Old 07-14-2020, 08:12 AM   #1
TheLastUsernameInIdaho
Human being with feelings

Default Looking for mixing instruction

Hello. I'm pretty new to recording and mixing, and I'd like to learn the basics of mixing. I've gone through numerous tutorials and I just finished The Mixing Engineer's Handbook by Bobby Owsinski. I am looking for something more comprehensive and far more in depth than what I have seen so far.

What I don't want is a how-to instructional video. What I do want is enough education that I can make informed decisions about what effects to use, in what order, and what they do to the signal. I want detailed information.

The problem I have found is that there are so many people claiming to be experts, I cannot figure out where to begin. I don't care if I have to pay someone for good instruction. I just don't want to pay for and waste time on bad instruction.

Does anyone know of either a set of books or classes that I can invest in that will move me towards a good education in this subject?

Thanks
TheLastUsernameInIdaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2020, 07:55 AM   #2
toleolu

Don't know of any courses, books and such, lots of good stuff on You Tube, but I have found the Music/Collaboration Discussion section of this forum to be a great resource. Post samples of what you are working on there, and you'll get a lot of great advice and help from the forum. Some really talented people here who are always happy to help. Additionally, you can listen to what others post, and if you have questions about what they did, they will gladly answer as well.

If I might ask, what is your goal with recording? Are you looking for something along the lines of professional commercial quality recordings, or are you more like me, a home hobbyist user?

Last edited by toleolu; 07-15-2020 at 08:09 AM.
toleolu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2020, 08:24 AM   #3
karbomusic

Mike Senior's book is highly regarded:

"Mixing Secrets for the Small Studio"