Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Compatibility

Old 07-28-2018, 12:11 PM   #1
toxizz
Human being with feelings

Default Reaper + Launchpad USER mode? is it Possible?

Hello guys,

I've already got my launchpad up and running with Reaper using my main 8x8 buttons and i've got some lights feedback aswell (thanks to ReaLearn) and some Live session view (thanks to PLaytime).

Everything's working allright but I'm starting to run out of real estate.

Wondering if it's possible at all to make use of the "USER 1, USER 2" buttons kinda like in ableton : when pressing those, you have a access to 2 fresh 8x8 pages (new midi channels/note) so that I could map some other stuff.
I've read somewhere using "bidule" gives the ability to create modes but I'd like to avoid 100 $ just for that

Thanks!
toxizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 04:55 PM   #2
themixtape

It's sad when no one replies to posts like this.

I'm not an expert on the Launchpad at all... but, one thing that led me to this post via google was that it doesn't seem common knowledge that NONE of the Launchpads prior to late 2019 (even the Launchpad Pro) can be edited with a midi editor.

On the flipside, the Launch Control XL (and the regular small one) can be edited freely, to do any function you wish.

But, the User modes for all pre-late-2019 launchpads provide the same (not exactly logical) midi note layout, which is completely non-editable. It doesn't even seem like there's a hack/workaround for this. Those pads provide certain midi notes and they are set in stone.

It doesn't make a lot of sense that the User 1 and User 2 modes don't provide complete customization.

EDIT (January 31st 2020) Launchpad alternatives that ALLOW custom midi-mapping of all 64 buttons include: Launchpad X, Launchpad Mini MK3, and Launchpad Pro MK3. Sadly, it doesn't look like these will ever be supported in Playtime (unless there's a DIY hack to do so)?

Quote: