Old 08-31-2006, 12:35 PM   #1
Glynne
Human being with feelings

Default Reaper first impressions

I thought I'd give my observations after using Reaper for a short time. A little background on my experience. I am not a musician and have some passing interest in multi-track recording and mixing. I have done some multimedia work on a volunteer bases using some industrial grade equipment. I'm not sure how far I can take my talents, or lack thereof. So I suspect it is nlikely I'll be purchasing Reaper after the 30 day trial is over. I'll just remove it and go back to Audacity. As it does what I need. I recently downloaded the Shock The Monkey multi-track samples and have been trying to reassemble the original recording. As a practice in interest and frustration. Not quite my tastes in music but it will do. I'm running the risk of having this dang song running through my head for days! Do wish more artists would make their tracks available. It's neat to see how the sausage is made. I now have a new appreciation for how recordings are produced. At first I used Audacity, as it is free. But I found it to be limiting and, with 32 tracks, it can be sluggish. Then I remembered the multitude of version postings for Reaper on MajorGeeks and decided to give it a try. When I first ran it it had a very familiar interface to a certain commercial application <caugh> I've seen before. So I knew what to do, for the most part. It was fairly intuitive, for me
anyway. I was impressed with the speed at which it ran, the small size of the application and how well it imported MP3s. I took a shot at an m4a file and it would not import it. So Winamp then did the dirty work for me to make it a wav file.

I do know a few home musicians and I'll pass Reaper on to them and let them see if it will fit their needs. I do have a few suggestions for improvements. It took me a while