Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Live Use

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2021, 01:52 AM   #1
Cedic.cambon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 15
Default Midi/osc to control track volume but not with Actions

edit: Realearn is the solution.

Hi.
I would like to control 2 tracks volumes in 2 differents projects tabs with 2 CC (Better OSC but ok with midi).
My controller is a light management software sending osc or midi.
(ex: "reapA/vol float" to first tab, "reapB/vol float" to 2nd tab). I can send midi also.

I need to be able to do a crossfade or independant volume ctrl on the fly of 2 tracks (or folder track) on 2 different timeline and the values of the 2 tracks volumes come from my software (or whatever a midi controller like LaunchcontrolXL))

I tried a lot of things:

-Actions: OSC/midi/shortcut is the same on differents tabs.

-Cycle action: next tab, set volume, previous tab but how can i manage the value to be applied to set volume....
I use cycle action to play/stop tracks on different tabs, that's ok for a "toggle" action but how can i manage the float value?

-Reacontrolmidi: it does not control track volume but the inside midi volume of midi flow?

I could use the native sampler or playtime but it's better using tabs for my projects for different reasons.
I could use script but very difficult for me to start from scratch. I think i can modify an existing script but i can't find such a script.
Gonna try to find some on Github...

Any ideas?

Last edited by Cedic.cambon; 05-07-2021 at 02:30 AM.
Cedic.cambon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 04:04 AM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 10,594
Default

Just some ideas.
Maybe you could use ReaPack->MidiVolumeControl instead of the tracks Volume slider, same works on the Midi Stream within the track (instead of the global ReaperControlPath, that drivers messages etc.) .

AFAIK, ReaPack->ReaLearn is able to control the track volume slider.

A problem might be addressing two Tabs. You could route the audio from one tab to the other (using the ReaRoute trick) and handle your remote control in a single tab.

I don't know it it's possible to route Midi from one tab to another but supposedly you can receive the stream from the same Midi device in both.

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 05-04-2021 at 04:20 AM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 04:33 AM   #3
Cedic.cambon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 15
Default

Yes it's a good idea to route audio from 2nd tab to first tab, I will try it tomorrow. Thanks a lot mschnell.
Cedic.cambon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 09:40 AM   #4
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 10,594
Default

You need to use an undocumented feature (edit a configuration file). It is described in some forum messages.



-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 01:03 AM   #5
Cedic.cambon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 15
Default

I can do it with Realearn, Midi, not OSC.
No rearoute for me, i'm on mac, i will try with soundflower.
Thank's a lot.
Cedic.cambon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 03:20 AM   #6
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 10,594
Default

Happily, this ReaRoute functionality (routing between Reaper tabs) is available for Mac, as well.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2021, 02:27 AM   #7
Cedic.cambon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks a lot.
Realearn is the better solution for me, i can use osc messages.
I'm happy.
Cedic.cambon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2021, 03:33 AM   #8
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 10,594
Default

I don't understand. ReaRoute (here) is for transferring Audio between taps.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2021, 01:52 PM   #9
Cedic.cambon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 15
Default

I was talking about my intial request, controlling 2 tracks volumes in 2 differents projects tabs with 2 OSC messages.

Realearn (in your second answer, mschnell) is perfect to do that.
Rearoute is probably another solution. I will check it because it can be very usefull.

Thank you very much.
Cedic.cambon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.