Old 09-18-2020, 03:10 PM   #1
daniellumertz
Human being with feelings
 
daniellumertz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 654
Default One Kontakt Vs Multiple instances

So, I am wondering how much more resources it will use having multiple instances of kontakt rather than one.

Sometimes I don't want to go routing things, having a midi track to send to a kontakt track to send to a audio track. I know it is easy to route, right clicking in the FX and actions to insert tracks send and receive. The thing is the project start to grow twice as big as having one kontakt per track.

How do you manage it?

same applies to other VSTi omnisphere, VSL etc
daniellumertz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 02:30 PM   #2
panicaftermath
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 405
Default

I've been wondering the same thing. I've done it both ways, and each has its advantages.

But having a separate instance on each track seems the most straightforward, and is easier to see and keep track of, which can count for a lot.

The Kontakt instances themselves don't seem too resource intensive, compared to the actual sample libraries, which would need to be loaded in any case. So it's not clear if combining all patches into one instance would be a more efficient use of resources.

Curious what others are doing.
panicaftermath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 02:58 PM   #3
daniellumertz
Human being with feelings
 
daniellumertz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 654
Default

yes here kontakt is normally under 1% of cpu usage. using an i5 8400 here.

But omnisphere consumes more, then I try to use one instance of it
daniellumertz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 03:17 PM   #4
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,986
Default

Using one instance per instrument is more efficient.
I think it has to do with the CPU load that every script in an instrument
generates. Having each instrument in its own instance distributes the load in
a more efficient way.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please consider donating to amagalma cfillion FeedTheCat HeDa Julian Sader lb0 nofish Sexan X-Raym
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 05:11 PM   #5
daniellumertz
Human being with feelings
 
daniellumertz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 654
Default

good to know that stevie, didn't know. Will probably use one instance per instrument of kontakt, now, keeping everything routed if not really organized can lead to a slow workflow...
daniellumertz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 05:23 PM   #6
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,986
Default

You're welcome! The good thing with this approach is: volume fader = one instrument. Routing should be pretty straight forward, too.
No multi outputs needed in Kontakt
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please consider donating to amagalma cfillion FeedTheCat HeDa Julian Sader lb0 nofish Sexan X-Raym
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.