Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2019, 10:15 AM   #1
thunderbroom
Human being with feelings
 
thunderbroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 370
Default MIDI drum tracks - different bpm - same project - possible???

Last night I was assisting a client in arranging a new song. The verses are around 75bpm; the choruses ramp up to about double (150bpm). I use EZDrummer2 in creating arrangements, which he will later overdub with real drums in the studio.

I am trying to figure out if it's possible to have two separate instances of EZDrummer2 in the same Reaper session, at different BPM? From my attempt last night, whatever midi sample I drag into the reaper track, it confirms to the session's set BPM, regardless of what I adjust in EZD.

Is there a setting in Reaper where I can disable the session BPM to allow this to happen? Or is this impossible? I'd appreciate any ideas for solutions. Thanks in advance for your help!
__________________
Cheers,
thunderbroom
http://www.machineroomstudio.com
thunderbroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 11:46 AM   #2
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thunderbroom View Post
Last night I was assisting a client in arranging a new song. The verses are around 75bpm; the choruses ramp up to about double (150bpm). I use EZDrummer2 in creating arrangements, which he will later overdub with real drums in the studio.

I am trying to figure out if it's possible to have two separate instances of EZDrummer2 in the same Reaper session, at different BPM? From my attempt last night, whatever midi sample I drag into the reaper track, it confirms to the session's set BPM, regardless of what I adjust in EZD.

Is there a setting in Reaper where I can disable the session BPM to allow this to happen? Or is this impossible? I'd appreciate any ideas for solutions. Thanks in advance for your help!
It sounds like the chorus it just doing double time. There are a couple of ways you can do this.

1. Just cut the notes in half and play 1 bar as if it's 2 bars. A 16th would be a 32nd, 8th a 16th, quarter an 8th, etc..

2. Add tempo markers at the chorus in and out measures, 150 BPM on the front and back to 75 BPM going back into the verse.

For me I think #2 would be the easiest to follow, although #1 would probably be the quickest to setup.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 12:01 PM   #3
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,449
Default

not 100% on this but doesn't EZ read the DAW's bpm?
and IF yes, can't you just set tempo markers for the section you want to change? The midi items should adjust to those tempo markers
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 12:12 PM   #4
thunderbroom
Human being with feelings
 
thunderbroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 370
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
not 100% on this but doesn't EZ read the DAW's bpm?
and IF yes, can't you just set tempo markers for the section you want to change? The midi items should adjust to those tempo markers
EZD will read the DAW tempo exclusively. Within EZD, you can disable the "match to DAW tempo" to audition patterns, but it adapts to Reaper's tempo once the midi is imported.

Let me make sure I understand what you're saying. I go ahead and create the two separate drum patterns (each on it's own track); then, set the first part of the song to 75bpm; then, insert tempo markers where the second drum pattern at 150bpm begins, and keep repeating that until the end of the song whenever the tempo changes?

If that's the case, won't the tempo markers affect everything in the session (not just the drums) including any other recorded tracks already int he session? Is it possible for the tempo markers to only affect specific tracks?
__________________
Cheers,
thunderbroom
http://www.machineroomstudio.com
thunderbroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 12:34 PM   #5
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,129
Default

You could just Ctrl + drag the right edge of the midi item to timestretch it to half size/double speed.

It is possible to set audio not to be stretched with tempo but midi timestretch is simplest option.
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 01:51 PM   #6
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thunderbroom View Post
EZD will read the DAW tempo exclusively. Within EZD, you can disable the "match to DAW tempo" to audition patterns, but it adapts to Reaper's tempo once the midi is imported.

Let me make sure I understand what you're saying. I go ahead and create the two separate drum patterns (each on it's own track); then, set the first part of the song to 75bpm; then, insert tempo markers where the second drum pattern at 150bpm begins, and keep repeating that until the end of the song whenever the tempo changes?

If that's the case, won't the tempo markers affect everything in the session (not just the drums) including any other recorded tracks already int he session? Is it possible for the tempo markers to only affect specific tracks?
In that case use my suggestion #1, that should get you what you want without affecting the outher audio.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 04:08 PM   #7
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,485
Default

The more I think about it I think you can do the tempo thing without messing up the current audio.

What audio is there, which instruments?
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 08:31 PM   #8
thunderbroom
Human being with feelings
 
thunderbroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 370
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
The more I think about it I think you can do the tempo thing without messing up the current audio.

What audio is there, which instruments?
The rest are all analog - vocals, acoustic guitar, bass, etc.
__________________
Cheers,
thunderbroom
http://www.machineroomstudio.com
thunderbroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 01:38 AM   #9
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8,175
Default

Tempo map the song.

I've found that having multiple instances of Superior Drummer gives weird results. Better to use X-Drums (don't know if EZDrummer has that) for more kit pieces...

BUT! No need for more than one instance of EZDrummer if you tempo map the song.

Judders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 09:28 AM   #10
thunderbroom
Human being with feelings
 
thunderbroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 370
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Judders View Post
Tempo map the song.

I've found that having multiple instances of Superior Drummer gives weird results. Better to use X-Drums (don't know if EZDrummer has that) for more kit pieces...

BUT! No need for more than one instance of EZDrummer if you tempo map the song.

Cool. I will check this out. Thanks!
__________________
Cheers,
thunderbroom
http://www.machineroomstudio.com
thunderbroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 08:57 PM   #11
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thunderbroom View Post
EZD will read the DAW tempo exclusively. Within EZD, you can disable the "match to DAW tempo" to audition patterns, but it adapts to Reaper's tempo once the midi is imported.

Let me make sure I understand what you're saying. I go ahead and create the two separate drum patterns (each on it's own track); then, set the first part of the song to 75bpm; then, insert tempo markers where the second drum pattern at 150bpm begins, and keep repeating that until the end of the song whenever the tempo changes?

If that's the case, won't the tempo markers affect everything in the session (not just the drums) including any other recorded tracks already int he session? Is it possible for the tempo markers to only affect specific tracks?
yes it would affect other parts... I assumed that was going to be wanted to work with the drums...
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 09:04 PM   #12
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,449
Default

Tod's ideas are good...

...and... maybe you could try this

make your first normal tempo drum part.
make a time selection over it and render it out to a new trak added to the project... let's say it goes from zero to bar 64

now do whatever to set up tempo markers or change the bpm and get want you want for the other tempo drum part... mute everything but that and render it to a another new track in the project.

OK set the bpm back to you normal bpm....
take the first drum wav from zero to bar 64 and from 64 on put the second drum wav...
Mute the EZ drums and carry on
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.