Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Old 11-24-2009, 02:44 PM   #1
Chris Meck
Human being with feelings

Default Help? Vista 64, MOTU pcie, and Reaper....

I'm a fairly experienced audio engineer when it comes to consoles, microphones, and tape machines. Computers? Not so much. I appreciate any help you guys can give me, and thank you in advance...

I have a MOTU 24i/o, pcie card, a Vista 64 bit PC. I just switched back to PC from an older single processor overtaxed Mac G5. I purchased a pcie card to fit the new PC's slots rather than the pci card I had been using with the G5.

Okay, so...shorthand is this: Reaper's not seeing all the ins and outs on the pcie card. Longhand version:

downloaded motu driver for the pcie card for 64 bit Vista. After a couple of tries, got both the computer and Reaper to recognize it. I'm a little confused, as when I had done this download for my old Mac, it came with a cuemix console with which I mapped ins and outs. Not seeing anything like that here, although the pcie console has a section where you enable ins and outs for 24 channels worth. Maybe this is the 64 bit windows equivalent? Seems strange, but could be. it's much LESS elaborate than the old thing, which makes me suspicious. On other forums, folks are saying this is not MOTU's issue, but is a Reaper recognition issue...

Reaper routing matrix will show and allow many inputs; but only 'analog 1', 'analog 2', and 'analog 1+2' as outputs. I don't seem to be able to find anyplace to change this in Reaper's audio preferences section. Both the ins and outs are all enabled on the pcie audio console. (they're listed in pairs, and all are enabled.)

I don't get it. I need help. Anyone?

thanks in advance-

Chris
Chris Meck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 04:50 PM   #2
Chris Meck

Ok,