Old 08-23-2011, 05:49 AM   #1
templejazz82
Human being with feelings

Default 13" MacBook Pro + Reaper

Hi Guys- I have been using Reaper on my tower PC for about 6 months. Really liking it, to the point that my next computer I would like to build around Reaper as my main DAW. Currently, my main DAW has been Sonar, and while I like it, ALOT, I feel like it always has more than I need.

My situation- Drummer, recording singer/songwriters, etc... Most tracks I record at once, if recording drums as well, would be 12-16, if the whole band is playing. Normally do 6-10 tracks at a time as my most tracks in a project. ALSO, most projects do not exceed 15-20 tracks. As for effects, I do mix ITB for now, putting my eq, compression, reverb, etc... on the tracks and than mixing my master buss. Also, using an M-Audio Project Mix as my interface, which I plan to try and move for upgrading quality/more desk space. This setup has served me well for 5 years, very few hiccups, which has been great. The issue I have is that I have been offered a few projects recording remotely, so moving all of my gear is a difficult task.

Would, in the forum's opinion, the base model, MacBook Pro 13" 2.3GHz with 8 gig of ram be suitable with Reaper as well as the track count/effects I listed above? I do not want to drop the money and have it not be able to perform. I would hook up the 13" to an external monitor, so that would be ok. Any other suggestions for a MacBook Pro/other laptop? I am pretty set on building my studio around the laptop, as I am not doing major commercial recording, just stuff out of my house.

Thanks-

www.fowlsoundstudio.com
templejazz82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 12:09 PM   #2
Goldigin

hi there!