Old 11-26-2015, 04:50 AM   #1
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings

Default REAPER as live FOH mixer

hey guys,
this is my first thread and post in this forum. I'm very new to REAPER so please be charming

I want to use REAPER as a live FOH sound mixer for my acapella groups. Therefor I want to use one project per Song and different regions for the different songparts.

I use a Behringer x32 as "controller". Mics are coming in the mixer, through the preamp, AD-conversion, EQ, compressor and then they go through REAPER and come back as stereo track. So the x32 does the "global sound" and REAPER the sound per song.
The InEar-Monitoring for the Band I do in the x32 before sending the signals to REAPER, so there should not be any major latency problems (it doesn't matter if the PA sound is 10-30ms "too late")

That works well but at the moment I see two problems I'd love to solve:

1) Can I activate a "global latency compensation" somehow? I switch the "monitoring" in REAPER on to hear the the audio stream coming through the inputs of each track. So if one channel in REAPER doesn't have any processing and one channel has a CPU-hungry plugin, the processed channel will be too late. I think the compensation works with recorded material but it doesn't seem to work with live monitored material?

2) Can I send the Solo-in-Place audiostream to a seperate bus? The Master bus as I said goes directly to my x32. When clicking the solo button of a track, the solo is sent to the Master bus of REAPER. I'd like to send those signals to a separate bus so the Master bus always gets the full mix.

Sorry for the mess, the setup is very complex and there are many points to regard. So there's little place for workarounds.
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 06:46 PM   #2
Gass n Klang

One more thing: