Old 04-30-2008, 04:01 AM   #1
mbncp
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 197
Default sysex

I didn't really look closely in the sdk so far but I was wondering if it's possible to hook a MIDI port.
The idea would be to trap sysex messages on input and convert them to nrpn or some other coding sequence and do the same on an output port.

Any idea ?
Thanks
mbncp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2008, 06:07 AM   #2
Deric
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 794
Default

Not sure what you mean by "hook a MIDI port" - but you can monitor incoming MIDI messages, receive and send SYSEX, etc.
__________________
REAPER? Oh yes...
Deric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2008, 06:22 AM   #3
mbncp
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 197
Default

I need to trap the midi flow before it hit's a track and also once it leaves a track to a midi out port.

Normaly with have something like this:

Midi In -> Track -> Midi Out

I would need to do this

Midi In -> myplug -> Track -> myplug -> midi out

And not on all midi ports, only the ones I want to.

When I say Track, I mean anything between MIDI in and MIDI out.

This would prevent me to do it in an external app using a virtual port:

midi in -> my app-> virtual midi in -> reaper -> virtual midi out -> my app -> midi out
mbncp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2008, 08:28 AM   #4
spacelabstudio
Human being with feelings
 
spacelabstudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbncp View Post
I need to trap the midi flow before it hit's a track and also once it leaves a track to a midi out port.

Normaly with have something like this:

Midi In -> Track -> Midi Out

I would need to do this

Midi In -> myplug -> Track -> myplug -> midi out

And not on all midi ports, only the ones I want to.

When I say Track, I mean anything between MIDI in and MIDI out.

This would prevent me to do it in an external app using a virtual port:

midi in -> my app-> virtual midi in -> reaper -> virtual midi out -> my app -> midi out
I'm not sure if you can do that with the SDK but I'm pretty sure you can with JS, which is much easier to deal with. Check out JS.

chris
spacelabstudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2008, 08:38 AM   #5
mbncp
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spacelabstudio View Post
I'm not sure if you can do that with the SDK but I'm pretty sure you can with JS, which is much easier to deal with. Check out JS.

chris
It is indeed to be used in a JS plug, but JS doesn't receive/send sysex messages.
That's why the idea to convert first to something else that would be interpreted by a JS plug.
mbncp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.