Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2017, 03:01 PM   #1
vectorwarrior
Human being with feelings
 
vectorwarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 165
Default ReaSamplOmatic... possible to not restart playback position each trigger?

I have a constant loop in ReaSamplOmatic and I do NOT want playback to jump to the start each time it triggers. Instead I want the playback position to just continue on indefinitely via the looping... but I can't figure out how to do that, any ideas?

It's for a looping sound effect and I essentially want varied/randomised start positions rather than it always being the same.

Thanks!
vectorwarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2017, 03:15 PM   #2
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 7,120
Default

You could use Parameter Modulation on the start offset. Move the knob and then click the top Param button and go to param mod/midi link. Use an LFO or even the input volume to modulate the start time somewhat randomly.

Or maybe try a different sampler. I think Ribs can do that.
__________________
Myy Wyyrd Muzyyk
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2017, 03:41 PM   #3
vectorwarrior
Human being with feelings
 
vectorwarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 165
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
You could use Parameter Modulation on the start offset. Move the knob and then click the top Param button and go to param mod/midi link. Use an LFO or even the input volume to modulate the start time somewhat randomly.
By start offset I presume you mean 'Loop start offset'... unfortunately that doesn't work. Each time I press start (and also render) it is still playing from the start of the file. When it actually loops it'll go to a different start position, but from triggering it'll always play from the start... which is exactly what i need.
vectorwarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2017, 04:20 PM   #4
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 7,120
Default

Ah ok, well it seems you've encountered a limitation in the sampler. I guess you will need to search for a more robust plugin.
__________________
Myy Wyyrd Muzyyk
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.