Old 09-21-2017, 06:33 AM   #1
VikingGuitar
Human being with feelings
 
VikingGuitar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 167
Default CTRL+Drag items now trims to time selection?

After recently updating to the new version, I'm noticing some different editing behavior than before. Basically, when I have a time selection and CTRL+click/drag an item to a new track (to copy the item), it will now trim the new item to the time selection. Prior to the update, it would copy the entire item, ignoring the time selection. I'd like to switch back to the previous behavior, but am having trouble finding this in the settings.

Example:

I have a track with an audio file from 1.1.00 to 12.1.00. I have a time selection from 3.1.00 to 4.1.00. I CTRL+click/drag the item from the track to a new track. The item on the new track is identical to the original item, but only the portion from 3.1.00 to 4.1.00. The rest of the new track (from 1.1.00 to 3.1.00 and 4.1.00 to 12.1.00) is empty.
__________________
FREE Tutorials on Guitar and Home Recording at http://www.vikingguitaruniversity.com
VikingGuitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 06:41 AM   #2
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,766
Default

If I place the mouse cursor dead center of the media item (vertically) it repros, if just north or south of center, it copies the entire item so maybe it's a feature.
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 06:46 AM   #3
VikingGuitar
Human being with feelings
 
VikingGuitar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 167
Default

Not sure if I'm understanding correctly, but the vertical position of the mouse cursor doesn't seem to effect things. I can only get the whole item if I click outside of the time selection (which is frustrating if I have a large area selected). Here's a .gif example of what I'm experiencing.

http://recordit.co/TOlcRN0yT7
__________________
FREE Tutorials on Guitar and Home Recording at http://www.vikingguitaruniversity.com
VikingGuitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 06:49 AM   #4
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,766
Default

Here is what I'm seeing, I was wrong, looks like it does it when dragging from within the selection?


__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 06:53 AM   #5
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,766
Default

There 'may' be a way around this in mouse modifiers.
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 07:14 AM   #6
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11,164
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
There 'may' be a way around this in mouse modifiers.
Yes, I think if you go to mouse modifiers in preferences, choose context [Media item][left drag] and set the Ctrl modifier to "Copy item ignoring time selection", that will do the trick.
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 07:18 AM   #7
VikingGuitar
Human being with feelings
 
VikingGuitar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gofer View Post
Yes, I think if you go to mouse modifiers in preferences, choose context [Media item][left drag] and set the Ctrl modifier to "Copy item ignoring time selection", that will do the trick.
BINGO! Thank you! I was looking all through the Editing Behavior preferences, but not the mouse modifiers. Perfect!
__________________
FREE Tutorials on Guitar and Home Recording at http://www.vikingguitaruniversity.com
VikingGuitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 07:44 AM   #8
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,766
Default

Excellent!
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 09:02 AM   #9
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,223
Default

This is not really new, though. If it really wasn't happening before, then you must have changed it already, and I guess the update overwrote those settings.
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.