Old 05-16-2019, 09:16 AM   #1
MyMusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 41
Default Roland keyboard nor recognized

I have a Roland PC 180A midi keyboard controller. Hooked up to a M-Audio Delta 1010LT as midi. But it does not show up in Preferences > Midi devices. My Delta 1010LT shows up as enabled in midi device. Not sure if that is right. As far as I know, no drivers are needed.

What to do?
MyMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 09:43 AM   #2
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,214
Default

What you describe is perfectly correct.

The interface is the midi device. Reaper can't know what you have connected the other side of that device.
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2019, 12:12 PM   #3
MyMusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 41
Default

Sorry for the late response.

I thought it would be something like that. Thanks.

But how do I move from here?
Nothing happens in Reaper. I tried different track settings.
Interface only shows up in Preferences / Midi Device.
Track is armed. VSTi added.
MyMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2019, 02:03 PM   #4
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,214
Default

Probably set disabled.

That and everything else you might need to get this working is covered in this video.

https://www.reaper.fm/videos.php#LmEy49PH9p8
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2019, 09:19 PM   #5
grinder
Human being with feelings
 
grinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,090
Default

I have an older Roland keyboard it just uses default Windows drivers.
I have a new Nektar keyboard that shows up in preferences however I have to click enabled in preferences every time for this when I start up Reaper, click okay too.
(this shows enabled but does not work after shutting Reaper down then opening Reaper again)
This maybe what you will have to do too.

Just a hope

Grinder
grinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 01:31 AM   #6
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grinder View Post
I have a new Nektar keyboard that shows up in preferences however I have to click enabled in preferences every time for this when I start up Reaper,
That's odd (and annoying I'd imagine)...my Nektar doesn't ever need re-enabling.
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 12:06 PM   #7
grinder
Human being with feelings
 
grinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,090
Default

Good keyboard though Stella great price
I should look into why it needs a refresh just to many things happening!

Grinder
grinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 02:39 PM   #8
MyMusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 41
Default

It was enabled.

Can't get any signal.
It looks like I need a USB converter cable.
But still strange I can't get a connection through a well known midi interface.
Thanks Stella.
MyMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 12:38 PM   #9
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,214
Default

It is strange...which is why I'm not completely ruling out user error yet

So how about those track input settings...what options do you see and which have you tried?
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 02:10 AM   #10
MyMusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 41
Default

I start my Roland.
Midi is connected the right way.
Start Reaper.
M-Audio Delta shows up in preferences midi devices input and is enabled.
Create new track.
Arming.
Added an instrument.
Enabled Monitor input.
Default Record input (Audio or midi): No results.
Record part shows 4 other options. No M-Audio Delta. Tried them all.
Input has 4 options. One of them is Midi input. This one has M-Audio Delta.
Tried all inputs on all channels: No results.

There no drivers for this Roland available.
MyMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 04:47 AM   #11
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,214
Default

If you select the M-Audio ALL inputs option and hit some keys you obviously aren't hearing anything but do you see any hint of red flashing on the bottom of the meters in TCP.

The red flash indicates midi activity.

If you don't even get that maybe there is an issue with the interface or keyboard or the midi cable.
You could use this to test if there is anything coming into Windows http://www.midiox.com/
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 08:25 AM   #12
MyMusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 41
Default

I know about the red midi flash. But not for me.

I just ruled out the cable. Must be the interface or the keyboard.

Just tried Midiox. Nice tool. But no signal at all. So it must be one of the above.

I will figure this out now I know it is not a Reaper problem.

Thanks for the help Stella.

Leo.
MyMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.