Old 03-10-2019, 10:55 AM   #1
Erdan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: France
Posts: 3
Question Get item name in video processor

Hi all !

Do you know if it's possible to get the item name in the video processor ?
I think it could be usefull for video with subtitle or lyrics for exemple ?

I've look at the Mespotine list of functions but don't find anything like that...

Attached Images
File Type: png Capture items.PNG (54.0 KB, 240 views)
Erdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2019, 11:51 AM   #2
Erdan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: France
Posts: 3
Wink answer found

I've just dl the last version of reaper and the feature is in it ! (new text overlay) cool improvement thanks !

Last edited by Erdan; 03-10-2019 at 12:00 PM.
Erdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2019, 02:19 PM   #3
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erdan View Post
I've just dl the last version of reaper and the feature is in it ! (new text overlay) cool improvement thanks !
please explain, I haven't seen anything in the changelogs or discussion about this
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 04:44 AM   #4
Erdan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: France
Posts: 3
Default

In v5.972 the preset text overlay has been modified (code before : text="", now #text=""). If this variable is not filled with a string and remain empty (you keep #text="") it will get the name of the item as text overlay.

A big time saver.
Erdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 07:33 AM   #5
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,197
Default

5.97 changelog line:

+ Video: add processor functions: gfx_getpixel(), input_get_name(), on_parameter_change(), time_precise(), ui_get_state(), fft()
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 12:05 PM   #6
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,475
Default

yep totally missed that, and now I see it's even implemented in the default text overlay.
Any way to do line breaks?

besides item properties and "Xenakios/SWS: Rename takes..." is there a quick way to rename takes?
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 02:52 PM   #7
Eliseat
Human being with feelings
 
Eliseat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Cologne
Posts: 1,163
Default

Oh, this sounds great. And I also totally missed it.

Many thanks
__________________
☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆REAPER//✿◔‿◔)°☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆
Eliseat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2019, 04:39 PM   #8
nellipalooza
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 4
Default Claifying Detail

FYI:
To get the item name to be picked up by input_get_name, make sure to add the FX to the media item... not the track.

Looks like if you add the FX to the track, it will take the track name.

I spent a bit of time on this, so hopefully this helps someone.
nellipalooza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 06:44 AM   #9
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nellipalooza View Post
FYI:
To get the item name to be picked up by input_get_name, make sure to add the FX to the media item... not the track.

Looks like if you add the FX to the track, it will take the track name.

I spent a bit of time on this, so hopefully this helps someone.
Unless the media item is a video file or dedicated video item (insertable via action) or has a video processor on it, in which case you can use input_get_name(input_next_item(-1),#text) to get its text.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2019, 03:32 AM   #10
Eliseat
Human being with feelings
 
Eliseat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Cologne
Posts: 1,163
Default

Hmm ...

I never tested it but always wanted to. And now I see it doesn't work as expected. Didn't use Jon this feature in one of his videos to create some kind of a subtitle show from item names?

If I use a video processor (on track) with text overlay and keep the get name variable untouched, it shows the first item name correctly but doesn't change it if a new item name follows. Wasn't it intended to do so?

I don't know. But I thought so.
__________________
☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆REAPER//✿◔‿◔)°☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆
Eliseat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2019, 12:43 AM   #11
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eliseat View Post
Hmm ...

I never tested it but always wanted to. And now I see it doesn't work as expected. Didn't use Jon this feature in one of his videos to create some kind of a subtitle show from item names?

If I use a video processor (on track) with text overlay and keep the get name variable untouched, it shows the first item name correctly but doesn't change it if a new item name follows. Wasn't it intended to do so?

I don't know. But I thought so.
for that it would be best to put the fx on the items IMO.

Watch out for line breaks in the item names. Might look right in the project but will be unformatted in on export, or reopening the project later.
I put a bit too much trust in that earlier this week.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2019, 02:48 PM   #12
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
Watch out for line breaks in the item names. Might look right in the project but will be unformatted in on export, or reopening the project later.
I put a bit too much trust in that earlier this week.
Hmm, going to fix this actually for track/take/marker names.

Last edited by Justin; 04-12-2019 at 03:02 PM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2019, 11:03 AM   #13
mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 1,313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
5.97 changelog line:

+ Video: add processor functions: gfx_getpixel(), input_get_name(), on_parameter_change(), time_precise(), ui_get_state(), fft()
Oh, good to know, I should update this then...
__________________
Ultraschall-API - a Lua-functions-library4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....98#post2067798
Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=207635
mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.