Old 09-19-2017, 07:51 PM   #1
Greg Savage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 471
Default Key Commands Not Functioning Correctly

So my key command for scrolling left and right is shift and the mouse wheel

It works fine in the main sequencer, but not in the midi view

Midi view makes me use opt+mouse wheel even if I change it

why is this?
Greg Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2017, 07:53 PM   #2
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 7,115
Default

Cause you're on Mac. Sorry, j/k Did you change it in mouse modifier prefs? MIDI Editor has separate sections from the main window.
__________________
Myy Wyyrd Muzyyk
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2017, 08:59 PM   #3
Greg Savage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 471
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
Cause you're on Mac. Sorry, j/k Did you change it in mouse modifier prefs? MIDI Editor has separate sections from the main window.

There's no option in Mouse mod for my wheel. Only in the actions list
Greg Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2017, 09:12 PM   #4
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 7,115
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Savage View Post
There's no option in Mouse mod for my wheel. Only in the actions list
That's correct. Brain fart. Yea, someone on Mac should field that question. Stays the same for me.

However, may I recommend changing right drag to hand scroll in mouse modifiers? I've found it to be the quickest and most intuitive way to scroll the view by far. I use it for smaller distances in combination with Navigator for large distances.
__________________
Myy Wyyrd Muzyyk
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 05:52 AM   #5
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,752
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Savage View Post
So my key command for scrolling left and right is shift and the mouse wheel

It works fine in the main sequencer, but not in the midi view

Midi view makes me use opt+mouse wheel even if I change it

why is this?
In your Action list's MIDI editor section, to which actions are shift+mousewheel and opt+mousewheel assigned?
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 01:40 PM   #6
Greg Savage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 471
Default

Shift + Mousewheel is bound to scroll Midi CC

Which slides my mid notes left or right (un snapped)

In the main view it allows me to scroll left or right, however there is no bind for that


Opt+ Mousewheel = bound to nothing, but it allows me to scroll left and right in the midi editor

Also I'm using a track ball (Kingston) so my mousewheel is actually read as HorizWheel
Greg Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 01:45 PM   #7
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 7,115
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Savage View Post
Also I'm using a track ball (Kingston) so my mousewheel is actually read as HorizWheel
That's likely the issue here. This update is in the pre-release notes for (upcoming) v5.60:

# Windows: workaround for horizontal wheel with some mouse drivers in arrange view/MIDI editor
__________________
Myy Wyyrd Muzyyk
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 01:50 PM   #8
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,752
Default

Is the problem that REAPER does not recognize your mousewheel, or that shift-mousewheel is assigned to the wrong action in the MIDI editor?

If shift-mousewheel works fine when shifting CC positions, it is probably not a driver issue.

In the Action list's MIDI editor section, try assigning shift+mousewheel to the action "View: Scroll horizontally (MIDI relative/mousewheel)".

REAPER provides separate actions and shortcuts for different parts of the interface such as the Main section (arrange view) and the MIDI editor section. By dividing actions into sections, REAPER allows you to use the same shortcut for different actions in different sections, so that you don't run out of shortcut keys.

For example, when working in the main Arrange window, you can use "S" to split items, and while working in the MIDI editor, you can use "S" to split notes.

But this also means that when you customize the scroll shortcut in the Main section, you have to do the same in the MIDI editor section too, if you prefer to keep the shortcuts consistent.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 04:27 PM   #9
Greg Savage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 471
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
REAPER provides separate actions and shortcuts for different parts of the interface such as the Main section (arrange view) and the MIDI editor section. By dividing actions into sections, REAPER allows you to use the same shortcut for different actions in different sections so that you don't run out of shortcut keys.
I see, I was in the wrong section. I didn't realize. Sily me. Thank you guys so much for all of your help

Last edited by Greg Savage; 09-20-2017 at 04:39 PM.
Greg Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.