Old 05-18-2009, 12:35 PM   #1
Evan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 3,519
Default Visually identify start of each measure

I work a lot with measures/beats and I would like a little more distinction in the Reaper timeline.

I would like the start of each measure to be more easily distinguishable... various ways to do that... examples

Make the measure number in bold. Like

1.1.00
1.2.00
1.3.00
1.4.00
2.1.00
2.2.00
etc...

Or make the font bold and a size or two larger.

Or invert the background/foreground colors... e.g. a light box with the dark number inside

Or something along these lines.

I can provide mockups if need be.

Thank you

Last edited by Evan; 06-17-2009 at 07:47 AM.
Evan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 01:08 AM   #2
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,025
Default

Hmm, I'm not keen on those particular methods as it could look a bit messy to me (sorry I don't have any better suggestions). So, only as an option/preference.

Meanwhile there is the "Grid lines (start of measure)" theme colour - I've changed it to a contrasting colour to make the measures stand out more. Would it help if this were made "bolder"?

This has some advantages:
-- the start of measure is shown even when the measure number does not appear in the timeline (on zooming out)
-- I don't have to move my eyes from the track to the timeline and back again.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 02:19 AM   #3
Evan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 3,519
Default

Thanks DS,

I tried changing the brightness of the start-of-measure gridline. It does help a lot!

If the start-of-measure gridline could be optionally bold, it would be great to try that also.


Regarding the timeline, I do not have a definitive solution either. But looking at the cubase screenshot I got new insight...

http://musikality.net/wp-content/upl.../cubase4_2.jpg

Reaper uses the Measures.Beats.Ticks(?) e.g. 1.1.00 format always at all zoom levels. At low zooms you can only see the start of each measure in the timeline... but because the number format takes a lot of space, you see lots of numbers and fewer measures. Does that make sense?

If at low zooms only the Measure numbers were shown, you'd deal with a cleaner display of whole numbers, and more of them because they will fit.

As you zoom in, then maybe you can have Measure.Beats display only. Then, in finer zoom levels, when it makes sense, you can have the whole Measure.Beats.Ticks display.
Evan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 02:35 AM   #4
zorn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: france
Posts: 230
Default

i also use beats display all the time, and was thinking the same about the timeline.

To me, what would also help to reduce the clutter, is to get rid of the zeros, so that to display "3.1" instead of "3.1.00" and "3.4.5" instead of "3.4.50".

And while we're at it, when the grid is in triplet time, the timeline numbering should follow that (it currently displays 1.1.00, 1.1.50, 1.2.00, instead of 1.1.1, 1.1.2, 1.1.3, even though the grid line spacing is set to 1/3)
zorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 02:39 AM   #5
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,025
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan View Post
Reaper uses the Measures.Beats.Ticks(?) e.g. 1.1.00 format always at all zoom levels. At low zooms you can only see the start of each measure in the timeline... but because the number format takes a lot of space, you see lots of numbers and fewer measures. Does that make sense?
This is what I get as I zoom out, so i always see the complete measure value:

[img]http://img530.**************/img530/7039/dsr258timeline.png[/img]

PS There are not "ticks" (but I really would like to have a Preference so they could be, and in the MIDI Editor too), they are "centibeats" 1/100th of a beat.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 04:16 AM   #6
Evan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 3,519
Default

In your screenshots DS, the zoom levels only allow the following format to be shown: x.1.00

So, you see the beginning of some measures.

If at these zoom levels, the '.1.00' was omited from the display, you would only see whole numbers: 1, 2, 3 etc... In turn, these will take less space and more fine steps will be shown and they will be easy to see.

Example, in your 2nd screenshot, it goes from 1.1.00 to 9.1.00. You only see measures 1 and 9 in numbers. If you want to find measure 6 you have to count the lines. If it was only whole numbers, just the measures, there's a high chance you'd be able to see all of them (in numbers), or more of them.
Evan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 04:37 AM   #7
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,025
Default

I understand
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 07:51 AM   #8
Evan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 3,519
Default

bump...

I noticed the timeline in the MIDI Editor already has a step into this direction. (it's very close to what I want, I would prefer to have the start of each measure in bold and the subdivisions e.g. 1.2 1.3 as they are now).

(reminding: cleaner look, simpler more musical numbering, more numbers/measures fit/are shown in the same space)

It's a step forward.

Thanks
Evan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 03:42 PM   #9
Guido
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan View Post
bump...

I noticed the timeline in the MIDI Editor already has a step into this direction. (it's very close to what I want, I would prefer to have the start of each measure in bold and the subdivisions e.g. 1.2 1.3 as they are now).

(reminding: cleaner look, simpler more musical numbering, more numbers/measures fit/are shown in the same space)

It's a step forward.

Thanks
You are right. In the way I work I really dont need to see x.1.00 when working in a more zoomed out mode. I like the way the midi editor works..maybe there could be one more option for timeline display called "Measures"

Thanks

Guido
Guido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 04:24 PM   #10
Evan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 3,519
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guido View Post
maybe there could be one more option for timeline display called "Measures"
I think it could work as it is now, but show the numbering depending on the zoom level.

Zoomed out, measures only (1, 2, 3, 4...). Zoomed in some... measures and beats (1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4, 2.1, etc...).
Evan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 04:45 PM   #11
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11,161
Default

+1 to the single digit full measures like in the MIDI editor. Additional digits only when not zero. I wouldn't necessarily need them in a bolder font.

Btw and OT, I'd prefer real ticks in the MIDI editors as well...

Last edited by gofer; 06-17-2009 at 04:48 PM.
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 12:22 AM   #12
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,025
Default

...Ahh, real ticks ... now you're talkin'
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 09:07 PM   #13
synth
Human being with feelings
 
synth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Synthopia
Posts: 1,729
Default

+1 for ticks display. I don't need those centibeats

++1 for simplified measures and beats display.
__________________
Synth's consolidated FR thread: Loaded with some of the *hottest* features in DAW-land:

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=22279
synth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 02:36 AM   #14
delphi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 420
Default

now there are too much "0" that are pretty useless: i prefer "16.1" rather than "16.1.00"
__________________
My english suxx, I know. FEATURE REQUESTS:
ReaSamplOmatic5000 Next/Prev File buttons - Allow setting of send value by right-clicking the fader
delphi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 07:40 AM   #15
DanXIV
Human being with feelings
 
DanXIV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 214
Default

I think that what would be cool is measure numbers with beats and ticks changing as you move your mouse. it would always be visible (like the option always see the items names) with a « sign when the start of the measure is at the left.

When your mouse is over a measure the beats and ticks appear other wise it's only measure numbers. Same thing for time display with min sec ms.

DanXIV
DanXIV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 08:27 AM   #16
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,085
Default

plz look here also

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=62880
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 11:33 AM   #17
Amazed
Human being with feelings
 
Amazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Perth, W.A.
Posts: 1,646
Default

Please also see.
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=85256
Amazed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.