Old 01-13-2021, 05:22 PM   #1
midiman007
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: New York
Posts: 210
Default WAV file payback in Media Explorer

I have been getting several issues with certain wav files not playing back or even displaying in media explorer. This has been going on for a while now with different versions of Reaper. I have open and played the file back in VLC, audacity, cubase and they are fine fine.

Here is a small file example. Most of these file are purchased wav files.

https://filebin.net/p9qxy0yokvqgg7qv

I hope you guys can help.
__________________
My Music
https://soundcloud.com/midiman007
midiman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2021, 05:33 PM   #2
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 11,553
Default

Hm, that file seems to preview and play back fine here, on the current +dev build and also on recent released builds. What OS?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2021, 05:50 PM   #3
midiman007
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: New York
Posts: 210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Hm, that file seems to preview and play back fine here, on the current +dev build and also on recent released builds. What OS?
Sorry schwa I should have given you that info before Win 10 build 20h2,
Intel 10700k 32 gigs 3200 ram. Sapphire pro 40 mix control 3.7 newest one.

I hope you and Justin and your families are safe these days.
__________________
My Music
https://soundcloud.com/midiman007
midiman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2021, 06:32 PM   #4
midiman007
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: New York
Posts: 210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Hm, that file seems to preview and play back fine here, on the current +dev build and also on recent released builds. What OS?
Hi
Try this one. It will open in other wav editors and play back fine with VLC.

https://filebin.net/p9qxy0yokvqgg7qv
__________________
My Music
https://soundcloud.com/midiman007
midiman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2021, 05:41 AM   #5
H1K0
Human being with feelings
 
H1K0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 13
Default Version 6.21

Actually I have the similar thing too when trying to use some samples from FL. I mean, they are correctly played by all the players and the other DAWs I have (FL, Cubase) but REAPER doesn't even show the preview peaks.
__________________
The spoken word can be said by the one who said it.
MeTube
H1K0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2021, 06:12 AM   #6
midiman007
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: New York
Posts: 210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by H1K0 View Post
Actually I have the similar thing too when trying to use some samples from FL. I mean, they are correctly played by all the players and the other DAWs I have (FL, Cubase) but REAPER doesn't even show the preview peaks.
Bingo Glad to see I am not the only one. I get that same issue on several files.
__________________
My Music
https://soundcloud.com/midiman007
midiman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2021, 06:23 AM   #7
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 11,553
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by midiman007 View Post
Hi
Try this one. It will open in other wav editors and play back fine with VLC.

https://filebin.net/p9qxy0yokvqgg7qv
That file also plays back fine here. I wonder what could be causing the issue on your side. Are you loading the file from somewhere other than the local drive by any chance?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2021, 06:43 AM   #8
midiman007
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: New York
Posts: 210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
That file also plays back fine here. I wonder what could be causing the issue on your side. Are you loading the file from somewhere other than the local drive by any chance?
Local file here on a different hard drive.
I have like 5 HD in my pc.

schwa what audio interphase are you using and what is your setup?
I have a Pro 40 set at 48 / 24 bit.
I also tried to drag that file into reaper via the media explorer it would not load.
__________________
My Music
https://soundcloud.com/midiman007
midiman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2021, 06:56 AM   #9
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 11,553
Default

Does anything change if you copy the file to the system drive and try to play it back from there?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2021, 07:14 AM   #10
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 13,310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by H1K0 View Post
Actually I have the similar thing too when trying to use some samples from FL. I mean, they are correctly played by all the players and the other DAWs I have (FL, Cubase) but REAPER doesn't even show the preview peaks.
Those files are all tiny! Can you post one of them?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2021, 07:32 AM   #11
midiman007
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: New York
Posts: 210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Those files are all tiny! Can you post one of them?
My files is still active here

https://filebin.net/p9qxy0yokvqgg7qv

I have others with the same issue and Reaper.
__________________
My Music
https://soundcloud.com/midiman007
midiman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2021, 09:03 AM   #12
H1K0
Human being with feelings
 
H1K0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Those files are all tiny! Can you post one of them?
Sure.
https://yadi.sk/d/Sf01cpqAMTV_Vw

Btw just noticed VLC can't play this file too lol. WTF?
__________________
The spoken word can be said by the one who said it.
MeTube
H1K0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2021, 09:22 AM   #13
H1K0
Human being with feelings
 
H1K0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 13
Default

And yeah, that's how that file actually sounds in FL.
https://yadi.sk/i/mdoerTQesgzkug
__________________
The spoken word can be said by the one who said it.
MeTube
H1K0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2021, 09:33 AM   #14
midiman007
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: New York
Posts: 210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by H1K0 View Post
Sure.
https://yadi.sk/d/Sf01cpqAMTV_Vw

Btw just noticed VLC can't play this file too lol. WTF?
VLC can play my file Reaper can not.
__________________
My Music
https://soundcloud.com/midiman007
midiman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2021, 09:44 AM   #15
H1K0
Human being with feelings
 
H1K0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by midiman007 View Post
VLC can play my file Reaper can not.
And what about my file? I wonder if it's just my problem that VLC doesn't play it.
__________________
The spoken word can be said by the one who said it.
MeTube
H1K0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2021, 10:01 AM   #16
midiman007
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: New York
Posts: 210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by H1K0 View Post
And what about my file? I wonder if it's just my problem that VLC doesn't play it.
Have you tried to open it up in audacity?
__________________
My Music
https://soundcloud.com/midiman007
midiman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2021, 10:02 AM   #17
midiman007
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: New York
Posts: 210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Does anything change if you copy the file to the system drive and try to play it back from there?
Could you guys please fix the search in media explorer to not start searching until I hit enter.
Right now as soon as I type anything in it starts searching.
__________________
My Music
https://soundcloud.com/midiman007
midiman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2021, 11:25 AM   #18
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 11,553
Default

Right-click the media explorer search field and select "update search only when enter key pressed".
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2021, 11:39 AM   #19
midiman007
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: New York
Posts: 210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Right-click the media explorer search field and select "update search only when enter key pressed".
Thanks for the info. I will give it a try.
Do you think you could put a button there instead?
__________________
My Music
https://soundcloud.com/midiman007
midiman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.