Old 09-19-2010, 05:18 PM   #1
ThePulse
Human being with feelings
 
ThePulse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 364
Default Power Conditioners & Supplies

Looking for a good, price conscious, rack mountable solution for power management and conditioning.

I need it/them to supply CONSTANT, EVEN and CLEAN power to:

- A custom pc with an 850watt PSU
- A custom storage server with a 400watt PSU
- 2 x 23" LCD monitors
- 2 x External HDD's
- An M-Audio Delta 1010
- A PreSonus Studio Channel
- A PreSonus Central Station
- 2 x Yamaha MSP7's
- 2 x Samson Resolv 65a's

I've been told that Furman is the best in this regard, but was wondering if someone with experience can let me know a good model, how many I'll need, and so forth.
__________________
Reaper 4 / OSX 10.8.2/ 12-Core @ 2.66GHz/ 24GB RAM/ RME Multiface II/ PreSonus Studio Channel/ NT1/ Samson Resolv 65a's
ThePulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 07:06 PM   #2
Kundalinguist
Human being with feelings
 
Kundalinguist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,587
Default

Some of the UPS systems have conditioners in them (higher end ones).

Furman is a long time standard. However, if I recall correctly, a guitar player in one band I played in took measurements and the power wasn't constant and may have been slightly under or over. I guess the point is, don't just buy it for the label. Do a lot of research IF you think that having a separate power conditioner is necessary.

I have a Tripp Lite rack power unit and a separate UPS.

In general, a decent UPS unit should even out the current from what I understand. But maybe someone else can chime in and correct me if I'm wrong.

Anyone?
__________________
Success is just one more plugin away! And happiness is as close as your next upgrade.
Kundalinguist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 07:16 PM   #3
ThePulse
Human being with feelings
 
ThePulse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 364
Default

Understandable, but as this is a home mixing/mastering studio and quite small, I have no need for a $1000+ UPS system. That and rarely does power ever go out for anything on my block.

I want two units as I can plug in the more consistent devices in one (ie. monitors, pc, external hdds, sound card, pre-amp), and the more variable devices in the other (speaker monitors, monitor switcher, etc).

So far I've been looking at the Monster MP PRO 3500 Rack, and the Furman P-8 PRO II.

Other people are encouraged to chime in though.
__________________
Reaper 4 / OSX 10.8.2/ 12-Core @ 2.66GHz/ 24GB RAM/ RME Multiface II/ PreSonus Studio Channel/ NT1/ Samson Resolv 65a's
ThePulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 07:25 PM   #4
bullshark
Human being with feelings
 
bullshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: traîne mes guêtres en Québec...
Posts: 5,390
Default

What make you think you even need that?

Surge protection? Yeah, why not, especially since they normally multiply your outlets, which are always in short supply in a studio.

But "power conditioner"? Why? Your current out of condition?

Oh, I should add, the best power conditioner there is is a transformer, the bigger the better; the good news is, there's a gigantic one for you right on the electric pole outside

Last edited by bullshark; 09-19-2010 at 07:32 PM.
bullshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 07:58 PM   #5
ThePulse
Human being with feelings
 
ThePulse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 364
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bullshark View Post
What make you think you even need that?

Surge protection? Yeah, why not, especially since they normally multiply your outlets, which are always in short supply in a studio.

But "power conditioner"? Why? Your current out of condition?

Oh, I should add, the best power conditioner there is is a transformer, the bigger the better; the good news is, there's a gigantic one for you right on the electric pole outside
Because I'd rather have a rack mountable solution as I'm not a fan of power strips laying all over the floor, and to my knowledge, there are no rack mountable surge protectors. There are however rack mountable power conditioners with added surge protection functionality which fits and serves the basis of MY needs.

I'm looking for people with home studio rack mountable power conditioners/surge protectors to come forward and give me their personal reviews of products as most REVIEWS aren't real world tested half of the time.
__________________
Reaper 4 / OSX 10.8.2/ 12-Core @ 2.66GHz/ 24GB RAM/ RME Multiface II/ PreSonus Studio Channel/ NT1/ Samson Resolv 65a's
ThePulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 08:17 PM   #6
bullshark
Human being with feelings
 
bullshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: traîne mes guêtres en Québec...
Posts: 5,390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePulse View Post
Because I'd rather have a rack mountable solution as I'm not a fan of power strips laying all over the floor, and to my knowledge, there are no rack mountable surge protectors.
Sure there are.
http://www.rackmountsolutions.net/Po..._Rackmount.asp
only one example.
bullshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 08:29 PM   #7
ThePulse
Human being with feelings
 
ThePulse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 364
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bullshark View Post
Hmm ok. I was looking directly in a pro-audio supplier store and didn't see any. I do however like the idea of and want the added power conditioning for my more sensitive equipment. And also 8-outlet, 20amp solutions that have all or the majority of the outlets on the back.

I'm firm in the conditioning lane...now I just need personal recommendations.
__________________
Reaper 4 / OSX 10.8.2/ 12-Core @ 2.66GHz/ 24GB RAM/ RME Multiface II/ PreSonus Studio Channel/ NT1/ Samson Resolv 65a's
ThePulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 10:21 PM   #8
Sigilus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bullshark View Post
Oh, I should add, the best power conditioner there is is a transformer, the bigger the better; the good news is, there's a gigantic one for you right on the electric pole outside
True, but do you trust the utility company and/or Nature?
Sigilus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 12:19 AM   #9
ThePulse
Human being with feelings
 
ThePulse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 364
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenneth R. View Post
True, but do you trust the utility company and/or Nature?
I don't. Not 100% at least. Maybe things are different in Canada though?
__________________
Reaper 4 / OSX 10.8.2/ 12-Core @ 2.66GHz/ 24GB RAM/ RME Multiface II/ PreSonus Studio Channel/ NT1/ Samson Resolv 65a's
ThePulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 04:55 AM   #10
suburbancore
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greece
Posts: 10
Default

Personally, I'd never run a PC without a UPS....no matter HOW stable the power company's supply appears to be.

In your scenario (and since you want clean/conditioned power for your gear) I'd go for sth like an enterprise rack-mountable line-interactive UPS

That will give you a pure sinewave voltage cleaner than any power conditioner plus the added benefit of a UPS.

You can get 3000VA/2600W (capable of 24 amp load) ones for about 700-800$

Let me point out that the equipment you mentioned adds up to a MAXIMUM consumption of 2400W... That means EVERYTHING running at 100%...

Which btw is completely unrealistic.


So one such UPS is more than enough for that purpose.
suburbancore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 05:06 AM   #11
Jeahvel
Human being with feelings
 
Jeahvel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 75
Default CyberPower Systems

They make rackmountable UPS's, rackmountable surge protection, etc... Good stuff and affordable. Do some research on them as to how they stack up against Tripp Lite, Monster, APC, and others. Verizon uses CyberPower as their OEM supplier for FiOS battery backups...'nuff said.

http://www.cyberpowersystems.com/region-selector.html
Jeahvel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.