Old 11-28-2013, 10:14 PM   #1
Viente
Human being with feelings
 
Viente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,972
Default MCP fixed size

I've seen some themes don't allow you to resize MCP. This is good when you have specific meters design, which i want to do for my theme as well. But i can't get how to lock the size of MCP in WALTER and i'll appreciate any help here.

Thanks!
Viente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 10:40 PM   #2
Ron_Paul
Human being with feelings
 
Ron_Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 123
Default

set mcp.extmixer.mode [1]
set mcp.extmixer.position []
Ron_Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 11:13 PM   #3
Viente
Human being with feelings
 
Viente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,972
Default

Thanks for reply, but how does it suppose to work? I've read about ext mixer in the WALTER manual but can't understand how this can help me lock my panel size. Maybe i'm slow but this looks complicated to me... I need a little bit more explanation if possible. Thanks
Viente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2013, 12:01 AM   #4
witti
Human being with feelings
 
witti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,216
Default

This is reaper's default extended mixer:

clear mcp.*
set mcp.extmixer.mode [0]

This is with extended mixer disabled:

clear mcp.*
set mcp.extmixer.mode [1]
set mcp.extmixer.position [0]

This places the extended mixer somewhere inside the mcp.
In this case to the right for a 'Sidebar' layout.

set mcp.size [161 400]
set mcp.extmixer.mode [1]
set mcp.extmixer.position [78 5 81 365 0 0 0 1]

This places the extended mixer on top inside the mcp.
The trick here is that the extended mixer has to have the same width as the mcp
and is placed at the coordinates 0 0.
Everything looks 'normal' but you can't move/stretch anymore.

Add h>xxx conditions, having the scrollbar/track icons in mind, to change the height of the ext mixer.
Also, when enabling insert, sends, fx parameters at the same time, the extended mixer can disappear.
You can remove it with [0] or just make it bigger.

set mcp.size [81 400]
set mcp.extmixer.mode [1]
set mcp.extmixer.position h>440 [0 0 81 57 0 0 0 1] [0]

If you want to see some heavy use of all the stuff, have a look at my Apollo mods. Especially the Apollo_simple theme.
witti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2013, 12:47 AM   #5
jedstar2000
Human being with feelings
 
jedstar2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bristol uk
Posts: 1,006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viente View Post
I've seen some themes don't allow you to resize MCP. This is good when you have specific meters design, which i want to do for my theme as well. But i can't get how to lock the size of MCP in WALTER and i'll appreciate any help here.

Thanks!
Hi Viente.

Its set in the first block of code.

mcp_min_height 522

i.e.

use_pngs 1
tcp_showborders 0
mcp_showborders 0
tcp_vupeakwidth 1
mcp_vupeakheight 1
mcp_mastervupeakheight 1
mcp_altmeterpos 0
use_overlays 1
transport_showborders 0
tcp_vol_zeroline 85000000
tcp_pan_zeroline 85000000
mcp_vol_zeroline 85000000
mcp_pan_zeroline 85000000
trans_speed_zeroline 99999999
gen_vol_zeroline FF000000
gen_pan_zeroline FF000000
mcp_min_height 522
tcp_heights 4 18 34 ; supercollapsed, collapsed, small(norecarm), recarm size
tcp_folderindent 8
__________________
...............Reaper the DIY DAW.....................
MultiTrack Editing Macros http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=50111
Hybrid Theme http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=131090
jedstar2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2013, 01:12 AM   #6
witti
Human being with feelings
 
witti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,216
Default

Of course mcp_min_height is also very important.
Totally forgot about that !
witti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 12:18 PM   #7
Viente
Human being with feelings
 
Viente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,972
Default

After all that time of trial & error i still can't unserstand how to make it work Extended mixer is the area where inserts and sends are located and you can place it anywhere you want, thats right...but how its related to the height of the fader area?

I need my mixer to be fixed size without option to resize it. Dear themers, how on earth do you do this? Thanks

Last edited by Viente; 03-23-2014 at 12:30 PM.
Viente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 02:37 PM   #8
witti
Human being with feelings
 
witti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,216
Default

You have to attach all buttons, the meter, etc. to the bottom.

[x y w h 0 1 0 1]

(Top would be [x y w h 0 0 0 0])

So when you change the height of the mixer everything stays at the same place.

With a bigger mixer height fill the empty space with the extended mixer.

Attachment has to look like this: [x y w h 0 0 0 1].

So for example, if your mcp width is 80 pixels, you should put your extended mixer at this position: [0 0 80 h 0 0 0 1].

Now change the height of this until you reach the other elements.
e.g. [0 0 80 200 0 0 0 1]. Which depends on the overall height of your mcp and where you've placed the other elements. (set mcp.size [80 400])

The effect of all that is that everything looks normal, but you cannot stretch the lower area any more. The top of the lower area is now the border between the lower area and the extended mixer above.
Placing the extended mixer 'inside' of the mcp would give a totally different effect. (Like this: [2 2 76 200 0 0 0 1]). In this case the top of the lower area would be the top of the overall mixer (above the extended mixer area).

Check this with the Apollo_simple theme. The yellow border of the selected tracks clearly shows the effect. With something like [2 2 76 200 0 0 0 1], the yellow border would surround the extended mixer area, while with [0 0 80 200 0 0 0 1] it doesn't.

Sounds more complicated than it is.

Some tips: Start with a mcp_min_height smaller in the beginning. You can set it to your desired height later. And always start theming the mixer with mixer scrollbars visible. Will save you much trouble.
witti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 02:44 PM   #9
Viente
Human being with feelings
 
Viente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,972
Default

Ahh looks like i've finally got the idea..
Huge thanks witti! You're da man
Viente is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.