Old 09-22-2015, 11:55 PM   #1
Adrian Ursu
Human being with feelings

Default Need some opinions about my mix

Hi ! I play guitar in a rock/alternative band and for some reasons (budget also) I have to mix our 10 tracks album. I have some experience but I never finished a mix, now it's the first time when I'm doing this seriously.
I would like to know some opinions that could help me improve this mix. I don't want to compete with those expensive productions, just want a decent sound and be ready to move to the next track.
I worked in the box in my home studio.

Here's my demo :

https://soundcloud.com/sun-boulevard/prove-you-wrong

Thank you !
Adrian
Adrian Ursu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2015, 12:11 AM   #2
flickervetigo

sounds pretty damn good for a first serious effort
flickervetigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2015, 04:49 AM   #3
camerondye

Your mix is good. The main thing I've heard since the first time listening is that the mix is really hard and almost too in your face even on the soft parts. I think everything is compressed too much where the guitars and vocals have to be heard all the time at 100% instead of kind of taking turns. I also think the guitars and vocals are fighting too much for the same EQ space and could definitely use some EQ separation and some different reverbs on different sections. The vocals and guitar seem too loud throughout the whole mix, they are so up front that the rest get very drowned. It could use some different guitar sounds (different amps, pedals, pickups, guitars etc...) so it doesn't have as much of a live feel. Very nice job and you've done well and with a couple production/mix things you've got an awesome product. If you want some help or more ideas just PM me.
camerondye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2015, 05:10 AM   #4
James HE

I think the clean guitars are too "direct" or maybe just too loud. I'd rather they they be in space that isn't right in my head.

Overall sounds really good!