Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Pre-Release Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2019, 08:07 AM   #1
playtimer
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 266
Default v5.97 - February 21 2019: ARA is in the house!

v5.97 - February 21 2019
  • + ARA: support for ARA2-compatible plugins
  • + ARA: support for importing notes and tempo from plugins into project, or exporting as MIDI
  • + Actions: allow removing FX chain actions
  • + Automation: handle empty automation items more gracefully [t=217307]
  • + Automation: fix crash when duplicating empty automation items via region copy [t=212401]
  • + Control surfaces: add action to reset MIDI control surface devices
  • + Control surfaces: actions for next/previous track update control surface offsets [t=184004]
  • + Joysticks: fix joystick support [p=2081611]
  • + Linux: do not show (unused) video output colorspace options
  • + Linux: fix crossfade window glitches [p=2083685]
  • + Linux: fix project bay menu issues [p=2083685]
  • + MIDI editor: allow resizing right edges of notes down to note insert size if lower than grid size
  • + MIDI editor: fix possible crash when editing notation
  • + MIDI editor: obey note insertion length when in measure-grid mode [p=2072523]
  • + MIDI editor: event filter fixes and tweaks [p=2089513]
  • + OSC: fix support for s/track/x/name setting
  • + OSC: fix unreliable setting of marker/region information by timeline-index
  • + OSC: support modifying/creating markers/regions by ID, using /region_id/@/time and /marker_id/@/time etc
  • + OSC: support writing marker/region values
  • + Performance meter: auto-resize text areas to configured view options
  • + Performance meter: optionally display video load
  • + Project bay: add position column for source media and media items
  • + Project bay: allow dragging complete (not trimmed) media into the media items tab
  • + Projects: add actions to save copy of project (optionally prompting for new filename)
  • + ReaComp: add pre-fader feedback detector mode
  • + ReaComp: deprecated non-fully-functional AA support, hidden when not used
  • + ReaComp: improve ratio/attack/rms slider curves and display precision
  • + ReaScript: fix MIDIEditor_GetSetting_int [t=212449]
  • + ReaScript: EEL2 scripts support //@gmem=sharedMemorySegmentName starting line in first 100 lines of code (also shares with JSFX)
  • + ReaScript: add reaper.gmem_attach()/gmem_read()/gmem_write() to Lua for interacting with JSFX/Video Processors/EEL2 ReaScripts gmem[] segments
  • + ReaScript: support UTF-8 characters in os.remove()/os.rename() on Windows
  • + ReaScript/JSFX: add gfx.a2/gfx_a2 for creating transparent images
  • + Stretch markers: add new "transient-optimized" and "no pre-echo reduction" stretch marker modes
  • + Stretch markers: add project setting for stretch marker mode
  • + Stretch markers: improve timing of timestretch ramps with elastique and Rubberband Library[t=204269]
  • + Track FX drag: update mouse cursor when changing modifiers
  • + Tempo map: fix importing initial time signature from MIDI tempo map
  • + Theme: fix retina vs HiDPI inconcistency relating to label margins
  • + VST: do not deactivate VST3 plugins before changing IO buffer information
  • + VST: flush VST3 buffers on stop without resetting other plugin state
  • + VST: inform plugins of project loop selection regardless of playback state
  • + VST: report loop points to plugins even if project repeat is disabled
  • + VST: restore pre-5.9x reset-on-stop default behavior for ET-200, FA3, Vienna Ensemble
  • + Video: sort and reorganize preset names into categories
  • + Video: add new presets including Color Peeker, Decorative Oscilliscope, Decorative Spectrum Analyzer, RGB Histogram, Resize to Project Settings, Screensaver, Frame Rate Decimator, RGB Shadow/Midtone/Highlight, Apply Track FX Only Where Track Has Video Items [p=2073314], Vertical Wipe
  • + Video: improve various built-in presets
  • + Video: improve Chroma-key presets, add separate RGB/YUV versions
  • + Video: add JSFX video sample peeker which can provide audio samples to Decorative Oscilliscope/Decorative Spectrum Analyzer presets
  • + Video: add experimental performance tweaks and information to video window menu
  • + Video: add experimental decoder prefetch support (improved multiprocessing, improved reverse video playback performance when enabled)
  • + Video: add option to show green frames for underruns, rather than previous frame
  • + Video: add option to disable rendering cache for all media/video FX (can be used for low latency interactions)
  • + Video: avoid re-rendering video frames when tweaking parameters during playback
  • + Video: better preview behavior when slip editing items
  • + Video: improve monitoring FX performance during underruns/seeking, playback recovery after CPU overutilization during normal playback
  • + Video: improve preview behavior when scrubbing backwards continuously
  • + Video: always force rendered videos to be even in dimension
  • + Video: do not process any video when rendering audio-only
  • + Video: do not run video processors in monitoring FX chain while rendering
  • + Video: increase maximum parameter count to 24
  • + Video: parameters can now be specified without indices for convenience

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode

Last edited by playtimer; 02-21-2019 at 08:13 AM.
playtimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 08:09 AM   #2
playtimer
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 266
Default

--> Continued
  • + Video: add processor support for gfx_a2, which can be used to control RGBA alpha-channel writing
  • + Video: add processor functions: gfx_getpixel(), input_get_name(), on_parameter_change(), time_precise(), ui_get_state(), fft()
  • + Video: improve gfx_evalrect() (can take flags to process right-to-left, vertical, third source for 3-way blends, initialization code, returns -1 on error, add restrictions to processor code)
  • + Video: improve input_info() to not clear project_w/project_h if they are passed as parameters and input is not present
  • + Video: support //@gmem=sharedMemorySegmentName (also shares with JSFX's options:gmem=)
  • + Video: fix RGBA chromakeyed blit [t=213118]
  • + Video: improve internal colorspace management logic (reduction of excess colorspace conversions)
  • + Video: improve knob behavior relating to mousewheel, step sizes, and undo/redo
  • + Video: fix VLC decoding to RGB [t=215295]
  • + Video: fix ffmpeg hang when seeking some old miniDV .avi files
  • + Video: improve VLC/ffmpeg decoding behavior near end of file [p=2069421]
  • + Video: improve DirectShow output performance
  • + Video: fix refresh issues with linux or Windows/BitBlt() output
  • + Video: optionally send CC events on video window mouse drag (once option enabled, right click in MIDI learn window to assign)
  • + Video: output colorspace preference no longer affects processor rendering pipeline, only final display stage
  • + Virtual MIDI keyboard: do not adjust center position in response to UI sizing [t=209001]
  • + WALTER: fix HiDPI extended mixer mode setting [p=2075538]
  • + macOS: switch to newer development toolchain for release (improves video playback on large monitors and fixes AUv3 issues on 10.14)
  • + macOS: removed PPC bridging support
  • + macOS: workaround for NSWorkspace race condition when launching external editors after open-copy [t=214818]
Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
playtimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 09:15 AM   #3
DeathByGuitar
Human being with feelings
 
DeathByGuitar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 507
Default

That's a LOT of changes. I wonder if we're actually going to 5.99 with Reaper 5.
DeathByGuitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 09:24 AM   #4
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByGuitar View Post
That's a LOT of changes. I wonder if we're actually going to 5.99 with Reaper 5.
Here is the comics made by X-Raym: http://reacomics.tumblr.com/post/182918324335/v6
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 09:26 AM   #5
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,333
Default

These video improvements are really huge! It is possible to play heavy videos now. Thanks devs!
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 09:45 AM   #6
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 22,754
Default

Bugger. Looks like I may have to buy a full version of Melodyne instead of the freebie one that came with Stupido One....
__________________
Ici on parles Franglais
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 10:11 AM   #7
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,570
Default

REAPER64 wants to make changes
enter your password to allow this.



what is this?
I've never had an update ask before
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 10:13 AM   #8
mb945
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 113
Default

Can anyone describe exactly what "VST: flush VST3 buffers on stop without resetting other plugin state" means in practice?
Will this cause the VST2/VST3 versions of the same plugin to react differently?
Thanks!
mb945 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 10:21 AM   #9
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,721
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
REAPER64 wants to make changes
enter your password to allow this.



what is this?
I've never had an update ask before
That's it trying to install ReWire related things, you can hit cancel if you want. Nothing relating to ReWire has changed in ages, though...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 10:23 AM   #10
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,750
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mb945 View Post
Can anyone describe exactly what "VST: flush VST3 buffers on stop without resetting other plugin state" means in practice?
It's mostly a performance optimization. When playback stops, REAPER empties the plugin audio buffers, so you don't hear any tail effects when playback starts again. Previously REAPER would also send the plugin a reset message, but for some plugins this causes them to spend time reloading their initial state, as if they were being inserted for the first time.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 10:55 AM   #11
mb945
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
It's mostly a performance optimization. When playback stops, REAPER empties the plugin audio buffers, so you don't hear any tail effects when playback starts again. Previously REAPER would also send the plugin a reset message, but for some plugins this causes them to spend time reloading their initial state, as if they were being inserted for the first time.
Thanks, that sounds great and exactly what I've been hoping for! I've been having issues with certain plugins starting with the previous tail which would also affect renders. So when rendering the song would start with the reverb tail, which was not great. Is there any way to also apply this to VST2 effects? My main problem comes from Slate Trigger 2 (VST2 only). It seems to get some small piece of tail audio or something when it starts and it activates the trigger to so the song/play starts with a sample snare hit where it doesn't belong. It would be awesome if this could be prevented.
Thank you!!
mb945 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 11:06 AM   #12
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,570
Default

When using the midi export or import to project from melodyne I'm getting this long note before the vocal starts. Can that be silent instead?




Same thing happens with dynamic split MIDI generation
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 11:26 AM   #13
Mordi
Human being with feelings
 
Mordi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 982
Default

The video improvements in this release are really cool! Massive update.
Mordi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 11:56 AM   #14
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,750
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
When using the midi export or import to project from melodyne I'm getting this long note before the vocal starts. Can that be silent instead?
Can you share that piece of audio?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 01:05 PM   #15
AndreiT
Human being with feelings
 
AndreiT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Romania
Posts: 188
Default

Wow, huge update!
The devs have been working hard on this one!
AndreiT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 01:20 PM   #16
svijayrathinam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 981
Default

This is a great release !! Congrats developers.



Just a quick question...I found on VST plugins a setting...

if you click on the "+" symbol in a VST Plugin...under compatibility settings there is an option called "hard reset on playback start"..But the same option is not there on the same plugin in AU version. What happens on the AU version ? will it hard reset or not ?

also...

what happens to the AU plugins for the following ? Pls..

+ VST: flush VST3 buffers on stop without resetting other plugin state
+ VST: inform plugins of project loop selection regardless of playback state
+ VST: report loop points to plugins even if project repeat is disabled
+ VST: restore pre-5.9x reset-on-stop default behavior for ET-200, FA3, Vienna Ensemble
svijayrathinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 01:21 PM   #17
Sju
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 685
Default

Updating to the latest version causes short video loops to glitch heavily. How can I elaborate on this bug? Do you need an example video, preferences, etc.?
Sju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 03:26 PM   #18
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by svijayrathinam View Post
what happens to the AU plugins for the following ? Pls..
Nothing. AU is not VST so same things don't apply!
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 03:28 PM   #19
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,570
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sju View Post
Updating to the latest version causes short video loops to glitch heavily. How can I elaborate on this bug? Do you need an example video, preferences, etc.?
experiment with the new settings. right-click in the video window to find several.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 03:49 PM   #20
J Reverb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,071
Default

ReaComp: add pre-fader feedback detector mode
Nice 1 ! Thanks


From 'reaper5965+dev0116_x64'

Please can we have the alternative record monitor png's back
They really are extremely convenient for seeing what's what when most
of the time one is in monitor mode.

Cheers great update !
J Reverb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 04:33 PM   #21
HighVoltage
Human being with feelings
 
HighVoltage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 496
Default

Adding FX with shortcut on a track that is hidden in TCP not working.

Create a track
Hide it in TCP (NOT! MCP)
Select track in mixer, and add an FX with a shortcut

Nothing happens
HighVoltage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 04:58 PM   #22
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,570
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Can you share that piece of audio?
I don't think there was anything unique about that audio, I could make same thing happen with other files and a few times I got all the notes bunched up at 1.1.000.

in some files there's a little blip at beat 1 in melodyne even though the file is at -102dB

I think the simplest way to avoid the issue is to trim the head of the audio file close to the start of the content.

I'm using melodyne essential v4.2.1.003 downloaded today.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 09:36 PM   #23
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,924
Default

Hi,

May anyone explain me this, please ?

+ MIDI editor: allow resizing right edges of notes down to note insert size if lower than grid size

Last edited by ovnis; 02-21-2019 at 10:17 PM.
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 11:57 PM   #24
Sju
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 685
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
experiment with the new settings. right-click in the video window to find several.
Ahhh I was looking for them in the preferences... looks like enabling the "Video cache -> All media and video FX are not cached" setting solves the glitching. It might actually work even better than before now. Cheers!

Edit: Yep it's definitely a lot smoother now. This is an excellent improvement, thank devs!
Sju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 12:52 AM   #25
DANIELE
Human being with feelings
 
DANIELE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Florence, Italy
Posts: 463
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Here is the comics made by X-Raym: http://reacomics.tumblr.com/post/182918324335/v6

Ahahaha, great!


The real thing should be 5.999 -> 5.9991
__________________
Audio: AKG-K240 MKII, Adam A7X, Audient iD22 - Steinberg UR22; Piano: Yamaha P-250 - NI S88 MK1;
!!DANIELE EPIC ORCHESTRAL MUSIC!! |*| STAR WARS SERIES
DANIELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 05:44 AM   #26
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 12,096
Default

Quote:
v5.97pre2 - February 18 2019

+ API: prevent scripts/extensions from calling SetObjectState on tracks or media items that have existing ARA FX
This isn't listed in the official v5.97 change log anymore.
Is it included or not? (Can't test because I don't have any ARA plugins installed currently.)

Asking because if it's included I thought a note in the SWS thread that some SWS functionality (where API state chunk operations are involved, e.g. Resources) doesn't work anymore currently on ARA tracks may be useful.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 05:48 AM   #27
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,750
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
This isn't listed in the official v5.97 change log anymore.
Is it included or not?
Yes, some API (and therefore SWS) functionality will not work on tracks that have ARA plugins.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 06:20 AM   #28
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,924
Default

Quote:
+ MIDI editor: allow resizing right edges of notes down to note insert size if lower than grid size
Any similarity whith this issue or not ?

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=217094

Because, the bug still occurs.
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 09:58 AM   #29
Meo-Ada Mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
Meo-Ada Mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig
Posts: 6,621
Default

Time to update my docs now


I'm excited for the Video-stuff-updates...
__________________
Use you/she/her.Ultraschall-Api Lua Api4Reaper - Donate, if you wish

On vacation for the time being...
Meo-Ada Mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 05:34 AM   #30
EcBaPr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 402
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by playtimer View Post
v5.97 - February 21 2019
[*]+ OSC: fix support for s/track/x/name setting[*]+ OSC: fix unreliable setting of marker/region information by timeline-index[*]+ OSC: support modifying/creating markers/regions by ID, using /region_id/@/time and /marker_id/@/time etc[*]+ OSC: support writing marker/region values

I used to use /marker/@/name to display marker names from the timeline in my OSC app on the tablet, now when I use this command instead of displaying the marker name on the tablet it overwrites the marker name in reaper.. it transfers the word "on" from the tablet which is the command sent for the buttons state from the OSC app...

why did this change and how do you now get reaper to send marker names back to the OSC app like it used to ?
EcBaPr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 05:23 PM   #31
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,721
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EcBaPr View Post
I used to use /marker/@/name to display marker names from the timeline in my OSC app on the tablet, now when I use this command instead of displaying the marker name on the tablet it overwrites the marker name in reaper.. it transfers the word "on" from the tablet which is the command sent for the buttons state from the OSC app...

why did this change and how do you now get reaper to send marker names back to the OSC app like it used to ?
Hmm not sure I follow... your tablet is sending /marker/@/name back? Can you turn that off?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 10:32 PM   #32
EcBaPr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 402
Default

thanks for responding.. ive investigated it further.. are you able to create one OSC command for reading marker/region names and then another separate command for writing OSC marker names ? that would fix the issue.. I have buttons in an OSC layout i have created that perform two functions, one function is to show the name of a marker as the button title and the second function is to jump to that corresponding marker when the button is pressed.. so when i load a project it has 16 markers that display on 16 buttons in the OSC layout.. then when I select one of the buttons it jumps to that marker, like a playlist.

Ive found Reaper doesn't always update the marker names into the app right away so the buttons just show the word "on" by default which is the state for the button, (sometimes it updates right away and other times it doesn't). The word "on" cant seem to be turned off from being transmitted from the tablet because the button has a second function to jump to a marker.. So if reaper hasn't updated the marker names right away and you select one of the buttons it transfers the word "on" and overwrites the marker name.. Up until version 5.97 it didn't overwrite it would just jump to the marker.

I'm not sure why marker names don't immediately update from reaper to the tablet, this has happened on older versions also so to force the update I added another button with the command..

device/marker/count/16

that would force reaper to send marker names to the tablet and it would work ok.. So this problem with transmitting "on" and rewriting markers can be prevented if I hit that "update" button every time. Then if i select one of the buttons it shows the correct marker name which is then sent back to reaper.. this works but its messy constantly overwriting marker names it has potential to be problematic.. it would be better if there was one command to read marker/region names and a second command to write.

(PS: re-edited this original post to try and keep it simple, I hope it makes sense)

Last edited by EcBaPr; 05-15-2019 at 04:49 AM.
EcBaPr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.