Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2022, 10:35 AM   #1
s wave
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 358
Default How to run Reaper in 'terminal' for troubleshooting...

Just wanted to share a tip for running Reaper in a terminal. Go to where the REAPER ICON is... you know the icon ('shaped like a gear') that you click-on to open the DAW... RIGHT CLICK on the ICON... COPY it... Then open a 'terminal' and THEN PASTE it in the terminal and hit ENTER!

hope it helps... those who can't figure out how to run Reaper in a terminal.
s wave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 10:52 AM   #2
XoechZ
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Austria
Posts: 261
Default

Why so complicated?
I simply have to open a terminal, type reaper and press enter.
Depends on how you have installed Reaper, I think.
XoechZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 11:01 AM   #3
s wave
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XoechZ View Post
Why so complicated?
I simply have to open a terminal, type reaper and press enter.
Depends on how you have installed Reaper, I think.
Yes - it is more complicated but simple FOR those who have trouble doing it or who may have deprecated files/duplicate shortcuts/etc and are lost. It is for someone who can not use ./reaper or 'opt' commands etc (newbs)tc friend.
s wave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 11:14 AM   #4
BethHarmon
Human being with feelings
 
BethHarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: The Solar System
Posts: 654
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s wave View Post
Yes - it is more complicated but simple FOR those who have trouble doing it or who may have deprecated files/duplicate shortcuts/etc and are lost. It is for someone who can not use ./reaper or 'opt' commands etc (newbs)tc friend.
If you open a terminal you generally won't be in the REAPER install folder...therefore XoechZ is correct that you should only need to use the "reaper" command (no ./ required). But, be aware that running in the terminal will be slower given all the text output. Always better to run via the icon whenever possible (always?).

And for clarification, 'opt' is a directory.

Last edited by BethHarmon; 05-13-2022 at 11:21 AM.
BethHarmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 11:18 AM   #5
XoechZ
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Austria
Posts: 261
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s wave View Post
Yes - it is more complicated but simple FOR those who have trouble doing it or who may have deprecated files/duplicate shortcuts/etc and are lost. It is for someone who can not use ./reaper or 'opt' commands etc (newbs)tc friend.
I understand.
I always forget that I am a pure terminal user. I do not even have a desktop environment installed :-)
XoechZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 10:42 PM   #6
s wave
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BethHarmon View Post
If you open a terminal you generally won't be in the REAPER install folder...therefore XoechZ is correct that you should only need to use the "reaper" command (no ./ required). But, be aware that running in the terminal will be slower given all the text output. Always better to run via the icon whenever possible (always?).

And for clarification, 'opt' is a directory.
TY Beth. I was saying if you just type 'reaper' etc... in a terminal AND this does not work... you CAN 'troubleshoot by in a terminal'. (for someone that can not find a way to run in terminal) tc
s wave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 01:08 AM   #7
MikeLacey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 785
Default

@XoechZ

That's interesting, do you have any issues or advantages from running REAPER without a desktop?
__________________
Mike Lacey, Leicestershire, UK
MikeLacey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 01:37 AM   #8
BethHarmon
Human being with feelings
 
BethHarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: The Solar System
Posts: 654
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeLacey View Post
@XoechZ

That's interesting, do you have any issues or advantages from running REAPER without a desktop?
I suspect he's running an X session but not a window manager or desktop environment?
BethHarmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 01:38 AM   #9
XoechZ
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Austria
Posts: 261
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeLacey View Post
@XoechZ

That's interesting, do you have any issues or advantages from running REAPER without a desktop?
I use the i3 window manager and work very puristic. Nor desktop, no wallpaper, no bling bling. A disadvantage for some may be that you have to configure your system by yourself from ground up, using the terminal and config files. My programs are started with keyboard shortcuts, like Super+r for Reaper, Super+f for Firefox and so on.
The biggest advantage for me is that I like it this way. In my eye, a OS is a runtime environment for my software. Nothing more and nothing less. I only install things that I really need, and I have blacklisted all devices I don't need (wifi, Bluetooth, webcam).
This way, when my system is booted, it takes less than 300MB RAM.

But, as said, this way of (ancient) working is not useful for everyone and it takes quite a bit of learning and research to get it up and running. On the other side you get a blazing fast and stable system not only for audio. Playing games on Steam is a dream and performance is much much better than in Windows.
XoechZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 02:00 AM   #10
BethHarmon
Human being with feelings
 
BethHarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: The Solar System
Posts: 654
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XoechZ View Post
I use the i3 window manager and work very puristic. Nor desktop, no wallpaper, no bling bling. A disadvantage for some may be that you have to configure your system by yourself from ground up, using the terminal and config files. My programs are started with keyboard shortcuts, like Super+r for Reaper, Super+f for Firefox and so on.
The biggest advantage for me is that I like it this way. In my eye, a OS is a runtime environment for my software. Nothing more and nothing less. I only install things that I really need, and I have blacklisted all devices I don't need (wifi, Bluetooth, webcam).
This way, when my system is booted, it takes less than 300MB RAM.

But, as said, this way of (ancient) working is not useful for everyone and it takes quite a bit of learning and research to get it up and running. On the other side you get a blazing fast and stable system not only for audio. Playing games on Steam is a dream and performance is much much better than in Windows.
Sure you don't want to squeeze out even more performance with no window manager and just using xinit?
BethHarmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 02:12 AM   #11
XoechZ
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Austria
Posts: 261
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BethHarmon View Post
Sure you don't want to squeeze out even more performance with no window manager and just using xinit?
I have never tried that, but I don't think it works. You need some kind of window manager, which draws your windows on the screen. I3 uses xinit. I boot into a tty and start the environment with 'startx' and a well configured .xinitrc file which substitutes a login manager.
XoechZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 02:48 AM   #12
BethHarmon
Human being with feelings
 
BethHarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: The Solar System
Posts: 654
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XoechZ View Post
I have never tried that, but I don't think it works. You need some kind of window manager, which draws your windows on the screen. I3 uses xinit. I boot into a tty and start the environment with 'startx' and a well configured .xinitrc file which substitutes a login manager.
I'm pretty sure you can just run xinit (in the background ideally). No window manager required. Don't go breaking your system to try it though
BethHarmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 02:52 AM   #13
XoechZ
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Austria
Posts: 261
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BethHarmon View Post
I'm pretty sure you can just run xinit (in the background ideally). No window manager required. Don't go breaking your system to try it though
Not a good idea.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Xorg
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Window_manager

A lot of good info if you want to dig deeper into that topic.
XoechZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 03:01 AM   #14
BethHarmon
Human being with feelings
 
BethHarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: The Solar System
Posts: 654
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XoechZ View Post
Not a good idea.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Xorg
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Window_manager

A lot of good info if you want to dig deeper into that topic.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Xin...window_manager

I'm not sure why it's not a good idea. They even say:
Quote:
This can be useful to launch graphical games, where excluding the overhead of a compositor can help improve the game's performance.
Anyway, I'm not telling everyone to delete their desktop environments and window managers, just that it's possible...

Last edited by BethHarmon; 05-14-2022 at 03:17 AM.
BethHarmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 03:15 AM   #15
XoechZ
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Austria
Posts: 261
Default

"It is possible to start only specific applications without a window manager, although most likely this is only useful with a single application shown in full-screen mode."

As said, I have not tried it yet. But I believe that you get problems as soon as you try to open a plugin window in Reaper. So not really useful.
XoechZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 03:18 AM   #16
BethHarmon
Human being with feelings
 
BethHarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: The Solar System
Posts: 654
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XoechZ View Post
"It is possible to start only specific applications without a window manager, although most likely this is only useful with a single application shown in full-screen mode."

As said, I have not tried it yet. But I believe that you get problems as soon as you try to open a plugin window in Reaper. So not really useful.
This might well be true. We won't know until someone takes the plunge
BethHarmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 08:47 AM   #17
MikeLacey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BethHarmon View Post
I'm pretty sure you can just run xinit (in the background ideally). No window manager required. Don't go breaking your system to try it though
You can; I've done it by mistake a few times way back when. It's not a good experience!!
__________________
Mike Lacey, Leicestershire, UK
MikeLacey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 08:49 AM   #18
MikeLacey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 785
Default

I had to use a terminal window to watch stderr just now - and it was useful, told me where the issue was.
__________________
Mike Lacey, Leicestershire, UK
MikeLacey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 08:59 AM   #19
Mikobuntu
Human being with feelings
 
Mikobuntu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 95
Default

Interesting topic, another thing maybe worth looking into is running Reaper from it's own standalone x-session, I have did this before with Renoise and everything seemed to work ok, There may be a need to start some services and load some modules at boot tho for Reaper.
Mikobuntu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2022, 10:05 PM   #20
s wave
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XoechZ View Post
I use the i3 window manager and work very puristic. Nor desktop, no wallpaper, no bling bling. A disadvantage for some may be that you have to configure your system by yourself from ground up, using the terminal and config files. My programs are started with keyboard shortcuts, like Super+r for Reaper, Super+f for Firefox and so on.
The biggest advantage for me is that I like it this way. In my eye, a OS is a runtime environment for my software. Nothing more and nothing less. I only install things that I really need, and I have blacklisted all devices I don't need (wifi, Bluetooth, webcam).
This way, when my system is booted, it takes less than 300MB RAM.

But, as said, this way of (ancient) working is not useful for everyone and it takes quite a bit of learning and research to get it up and running. On the other side you get a blazing fast and stable system not only for audio. Playing games on Steam is a dream and performance is much much better than in Windows.
I3 is real real good agreed. (fedora ok)
s wave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.