Old 03-04-2014, 07:20 AM   #1
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
amagalma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,071
Default Dynamic split & Transient sensitivity presets?

Hello!

Is there any way to store and recall dynamic split and transient sensitivity settings?

Thanks!
amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 07:26 AM   #2
witti
Human being with feelings
 
witti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,186
Default

Not possible.
witti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 11:47 AM   #3
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
amagalma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,071
Default

That's a pity!

Has it been requested before or should I make a FR?
amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 03:13 PM   #4
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,954
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagalma View Post
That's a pity!

Has it been requested before or should I make a FR?
I think presets could be useful magalma, if you make a FR, I'll vote for it.

I've come across at least a few situations where presets would be quite handy.
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 03:44 PM   #5
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,537
Default

I already made a FR for this : i would use it a big lot.
I need to find back my FR.
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 03:46 PM   #6
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,537
Default

found !
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=4303
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 03:53 PM   #7
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,954
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinkmusic View Post
Voted, #5...
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 02:51 AM   #8
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,248
Default

I am one of those people that uses presets on a compressors and EQs, then tweaks (kill the witch)
But i don't see this being too useful unless the material you are splitting is near identical ?
Open to suggestions why it would be useful though.
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 03:09 AM   #9
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,537
Default

Hi,
Here are 3 examples :

- When working with hundreds of samples to edit. You will not have the same setting while splitting a snare with a smooth reverb tail and a closed hi-hat with short decay. it seems nothing, but being able to recall "soft snare w reverb" setting later or in another session would be a huge time-saver.

- Or with sessions, when you have to switch from one "loud" take to one "quiet" take : if I have to jump back and fourth from the quiet to the loud, i wish i could find back my settings quickly.

- Also, when i have recorded for example a synth pad with long and smooth sustain and on another track a pizzicato bass, the settings won't be the same, and i wish i could recall later the settings i used for one or the other.

In fact, it is a bit the same than "track template" : a workflow enhancer, a time-saver.
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 03:48 AM   #10
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
amagalma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,071
Default

Voted!

Well-said sinkmusic!

In my case, the reason I needed this feature is because we recorded 6 songs with the same instrumentation as a basis (drums, guitar, bass, percussion).
So, I have 6 different projects (one for each song) that I have to edit.
For me, it is a better workflow to dynamically split all the instruments project by project (ie make a preset for each instrument and load the preset when I change project), than to go and split just the drums in all projects, then change the settings and go split the guitar in all the projects, then change the settings and go split the bass in all projects etc

In any case, when did it hurt to be able to save and load presets?
amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 10:27 AM   #11
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,954
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpunk_w View Post
I am one of those people that uses presets on a compressors and EQs, then tweaks (kill the witch)
But i don't see this being too useful unless the material you are splitting is near identical ?
Open to suggestions why it would be useful though.
I've got a complete multi miced drum library I'm going to be cutting up and editing in the near future. All recorded in the same room so basically the same noise floor. Many many velo layers with 4 to 6 RRs.

Presets would definitely be of help there. However, Dynamic Split does seem to retain most of the last settings which does help.
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 05:01 AM   #12
jackmilas
Human being with feelings
 
jackmilas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Wroclaw
Posts: 116
Default

Dynamic Split presets would be super useful!
__________________
Jacek Miłaszewski - mix engineer
jackmilas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 05:06 AM   #13
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,537
Default

Indeed.
[But i may suggest you to give the pre-release forum a look ]
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.