Old 04-18-2017, 08:42 AM   #1
relimbeck
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 12
Default Live Shows

Hi there everyone,

I want to configure Reaper to use in live performances. I have a motorized mixer that I plan to use, but here's the tricky part. I want to load my tracks in and out of the SAME mix. Basically, if I'm playing a room that needs a different mix than my studio, I want to be able to adjust a fader, and then KEEP THOSE FADER ADJUSTMENTS between song files without having to keep adjusting them every time I switch tracks. Does anyone know how to accomplish this?

I know that I'd have to have the same number of tracks for all of my songs, which I plan to do. So I guess it'd be like replacing the AUDIO in one file with the AUDIO in another file, but not anything else. Same thing with reverb sends and effects and what not. Help anybody? I absolutely DO NOT want to mix the songs down...I want control of each individual instrument/background vocal on the gig. Also, I do NOT want to have all 80 or so of my songs in one file. I know that'd technically work, but I don't want to deal with selecting tracks or scrolling through banks on my mixer during the gig. Speaking from experience, that tends to get too tricky...on the gig I need something that can pull up a file and bam, there it is, with all tracks adjustable per file, without having to make the same room adjustment every time I switch.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give!!

Ryan

Last edited by relimbeck; 04-18-2017 at 09:00 AM.
relimbeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2017, 12:12 PM   #2
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,682
Default

Have you tried the Monitoring FX chain? That affects all projects and persists across restarts.

Last edited by cfillion; 04-18-2017 at 12:23 PM.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2017, 06:52 PM   #3
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,632
Default

not precisely clear on your needs... will there be virtual instruments as well as audio tracks?

what exactly will you need to adjust on each track?

what will you be using to make those adjustments? the computer itself, or a remote or a midi controller? [for example]

how many audio tracks [roughly] per song...
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.