Old 01-07-2011, 09:15 AM   #1
lyounkins
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 10
Default MIDI Issues with Media Explorer

I'm using Media Explorer to preview MIDI drum sequences. The drum instrument is BFD from Fxpansion. When playing the selected MIDI sequence in Media Explorer the drums are out of time. If I copy the same sequence into a track, the drums are in time. Anyone else experience this? Have a fix?

Thanks,
Larry
PS - I'm using Reaper 3.74/x64 on Windows 7 (64 bit)

Last edited by lyounkins; 01-07-2011 at 09:23 AM.
lyounkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 09:34 AM   #2
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,265
Default

-- check your project Tempo,
-- Set "Tempo Match On" in the drop-down in the Media Explorer ?
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 10:15 AM   #3
lyounkins
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 10
Default

DarkStar,
Thanks for your reply.
I get the same behavior whether Tempo Match is ON or OFF in Media Explorer.
However, there is a tempo change in the song early on that Reaper seems to be picking up when previewing with Media Explorer. When I remove the tempo change, playback is fine in Media Explorer. With the tempo change in place, playback is out of time whether Tempo Match in ON or OFF.
lyounkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 10:34 AM   #4
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,265
Default

Hmm, it looks like the Media Explorer uses the tempo at the start of the project. Perhaps it would be better if it used the tempo at the Play cursor (or Edit cursor).
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 12:12 PM   #5
lyounkins
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Reaper is indeed using the tempo at the start of the project for Media Explorer, irrespective of where the play cursor is. If there is a tempo change Media Explorer seems to follow it during playback, regardless of whether Tempo Match is ON or OFF. I think this is a bug.

This problem was exposed by yet other weirdness I encountered when tempo mapping the song. But, that's another story.
lyounkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.