Old 02-22-2019, 07:03 AM   #1
Matthias-S
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Default Reaper crashes due to "Broken pipe: 13"

Hi guys,

my band is using Reaper to manage and route our In Ear Monitoring and backing tracks combined with the web browser interface for individual IEM mixes.

Reaper crashes in unregular intervals without giving a crash report. It's just gone as if it wasn't even opened before. It worries us a lot since we can't reproduce the crashing and we actually use the set up for live use.

I pasted the console log below. Reaper crashed when this error was logged, i marked the crashes below, too:
com.apple.xpc.launchd[1]: (com.cockos.reaper.76512[9997]) Service exited due to signal: Broken pipe: 13

I'm using Reaper v5.965/64 on a Macbook Pro with OS X El Capitan. CPU is usually under 10%.

It would be extremely helpful if you could help me troubleshooting! Much appreciated!



The console logs the following:

21.02.19 16:37:20,964 UserEventAgent[43]: Captive: [CNInfoNetworkActive:1748] en1: SSID 'REAPER IEM WIFI' making interface primary (protected network)
21.02.19 16:37:20,985 UserEventAgent[43]: Captive: en1: Probing 'REAPER IEM WIFI'
21.02.19 16:43:23,305 WindowServer[184]: disable_update_timeout: UI updates were forcibly disabled by application "REAPER" for over 1.00 seconds. Server has re-enabled them.
21.02.19 16:43:23,888 REAPER[9997]: 16:43:23.887 WARNING: 140: This application, or a library it uses, is using the deprecated Carbon Component Manager for hosting Audio Units. Support for this will be removed in a future release. Also, this makes the host incompatible with version 3 audio units. Please transition to the API's in AudioComponent.h.
21.02.19 16:43:27,764 WindowServer[184]: common_reenable_update: UI updates were finally reenabled by application "REAPER" after 5.46 seconds [0.18fps] (server forcibly re-enabled them after 1.00 seconds [1.00fps])
------> Reaper crashed here:
21.02.19 17:27:25,672 com.apple.xpc.launchd[1]: (com.cockos.reaper.76512[9997]) Service exited due to signal: Broken pipe: 13
21.02.19 17:27:42,358 WindowServer[184]: disable_update_timeout: UI updates were forcibly disabled by application "REAPER" for over 1.00 seconds. Server has re-enabled them.
21.02.19 17:27:44,599 WindowServer[184]: common_reenable_update: UI updates were finally reenabled by application "REAPER" after 3.24 seconds [0.31fps] (server forcibly re-enabled them after 1.00 seconds [1.00fps])
------> and here:
21.02.19 18:02:36,845 com.apple.xpc.launchd[1]: (com.cockos.reaper.76512[10001]) Service exited due to signal: Broken pipe: 13
21.02.19 18:03:03,073 WindowServer[184]: disable_update_timeout: UI updates were forcibly disabled by application "REAPER" for over 1.00 seconds. Server has re-enabled them.
21.02.19 18:03:05,375 WindowServer[184]: common_reenable_update: UI updates were finally reenabled by application "REAPER" after 3.30 seconds [0.30fps] (server forcibly re-enabled them after 1.00 seconds [1.00fps])
------> and here:
21.02.19 18:09:22,316 com.apple.xpc.launchd[1]: (com.cockos.reaper.76512[10012]) Service exited due to signal: Broken pipe: 13
21.02.19 18:09:45,566 WindowServer[184]: disable_update_timeout: UI updates were forcibly disabled by application "REAPER" for over 1.00 seconds. Server has re-enabled them.
21.02.19 18:09:47,738 WindowServer[184]: common_reenable_update: UI updates were finally reenabled by application "REAPER" after 3.17 seconds [0.32fps] (server forcibly re-enabled them after 1.00 seconds [1.00fps])
------> and here:
21.02.19 20:08:44,970 com.apple.xpc.launchd[1]: (com.cockos.reaper.76512[10015]) Service exited due to signal: Broken pipe: 13

Last edited by Matthias-S; 02-22-2019 at 08:02 AM.
Matthias-S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 05:31 AM   #2
Matthias-S
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Default

Does anyone have an idea, where else I can seek for help?
Matthias-S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 09:01 AM   #3
sisaso
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 164
Default

Which Router, which IEM Sender. On which frequencies sending?
General advice:
Move your router as far away from the IEM Sender as possible.
sisaso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 11:41 PM   #4
Aymara
Human being with feelings
 
Aymara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany
Posts: 941
Default

Google for „com.apple.xpc.launchd broken pipe“ to find several hints about this problem, be it gaming or Microsoft Office.

Regarding the later I found a short discussion in a MS forum related to a failed download, where the answer was to repair HDD permissions.
__________________
Greetings from Germany

Chris
Aymara is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2019, 02:54 PM   #5
Matthias-S
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks for your input!

We use an AVM FritzBox 7490 and no IEM senders yet. Still cable bound.

Apple says there is no function to repair HDD permissions manually anymore on OS X El Capitan. Nonetheless, the Apple's First Aid reported no problems. Interestingly, no other software ever crashes on the laptop like Reaper does.

Even with the suggested google search, I couldn't find any solution for the broken pipe yet. Still looking...
Matthias-S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2019, 03:20 PM   #6
Aymara
Human being with feelings
 
Aymara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany
Posts: 941
Default

Mmh, you mention (my) Fritzbox, but the logs show: SSID 'REAPER IEM WIFI’

Can you explain your WiFi config a bit more?
__________________
Greetings from Germany

Chris
Aymara is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2019, 05:20 AM   #7
Matthias-S
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Default

The name of our Wifi is 'REAPER IEM WIFI’.
Pretty much everything except for wifi is deactivated.
The Reaper laptop connects with wifi as well, but we could easily use a cable.
We use a WPA2 password and fixed IP addresses for the phones and the more_me web browser interface. We had server connection problems without fixed IPs.

Does this help?
Matthias-S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2019, 05:41 AM   #8
Aymara
Human being with feelings
 
Aymara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany
Posts: 941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthias-S View Post
Does this help?
I‘m lost too

But I try to find potential issues ... did you try a fixed IP for the Mac too? Just a thought.
__________________
Greetings from Germany

Chris
Aymara is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 11:52 PM   #9
Matthias-S
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Default

The Mac has a fixed IP, too. Oh and I checked if the router had any system or error logs, but it didn't seem like it.

We noticed that Reaper didn't crash, if I restarted the laptop before rehearsal and only opened Reaper and no other software. However, yesterday, one time it crashed all the same (but not more that once, at least). Again the broken pipe. Here's the log.

11.03.19 18:38:14,670 com.apple.xpc.launchd[1]: (com.cockos.reaper.76512[471]) Service exited due to signal: Broken pipe: 13
11.03.19 18:38:24,487 WindowServer[185]: disable_update_timeout: UI updates were forcibly disabled by application "REAPER" for over 1.00 seconds. Server has re-enabled them.
11.03.19 18:38:26,558 WindowServer[185]: common_reenable_update: UI updates were finally reenabled by application "REAPER" after 3.07 seconds [0.33fps] (server forcibly re-enabled them after 1.00 seconds [1.00fps])
11.03.19 18:38:36,590 com.apple.xpc.launchd[1]: (com.apple.quicklook[508]) Endpoint has been activated through legacy launch(3) APIs. Please switch to XPC or bootstrap_check_in(): com.apple.quicklook
11.03.19 18:38:40,313 Console[509]: Failed to connect (_consoleX) outlet from (NSApplication) to (ConsoleX): missing setter or instance variable
11.03.19 18:38:49,235 locationd[85]: NETWORK: requery, 0, 0, 0, 0, 2, items, fQueryRetries, 0, fLastRetryTimestamp, 574017944.4
11.03.19 18:38:49,293 locationd[85]: NETWORK: no response from server, reachability, 2, queryRetries, 0
11.03.19 18:38:59,141 locationd[85]: NETWORK: requery, 0, 0, 0, 0, 2, items, fQueryRetries, 1, fLastRetryTimestamp, 574018729.2
11.03.19 18:38:59,198 locationd[85]: NETWORK: no response from server, reachability, 2, queryRetries, 1
Matthias-S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 01:35 AM   #10
Aymara
Human being with feelings
 
Aymara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany
Posts: 941
Default

Because there are also network errors in the log and I remember, that I found this broken pipe error also in online gaming during my research, lets further investigate this:

Do you use a 2.4 or 5 GHz WiFi?

I found out for myself, that 2.4 WiFi becomes more and more unusable, because of bandwidth sharing in the neighbourhood.
I had massive performance issues with it lately in general and now exclusively use 5 GHZ without any issues.

Did you already try that?
__________________
Greetings from Germany

Chris
Aymara is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 04:12 AM   #11
cyrano
Human being with feelings
 
cyrano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,574
Default

Looks like some of the cloud communication can't stand fixed ip's.

Have you tried disabling "location services" in System preferences/Security & privacy?

It's always hard to tell which part of the cloud interferes. It's the first time I've heard of Reaper crashing because of this, though. Usually it surfaces through the audio driver and results in crackling sound, or no sound...
__________________
“It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity” Albert Einstein
cyrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 05:09 AM   #12
cyrano
Human being with feelings
 
cyrano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,574
Default

Another trick:

Connect the machine that runs Reaper with ethernet to the router. Disable Wifi.

What probably happens is that locationservicesd is looking for the router's Wifi name. If it can't find that name in Apple's cloud database, it can't resolve your location. So you might also need to switch "Find my Mac" off.

Since you use it live, the real-world location that is registered to the Wifi name, changes. And that makes locationd go haywire apparently. Apple should debug that better, as they don't seem to take roaming routers into account. Which brings me to an idea

EDIT
Also, I suppose the router doesn't connect to the internet when you use it live? In that case, other cloud stuff will go haywire. Like the network time daemon.
__________________
“It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity” Albert Einstein
cyrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 12:36 PM   #13
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,427
Default

A fix for this is coming in the next builds (starting with 5.974+dev0424)
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 11:18 AM   #14
Matthias-S
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Default

I'm super impressed, Reaper hasn't crashed anymore since the update came. Thanks for the great work, tips and help everyone!
Matthias-S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.