Old 01-13-2018, 10:54 AM   #1
Mike Warren
Human being with feelings
 
Mike Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Default Stuck Notes

When I play a project with MIDI tracks the last notes are always stuck whenever I stop playback. Okay, this minor annoyance can be worked around by pressing F3 each time I stop playback.

Also, I notice the notes do not stick if I use Ctrl+Space to pause the playback.

But I have just discovered that rendering the project to an MP3 file causes the last notes to be stuck in the resulting file.

I'm using the Roland Sound Canvas VA VSTi.

Any ideas how I can fix this?
Mike Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 11:39 AM   #2
Bri1
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: England
Posts: 2,432
Default

Aye-just check there's a final note off message...sometimes if your live recording you might be chopping off that final 'off' trig.
There is also case of changing octaves by keyboard controlls mid performance can make notes hang if not set and checked correct.
Bri1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 11:59 AM   #3
Merkury
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 31
Default

Well, for what it's worth, it happened to me on Cubase as well, to me the causes could be two.

1) A problem with Midi ports / Midi settings

2) A problem in the Vst instrument itself. maybe you could TRY to put a Midi MOnitor plugin on your track....and see if it register anything weird

Or, as Bri1 says, your midi controller might not send some note-off message in some instances.
Merkury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 02:39 PM   #4
Mike Warren
Human being with feelings
 
Mike Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bri1 View Post
Aye-just check there's a final note off message...
These are purchased MIDI files that I've simply imported into Reaper.

These same files behave perfectly when imported into Sonar.

From my Google searches I've seen complaints about stuck notes gong back for years, but nothing recent so I was hopeful this had been solved.
__________________
http://mike-warren.net
Mike Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 02:56 PM   #5
Mike Warren
Human being with feelings
 
Mike Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merkury View Post
1) A problem with Midi ports / Midi settings
Surely, with a VSTi there is no MIDI port involved?

Quote:
2) A problem in the Vst instrument itself. maybe you could TRY to put a Midi MOnitor plugin on your track....and see if it register anything weird
Where do I find one compatible with Reaper?

Quote:
Or, as Bri1 says, your midi controller might not send some note-off message in some instances.
Seems very unlikely in this case. It happens with any MIDI file I import. Upon further testing I notice that occasionally notes get stuck while playing as well. Sounds like note off messages are not always making it to the Roland plugin.

What I don't understand is why Reaper is not sending all notes off every time playback is stopped. This seems to be intermittent.
__________________
http://mike-warren.net
Mike Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 03:17 PM   #6
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Warren View Post
What I don't understand is why Reaper is not sending all notes off every time playback is stopped. This seems to be intermittent.
Use filterbox in Preferences to find this checkbox. It is there.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 03:19 PM   #7
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,780
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Warren View Post
Where do I find one compatible with Reaper?
ReaControlMIDI and MIDI Logger are built-in. The later shows low-level MIDI data which can be more helpful.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 11:02 PM   #8
lolilol1975
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Warren View Post
These are purchased MIDI files that I've simply imported into Reaper.

These same files behave perfectly when imported into Sonar.

From my Google searches I've seen complaints about stuck notes gong back for years, but nothing recent so I was hopeful this had been solved.
I regularly encounter the issue. Just this morning, using an arpeggiator and Synthmaster, just playing with the oscillator presets, suddenly i got stuck MIDI notes.
lolilol1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 02:19 AM   #9
Mike Warren
Human being with feelings
 
Mike Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Use filterbox in Preferences to find this checkbox. It is there.
Thanks. But the checkbox is already checked.
__________________
http://mike-warren.net
Mike Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 02:29 AM   #10
Mike Warren
Human being with feelings
 
Mike Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfillion View Post
ReaControlMIDI and MIDI Logger are built-in. The later shows low-level MIDI data which can be more helpful.
Thanks. The log shows no note off events or all notes off when I stop or pause playback, but the sounds stop (when they stop), so Reaper must be doing something else to stop the notes sounding. Or it's sending note off commands to the VST but not logging them.

I've used quite a few DAWs and MIDI sequencers since the mid 1980s and have never experienced this sort of behaviour that wasn't attributed to faulty hardware.

What really bothers me is that this fault intermittent, which makes it very difficult to track down.
__________________
http://mike-warren.net
Mike Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 02:32 AM   #11
Mike Warren
Human being with feelings
 
Mike Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lolilol1975 View Post
I regularly encounter the issue. Just this morning, using an arpeggiator and Synthmaster, just playing with the oscillator presets, suddenly i got stuck MIDI notes.
So is this a known problem with Reaper? Google seems to suggest people have been complaining about it for many years, but not so much recently. Maybe there just aren't enough people using MIDI anymore.
__________________
http://mike-warren.net
Mike Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 02:42 AM   #12
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,780
Default

Do you get stuck notes with hand-drawn MIDI items and with ReaSynth instead of the Roland plugin?

There is at least one MIDI stuck notes bug in REAPER, but it only happens when record+monitoring is enabled AND the input device sends an event at the same time as the note.
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=201093
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 04:19 AM   #13
Mike Warren
Human being with feelings
 
Mike Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfillion View Post
Do you get stuck notes with hand-drawn MIDI items and with ReaSynth instead of the Roland plugin?
I don't know. The problem is too intermittent and I can't duplicate it on a simple track. It appears to happen much more often when there are a lot of notes on several tracks.
__________________
http://mike-warren.net
Mike Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 11:24 AM   #14
lolilol1975
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Warren View Post
So is this a known problem with Reaper? Google seems to suggest people have been complaining about it for many years, but not so much recently. Maybe there just aren't enough people using MIDI anymore.
Yes I've had the problem for a long time. I can reproduce it quite easily with an arpeggiator at super high speed, but it's still quite random and even then the CPU isn't stressed at all. I have to do manipulations on the synth to get stuck notes. But I can't say which is faulty.
lolilol1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 12:23 PM   #15
Merkury
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 31
Default

MIDI can be obnoxious at times.

Have you considered trying to disable all CCs on your midi tracks, just to see what happens ?

Or, trying to put all your midi on one track ?

Experiment and see what happens
Merkury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 01:00 PM   #16
lolilol1975
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,547
Default

OK I have a file that exhibits a stuck note systematically. You need Tyrell N6 to reproduce it.

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=169356

I don't know if the MIDI is file is perfectly valid or not, it would be nice if there was an online tool to check the validity of MIDI files and if not point out where the errors are. But at least I have a case that is systematic and no longer random, and it depends on the synth used but not only that.

Last edited by lolilol1975; 01-15-2018 at 02:02 PM.
lolilol1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2018, 06:28 AM   #17
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,941
Default

Any chance you could post the file here? I have experienced these sorts of issues since way back when I was using an Amiga and MIDI only sequencer & never did entirely get to the bottom of it.
Funnily enough, I seldom if ever get any problems with this these days & any problems I do get are related to SMFs I have imported from elsewhere.
The annoying thing is that nothing jumps out as causing the extended/stuck notes when I examine the smf in the appropriate editor in either Sonar or Reaper.

OK looked ast the other thread & Downloading the file now.
__________________
Brexit Schmexit. Lets have a violent revolution instead. Bagsy the first go with a nuke! (Here, Moggy Moggy...)
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2018, 06:39 AM   #18
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,941
Default

See my post in the other thread.
__________________
Brexit Schmexit. Lets have a violent revolution instead. Bagsy the first go with a nuke! (Here, Moggy Moggy...)
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 10:54 PM   #19
danmanisa
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 18
Default I THINK I SOLVED IT...almost

I may be getting too far ahead of myself and my chickens that I am counting in the basket I put them in...but.... I think I've fixed the problem!!!

I was having the same note get stuck through playback and recording... delete it and the issue goes away.

But I fixed it simply by duplicating the track then muting the original.
That's the good news. When I went to record an overdub...same problem reared it's head. So I duplicated it again, deleted the previous ones and problem solved again!

I had to record the next part on a new track, but it worked.
Hope it helps some of you.
danmanisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 12:39 AM   #20
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,941
Default

Be great if you have actually found a real clue as to why this happens.
Thats the trouble with intermittent issues rthough, but this one really has been around for SO long I am amazed nobdy has found out what is causing it so far. FIngers crossed....
__________________
Brexit Schmexit. Lets have a violent revolution instead. Bagsy the first go with a nuke! (Here, Moggy Moggy...)
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 08:11 AM   #21
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,811
Default

Yeah, I'm also experiencing this in Reaper. Intermittent, as you said. It's really annoying...
I wish I could track it down.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 05:50 PM   #22
danmanisa
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 18
Default

I do wonder how much of it is Reaper, how much of it is the plug ins and how much is the combination of the two. There's probably only so much Cockos can do.
danmanisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 10:29 PM   #23
woogish
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 596
Default

I use a TON of MIDI, both external, and a few softsynths, and NEVER have this problem.
_______________________________________________
Let's ALL be little dogies
woogish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 10:56 PM   #24
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,314
Default

Quote:
I use a TON of MIDI, both external, and a few softsynths, and NEVER have this problem.
Lucky man ! It's not my case.
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 11:03 PM   #25
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,780
Default

I almost always get stuck notes when the MIDI input device sends any MIDI data (to the selected input channel, or if All channels is selected) at the same time I stop playback. As demonstrated in the video below:

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfillion View Post
For me stuck notes happen when monitoring+record arm are enabled. I think it might be triggered when REAPER receives data from the input device at the same time playback is stopped.

Here the keyboard continuously sends Clock messages making it easier to reproduce (easier than spamming a note but that works too):



The missing note off is emitted the next time playback is started.

Last edited by cfillion; 01-13-2019 at 11:40 PM.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 04:25 PM   #26
woogish
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ovnis View Post
Lucky man ! It's not my case.
You think THAT'S lucky?

How 'bout this -
I'm married to a 32 year old beautiful blond nymphomaniac who owns a Cadillac dealership and a liquor store, and is the only child of an oil millionaire who is unmarried, with one foot in the grave!

Now THAT's luck!
woogish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2019, 01:35 PM   #27
Cliffy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Prague
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woogish View Post
You think THAT'S lucky?

How 'bout this -
I'm married to a 32 year old beautiful blond nymphomaniac who owns a Cadillac dealership and a liquor store, and is the only child of an oil millionaire who is unmarried, with one foot in the grave!

Now THAT's luck!
You are lucky there woogish young fellow me lad!

Intermittently I have the problem of hanging VSTi's if I pause or stop playback whilst a sustain cc hasn't hit a note off cc - I have all the boxes ticked for note off etc. and I have an 'all notes off action' - it doesn't work.

Also, woogish, that's joke from a 1974 Playboy mag man! I hope you are well.
Cliffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2019, 08:15 PM   #28
woogish
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 596
Default

Shucks - I heard that joke at an American Legion Hall in about 1954..................
woogish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 11:01 AM   #29
victorsantafe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 5
Default

I have lots of stuck notes both sequencing and playing vst's live with Reaper in 2019, not a deal breaker, but veeery annoying indeed, hope this gets improved
victorsantafe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 06:27 AM   #30
Sulblk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 8
Default Also having issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by victorsantafe View Post
I have lots of stuck notes both sequencing and playing vst's live with Reaper in 2019, not a deal breaker, but veeery annoying indeed, hope this gets improved
I started having this same issue within the last two-three days. There are a total of 21 midi files, using VST from iZotope, East-West, EzKeys and EzDrummer, etc...the track plays for a hot three seconds, then goes into its own loop? where the time is starts blinking red and hitting F3 does nothing for me....so I wind up waiting till it seems to clear itself--play the track again--plays for about 30 seconds then goes into panic mode...I have tried turning off Fx to tracks doing them solo to find the culprit track but to no avail. Becoming discouraged at this point.
Sulblk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 11:06 PM   #31
efflux
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 80
Default

Try using hardware MIDI then Reaper becomes completely unusable. Stuck note all over the place. In Logic this never happens. With these kinds of problems Reaper has no chance of ever being adopted as a professional application.
efflux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2019, 07:29 PM   #32
IadAslan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 23
Default

-> Create Custom Action:

- Transport: Play/Stop
- Send all note offs to all MIDI outputs/plugins

-> set shortcut to space bar
-> no more stuck notes
IadAslan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 01:25 PM   #33
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,088
Default

F3 is the default key to stop all midi
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.