Old 07-08-2012, 08:25 PM   #1
Kundalinguist
Human being with feelings
 
Kundalinguist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,585
Default v4.25rc2 - July 8 2012

v4.25rc2 - July 8 2012
(rc2) # DDP: re-enabled 8 bit chars in strings
(rc2) # Tempo envelope: fixed minor problems when editing individual points
+ Actions: added action to insert ReaEQ on a track, get/set ReaEQ parameters
+ Actions: fixed action to insert time and paste items
+ API: added CreateNewMIDIItemInProject function
+ API: added function to insert tempo/time signature changes
+ AU: fix for Waves loading crashes
+ AU: support for plug-ins that receive MIDI sysex
+ Crossfades: fixed unwanted creation of crossfade when editing the other edge of a media item
+ DDP support: improvements (MD5, CD-TEXT support, UTF-8/ascii conversion)
+ Colortheme: tweaks to default theme
+ Envelopes: fixed persistence of preference to reset automation mode after writing automation
+ EULA: amended to make it clear that developing and selling plug-ins and extensions is allowed
+ External editors: dedicated action for opening associated projects in REAPER
+ External editors: improved external editor display/running logic, associated project references are fallbacks rather than prioritized
+ Faster REAPER shutdown process (can also reduce crashes on exit on OSX)
+ Freeze: fixed support for freeze in undo states (broken since 4.20)
+ FX envelopes: store special flag for wet/bypass envelopes in case plug-in parameter counts change
+ FX learn: support for toggle mode (toggle an FX parameter on/off with a single mapping)
+ JS: better support for UTF-8 filenames
+ JS: fixed bug where increasing track channels during playback with PDC-JS could cause dropouts
+ JS: fixed loop() behavior with negative counts on x86-64
+ JS: fixed some unuseful order of operation behaviors relating to certain operators
+ JS: import file support for code usability (use .jsfx-inc, these files will not be shown in the FX browser)
+ JS: for .jsfx-inc files, just use @init with functions plus any global initialization needed
+ JS: import can also be used to import other FX and provide the ability to override individual code sections
+ JS: improved code generation, most JS FX should now run substantially faster
+ JS: improved handling of doubleclicks in @gfx
+ JS: improved sizing behavior on OSX
+ JS: improvements to JSFX IDE/editor
+ JS: sent/received MIDI messages are now forced to be sorted by time
+ JS: support for new language constructs (functions, object-namespaces, xor operations, etc)
+ LTC generator: support for 23.976fps (though this is nonstandard)
+ MIDI editor: zoom behavior fixes in certain instances
+ MIDI loop recording: MIDI recording within a time selection optionally creates a selection-length media item
+ MIDI note properties: accepts manual note input (not just using the dropdown)
+ MIDI: optimizations to MIDI item processing when using large blocks with lots of tempo changes
+ Navigator: do not show tempo changes (only time signature markers are displayed)
+ OSC: support for older client implementations when handling messages with no arguments
+ OSC: support for track EQ parameters and feedback
+ Playback seek: settings moved to new Preferences/Audio/Seeking page
+ Preferences: split Envelopes page into separate Envelope Display and Automation Behavior pages
+ Region/Marker Manager: edit marker/region numbers, start, end, length in place in the list view
+ Region/Marker Manager: support for importing/exporting text or csv file
+ Regions: actions to go to another region after the current region finishes playing (smooth seek)
+ Regions: fixed action to delete region near cursor
+ Scrolling: option for continuous scrolling during playback
+ Take lanes: action to collapse empty take lanes
+ Take lanes: do not create unnecessary extra take lanes when punching in
+ Tempo envelope: action/dialog to adjust entire tempo map to a target tempo
+ Tempo envelope: default project timebase is now beats (existing projects are not affected)
+ Tempo envelope: disallowed freehand drawing for the master tempo envelope
+ Tempo envelope: disallowed moving one tempo/time signature marker past another
+ Tempo envelope: easier marquee/selection of master tempo envelope points
+ Tempo envelope: editing multiple points at once applies the change proportionally (not +/- constant BPM)
+ Tempo envelope: markers are always pinned to beat position rather than time
+ Tempo envelope: per-marker setting for allowing a partial measure prior to the marker
+ Tempo envelope: playback position obeys project timebase (time or beats) when user edits project tempo during playback
+ Tempo envelope: saner manual editing of tempo changes when "gradually transition tempo" is enabled
+ Tempo envelope: visual BPM range of envelope can be configured
+ Tempo envelope: visual display of time signature change points is different from tempo change points
+ Time signatures: manual editing requires them to be placed at the start of a measure
+ Time signatures: automatically correct time signatures when adding/removing partial measures from the project
+ Time signatures: time signature changes that truncate the previous measure are displayed in the ruler with an asterisk
+ Time signatures: with snap disabled, moving time signature markers will optionally modify the preceding tempo
+ Time signatures: with snap enabled, time signature changes snap to bars, tempo changes snap to grid
+ Toolbars: improved double-width toolbar button image scaling
+ WALTER: support for knob bitmap stacks
+ WALTER: theme layout lines can end in backslash to extend statement to next line
+ WALTER: transport status better supports layout images
+ WALTER: user-defined font support, other improvements
+ WINE: fixed support for non-conforming CallWindowProcW (still calls ASCII combobox wndproc when passed, unlike Win7/XP)
__________________
Success is just one more plugin away! And happiness is as close as your next upgrade.
Kundalinguist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 11:15 PM   #2
Some Guy
Human being with feelings
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 415
Default

regarding the reaeq action, i just had a go at it and it works fine for adding one instance but it won't add more after that. is this expected behavior? there are instances where i'd want multiple eqs in different location of the signal chain.

also i'm having glitches with the playback cursor, with continuous scrolling on. not sure if it happens without. i'll do some testing. and i've been having a hard time with the mouse cursors sometimes not updating properly, which can make editing a real pain.

also i've been having a lot of crashes on osx lately. i'm pretty sure most, if not all, wouldn't happen on a fresh install, but what good is that to me? i'd like to work with my config. uploaded the crash report. (i'm not using the most current pre btw.)
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 11:35 PM   #3
Superfly76
Human being with feelings
 
Superfly76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 476
Default

Love the new continuous scrolling mode. Is this accessible anywhere outside of the actions list? I would have expected to find it in settings too, alongside all the other scrolling options.

As others have stated in previous pre threads regarding the new continuous scrolling feature, I'd also prefer it if the Media Item Buttons and the Media Item Names would scroll until the left of the screen is reached, and then stay there until the item goes off screen, just like it does with standard page style scrolling. I use those buttons a lot to quickly solo and mute media items when playing back. Also, buttons and text look quite glitchy when continuous scrolling is on.

I can also confirm Some Guy's comment regarding the new reaeq action. It only inserts one instance of reaeq per track. If that's by design, that's cool with me. Just wanted to report it if it's not intended.
Superfly76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 11:38 PM   #4
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,889
Default

Oi! I demand v4.24!!!!

P.S.

+ MIDI note properties: accepts manual note input (not just using the dropdown)

Hmmm...
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 11:50 PM   #5
Superfly76
Human being with feelings
 
Superfly76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 476
Default

Also want to report a little glitch. When continuous scrolling engages, there is a small glitch where all the waveforms jerk to the right about 5 pixels or so before scrolling left.

Here's a licecap:



It's not a major issue, but is a little visually disconcerting. It throws me a little when I see these kind of minor glitches.
Superfly76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 12:29 AM   #6
bradleyfilms
Human being with feelings
 
bradleyfilms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 2,255
Default knob_stack niggle

As nobody else has reported this I'm assuming it's just me.

The vol, pan and wid knob stacks of both the tcp and mcp display their old knob images beneath/behind them, or if they're not present the gen_knob_bg ones.
If you use a circular image, chances are the old ones will be covered and you'll never notice, but if you don't...

Steve

Sadly the attachment manager keep changing the png example I want to attach into a jpg!

https://stash.reaper.fm/13277/tcp_wid_knob_stack.png

Got one, if you use this you should be able to see part of anything beneath.
__________________
Meto ergo psallentes est

Last edited by bradleyfilms; 07-09-2012 at 02:57 AM. Reason: image problems
bradleyfilms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 12:45 AM   #7
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleyfilms View Post
Sadly the attachment manager keep changing the png example I want to attach into a jpg!
Upload to imgur.com and post link here in IMG tag.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 09:36 AM   #8
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Superfly76 View Post
Also want to report a little glitch. When continuous scrolling engages, there is a small glitch where all the waveforms jerk to the right about 5 pixels or so before scrolling left.

Here's a licecap:



It's not a major issue, but is a little visually disconcerting. It throws me a little when I see these kind of minor glitches.
It's the little toothed sprocket-wheel thingie engaging with the edit-film behind your screen -might be loose in your monitor

Actually, I quite like it (but some think me a little odd anyway) -can we take it home and keep it?


Edit: and what Superfly/Nicholas says, too...



>

Last edited by planetnine; 07-09-2012 at 12:46 PM.
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 10:14 AM   #9
Ollie
Super Moderator (no feelings)
 
Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On or near a dike
Posts: 9,732
Default

Haha, on OSX it delays, then speeds up, then slows down again like a tape transport and I like that too (but I'm odd, too). There also something funny going on with filled envelopes: https://stash.reaper.fm/13280/funny_effect2.gif
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 01:32 AM   #10
nicholas
Human being with feelings
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 9,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Superfly76 View Post
Love the new continuous scrolling mode. Is this accessible anywhere outside of the actions list?
Options menu.
__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 06:57 PM   #11
Superfly76
Human being with feelings
 
Superfly76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 476
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicholas View Post
Options menu.
Thanks, never thought to look in one of the most obvious places.
Superfly76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 02:13 AM   #12
nicholas
Human being with feelings
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 9,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Superfly76 View Post
I'd also prefer it if the Media Item Buttons and the Media Item Names would scroll until the left of the screen is reached, and then stay there until the item goes off screen, just like it does with standard page style scrolling.
This suggestion makes sense to me, at least when the option "Show labels when item edges not visible" is enabled.
__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 07:21 AM   #13
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Some Guy View Post
regarding the reaeq action, i just had a go at it and it works fine for adding one instance but it won't add more after that. is this expected behavior? there are instances where i'd want multiple eqs in different location of the signal chain. [...]
I think that is how it (currently) is supposed to work. I'm deducing that from the comments in the default OSC configuration (presupposing that these are related to the action), that does not seem to allow targeting multiple instances on the same track using EQ-specific messages:

Code:
# DEVICE_EQ determines whether sending any FX_EQ message will automatically insert
# ReaEQ on the target track if it does not exist, or the message will only affect
# an existing instance of ReaEQ.
# Allowed values: INSERT, EXISTING
Quote:
Originally Posted by Some Guy View Post
[...] uploaded the crash report. (i'm not using the most current pre btw.)
Sorry to hear about your problems, but:
(1) I'm guessing that crash report goes to Apple, and I wouldn't count on them promptly forwarding it to Cockos or actually reading it with any particular interest themselves;
(2) You should really be posting the issue(s) you have in the relevant thread to the version you're using, or (better!) update to the latest pre first and then post here.
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 01:49 AM   #14
miche
Human being with feelings
 
miche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 543
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kundalinguist View Post
v4.25rc2 - July 8 2012
(rc2) # DDP: re-enabled 8 bit chars in strings
Flawless, thank you so much!!

And thanks for the rest of the change log. Wow, what an exciting build!
miche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 12:42 PM   #15
Kundalinguist
Human being with feelings
 
Kundalinguist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miche View Post
Flawless, thank you so much!!

And thanks for the rest of the change log. Wow, what an exciting build!
Yes, I believe it's some of my best work.

[I always love that the thread starter gets all the credit for the release. ]
__________________
Success is just one more plugin away! And happiness is as close as your next upgrade.
Kundalinguist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 01:36 PM   #16
miche
Human being with feelings
 
miche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 543
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kundalinguist View Post
Yes, I believe it's some of my best work.

[I always love that the thread starter gets all the credit for the release. ]
This is your reward for checking LOL ten times a minute
miche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 02:14 PM   #17
Viente
Human being with feelings
 
Viente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,972
Default

Can we please have the same action to insert ReaComp like we have with ReaEQ now?
Viente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 02:53 PM   #18
albert.moest
Human being with feelings
 
albert.moest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Munich / Bavaria / Germany
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viente View Post
Can we please have the same action to insert ReaComp like we have with ReaEQ now?
thats a great idea, but do that for all reaPlugs :-))
__________________
Reaper rules!
albert.moest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 03:52 PM   #19
Anton9
Human being with feelings
 
Anton9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viente View Post
Can we please have the same action to insert ReaComp like we have with ReaEQ now?
Quote:
Originally Posted by albert.moest View Post
thats a great idea, but do that for all reaPlugs :-))
Actually what I think would be the best solution would be some sort of .ini file that we could add the names of whatever plugins including 3rd party vsts and then the ones listed in the .ini file would receive actions in the actions list. This would be similar to what the SWS team does with some of their actions.

Thanks,

Anton9
Anton9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 12:24 PM   #20
albert.moest
Human being with feelings
 
albert.moest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Munich / Bavaria / Germany
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kundalinguist View Post
v4.25rc2 - July 8 2012 (rc2)
Quote:
+ Actions: added action to insert ReaEQ on a track, get/set ReaEQ parameters
Hi,
my proposal and opinion to extend the action (41757),

a. Insert ReaEQ on a selected Track (now it is)

b. if ReaEQ exist on a selected Track and the ReaEQ Window is closed, then open ReaEQ FX-Window to get/set ReaEQ parameters on the selected Track.

c: if ReaEQ exist on a selected Track and the ReaEQ Window is open get/set ReaEQ parameters, then close ReaEQ Window on the selectet Track.


that would be great for a faster Workflow and to integrate on DAW-Controlers.

sorry for bad english
Albert
albert.moest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 06:45 AM   #21
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default ... and now for something *really* important ;)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kundalinguist View Post
v4.25rc2 - July 8 2012
+ Colortheme: tweaks to default theme
+ WALTER: transport status better supports layout images
... yet the ugly fail-shadow on the transport in the default theme survived:



I vaguely remember someone mentioning that some things look weird on OS X but ok on Windows. Is this perhaps one of them? (I can hardly imagine WT having missed this all along his quest for pixel-perfection ...)
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 07:26 AM   #22
Viente
Human being with feelings
 
Viente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,972
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Banned View Post
I vaguely remember someone mentioning that some things look weird on OS X but ok on Windows. Is this perhaps one of them? (I can hardly imagine WT having missed this all along his quest for pixel-perfection ...)
Maybe it was me For example scrollbar arrows looks aliased on OSX, but good on Windows
Viente is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.