Old 10-19-2019, 11:08 AM   #1
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,427
Default tempo not exported to .mid file?

Hi -- if I make a midi item, set the project tempo (to e.g. 100bpm), and export the midi item, the tempo is not exported in the midi item.

At least, judging by the output of
Code:
midicsv file.mid output.csv
(I'm doing this all on linux.)

Is this expected? I see the PPQ for the file, but not the tempo.

Likewise, if I enter the midi item F2->Properties dialog and set "Ignore project tempo, use:" to 100 bpm, it is also not exported with the midi item.

Any ideas? Thanks!

Sample output:

Code:
0, 0, Header, 0, 1, 960
1, 0, Start_track
1, 572160, Note_on_c, 0, 60, 127
1, 573120, Note_off_c, 0, 60, 0
...
1, 592895, Control_c, 0, 123, 0
1, 592895, End_track
0, 0, End_of_file
clepsydrae is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2019, 02:06 PM   #2
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,256
Default

If you export an individual MIDI item from the MIDI editor, the tempo and other project-scope data (time signature, track header info, etc) is not included. If you export project MIDI from the main File menu, you have options to include various additional data.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2019, 02:14 PM   #3
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,427
Default

D'oh, thanks, didn't see that option when I first looked.
clepsydrae is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.