Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Compatibility

Old 04-18-2018, 07:57 PM   #1
yhlee
Human being with feelings

Default guidance with hardware upgrade for Reaper and plug-ins

Hello! My husband is trying to figure out whether I need an upgraded computer for what I want to do with Reaper, and the trouble is that I am terrible with computers so I don't know what the bottleneck is, and my husband knows computers but has no clue about music. Please forgive me if I get the terminology wrong; I am a hobbyist.

I'm currently running Reaper 5.62 x64 on Windows 7 Professional 64-bit. My processor is an Intel Core i5-2500 CPU @ 3.30 GHz 3.30 GHz (it's listed twice in properties, I don't know why). 32 GB RAM in four 8-GB pieces that are DDR3 1600 SDRAM.

Hard drives: two Western Digital Black 1-TB, 7200 rpm, SATA 6, Gbyte/second, 64 MB cache.

What I'm trying to do: I want to use MIDI with sampled instruments to do basic orchestral arrangements/compositions. What I've been running up against is severe stuttering/lag in Reaper, and I *think* it's because I'm running out of RAM with the number of sampled instruments I'm trying to load, but I'm not actually sure that *is* the problem. And maybe what I'm trying to do is not possible with a single computer, in which case I'd rather know that before spending $$$$$ on very expensive RAM only to have it not work anyway?