Old Yesterday, 10:11 PM   #2161
technogremlin
Human being with feelings
 
technogremlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavymetalmixer View Post
I don't think you should. QRange is a linear phase EQ, so it works and sounds differently from a "normal" EQ.
You can switch QRange to non linear phase

TDR Nova doesn't do mid/side afaik, and it is not that light on CPU either. The Melda stuff I stay away from as I don't want to install a whole bunch of stuff to get one particular plugin. EDIT: I see you can now select what to install. Will check that stuff out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nait View Post
I'll throw out A1TriggerGate as a recommendation for a gate (more for electronic music)
Yep, use it myself (also A1 Stereo Control) so will definitely go into the list update.
technogremlin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 10:35 PM   #2162
heavymetalmixer
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by technogremlin View Post
You can switch QRange to non linear phase

TDR Nova doesn't do mid/side afaik, and it is not that light on CPU either. The Melda stuff I stay away from as I don't want to install a whole bunch of stuff to get one particular plugin. EDIT: I see you can now select what to install. Will check that stuff out.



Yep, use it myself (also A1 Stereo Control) so will definitely go into the list update.
In TDR plugins the Mid is called "Sum", and the Sides are called "Diff".
heavymetalmixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:52 AM   #2163
technogremlin
Human being with feelings
 
technogremlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavymetalmixer View Post
In TDR plugins the Mid is called "Sum", and the Sides are called "Diff".
Ah, that's why I didn't find it; this setting is for the whole EQ while I was looking at the bands. In QRange you can set individual bands to stereo/mid/side/left/right (ReEQ does this as well)

I do use TDR Nova, but specifically for its dynamic EQ capabilities.

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavymetalmixer View Post
try Melda MEqualizer ...
So I did. Turns out that my gut feeling (to stay away from these plugins) was correct; Downloaded a much to large installer to get an EQ that has an incredible small GUI that you can resize (if you find it) but won't save that size, as that is a 'premium feature' in the payed version. Besides that, they couldn't make that bright red message on the GUI any more hideous, now could they. Nice as a demo to see what it does but I can't see myself using this free version as a real alternative to other available stuff.

So I won't recommend the Melda stuff as 'freeware alternatives'. If you drop the 49 euros to get the marketing stuff out of the way it seems quite a nice bargain, but that is not what this thread is about.
technogremlin is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.