Old 02-23-2008, 03:49 AM   #1
ylinjohto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 18
Default Hardware problems?

Hi,

I´ve got presonus firestudio which is working fine on tiger and reaper .71 but it doesn´t report latency to reaper. I have to set it manually and have no idea how to do that accurate to the sample.

I´m not sure if this is due to firestudio drivers or reaper not being ready yet. The build in line in and out of my macbook pro is reporting the latency.
Any ideas?

Maybe we should get all this stuff under one thread..
ylinjohto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 08:04 AM   #2
mahasandi
Human being with feelings
 
mahasandi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 476
Default

good idea on this thread.

can "reinsert" tell you the latency so you can manually enter it?
reinsert is an included plug-in which can ping your ad/da and determine the latency.
But i have not used it yet i'am excited to , great for hardware inserts!

i would assume first its a driver problem, and cut to the chase.
if reinsert doesnt help ,send a recorded test tone out thru your da/ad and then
back line them up and measure the samples difference, this is kindof a pain though.
\
another question how do you know it is not reporting latency audibly i suppose?

Last edited by mahasandi; 02-23-2008 at 08:07 AM.
mahasandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 02:11 PM   #3
ylinjohto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mahasandi View Post
good idea on this thread.

can "reinsert" tell you the latency so you can manually enter it?
reinsert is an included plug-in which can ping your ad/da and determine the latency.
But i have not used it yet i'am excited to , great for hardware inserts!

i would assume first its a driver problem, and cut to the chase.
if reinsert doesnt help ,send a recorded test tone out thru your da/ad and then
back line them up and measure the samples difference, this is kindof a pain though.
\
another question how do you know it is not reporting latency audibly i suppose?
Reainsert is a great idea. I´m gonna check that out. I´ve done it the hard way: recording test singnal thru da/ad, like your second suggestion was.
Firestudio drivers for osx are kinda clumsy. It´s a pity ´cause it´s nice interface.
ylinjohto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.