could try this little helper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=192115
It does the same thing: translating audio into slider values.

I also asked in this https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=214397 thread about why audio modulation of video processor parameters isn't supported in the first place. Though its still not clear.
Eliseat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 03:14 AM   #6
Eliseat
Human being with feelings
 
Eliseat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Cologne
Posts: 835
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hanstimmermans View Post

Is it possible to change the speed of updating the modulation into the frame rate?

(sorry for my english)
Why would you want to do that? Of course you could use juiliansander's amazing LFO tool and change its rate to 30 hz for a 30 frames per second video. But that is really, REALLY fast. More like a strobo light.

Anyway. Its better you describe a bit more in depth what you want to achieve as this is always better for people to help.

Greetings
Eli
Eliseat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 04:10 AM   #7
hanstimmermans
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Default

thanks Eliseat and Epicsound.. great info..

To explain a little better...

I have the feeling that parameters from the video processor are update at audio speed (sample accurate). (no idea if this is true)

When i want to influence the pixelate amount then updating every frame would be enough.

or am I thinking wrong...

Thanks for your input.
hanstimmermans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 04:41 AM   #8
Eliseat
Human being with feelings
 
Eliseat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Cologne
Posts: 835
Default

Ah, now I understand: You don't mean the speed of LFO at frame rate but the update rate of parameter changing.

That's something I have no idea about. I guess the video processor takes what it needs. It can't update in between frames so ... not sure if this is relevant in any way.

If you want to pixelate your video on a beat, that works pretty easy with the little tool (audio2slider) I linked. Just send a kick drum to your video track (don't forget to uncheck "send to master"), put the audio2slider converter in your fx chain and modulate the pixelate parameter with a link to the slider (l or r). Then adjust the scale until it fist your needs.

Though you wont be able to preview it accurately it shows up pretty cool once rendered. But for some reason it sometimes can be necessary to align a beat a bit earlier or later in time (some milliseconds) as some kick drums tend to send the "energy" a bit late (bassy sustain).

Last edited by Eliseat; 12-21-2018 at 04:59 AM.
Eliseat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 06:27 AM   #9
Theristis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
Default

Can anyone explain me this:

For example, if I add a zoom fx to my video, when i'm moving the zoom parameter with the mouse or my MIDI controller the response is very slow and the playback of the video is very choppy, this makes it almost unusable for automation recording. On the other hand, if I add an LFO to the zoom parameter, the video plays perfectly smooth.
Theristis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 07:50 AM   #10
Eliseat
Human being with feelings
 
Eliseat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Cologne
Posts: 835
Default

Have no clue. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Some things of video editing just aren't optimized enough. But time will bring optimizations. Maybe Justin can explain why those modulation inputs differ so much.

Eliseat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.