Old 12-09-2007, 05:28 PM   #1
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,255
Default OSX VST hosts

What major OSX DAWs support VST natively? I think the list is a lot shorter than I thought it was. I know there are VST->AU wrappers, do people mostly just use those?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 06:08 AM   #2
BoxOfSnoo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 998
Default

I have Tracktion, and it loads them.

I love the quality of the AUs in GarageBand. But it's GarageBand. There are soooo many VSTs!
__________________
Get Dropbox! (Bonus space for both of us with that link)
BoxOfSnoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 08:32 AM   #3
mahasandi
Human being with feelings
 
mahasandi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 476
Default

logic
cubase/nuendo
abelton live
tracktion
mahasandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 09:33 AM   #4
horselesspaul
Human being with feelings
 
horselesspaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brighton, U.K
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mahasandi View Post
logic
Logic does not support native VST, only Audio Units.
horselesspaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 01:28 PM   #5
mahasandi
Human being with feelings
 
mahasandi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 476
Default

Right, that's correct

Fxpansion makes vst to au and rtas wrappers, I forgot that's
how its done,with logic.....
mahasandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 02:19 PM   #6
mark604
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
What major OSX DAWs support VST natively? I think the list is a lot shorter than I thought it was. I know there are VST->AU wrappers, do people mostly just use those?
Wrappers can cause problems. Spark, which is an older program, supports VST under OS X. So does Cubase/Nuendo (it's basically their format). At this point, I think most people using OS X native are using AU not VST. Which is why, besides what Spark does, afaik, there are no AU->VST wrappers. Also, while there are tons of VST's out there, many of them are Windows only.

Logic, Numerology, Live, Melodyne, DSP-Quattro, Audio Hijack Pro, Sound Blade, Peak, GarageBand, Soundtrack Pro, Final Cut Pro, etc. all support AU, which is one reason why Reaper needs to get on that list.
mark604 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 03:05 PM   #7
mahasandi
Human being with feelings
 
mahasandi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 476
Default

Fxpansion is a good wrapper
I'd say it coverted 80% of plugs
and those that were stable to begin with
were always fine , ymmv
mahasandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 11:41 AM   #8
mark604
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mahasandi View Post
Fxpansion is a good wrapper
I'd say it coverted 80% of plugs
and those that were stable to begin with
were always fine , ymmv
That's VST-> AU, not AU->VST, right? So it wouldn't allow you to use AU's with Reaper. Then again, Reaper's VST hosting isn't working right, either. My point is that an OS X application should host Audio Units, which has been announced for Reaper.
mark604 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 12:22 PM   #9
mahasandi
Human being with feelings
 
mahasandi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 476
Default

ah ha! So which au's do you love so much?

Seriously though they do make a vst to au
adapter/ wrapper.

And wrappers are band aids, which can work

but don't have the best host support sometimes

Ultimately Reaper should "do it all" and I have confidence

In time it will.
mahasandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 07:32 AM   #10
mark604
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mahasandi View Post
Seriously though they do make a vst to au
adapter/ wrapper.
Right, but afaik they don't make an AU to VST adapter. Regardless, I agree, it's best not to use a wrapper. If the developers are serious about making Reaper an OS X application, it needs to host Audio Units.
mark604 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 08:14 AM   #11
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,255
Default

If anyone is interested in beta-testing VST and AU plugins on OSX, please drop me a PM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.