Old 06-21-2019, 12:01 PM   #1
randall7
Human being with feelings
 
randall7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 101
Default How to capture Reaper session as video ?

Any recommendations (Windows 10 x64 PC) for software to use to capture a Reaper playback session if I wanted to create a video of a playback of a Reaper project?
__________________
Registered Reaper 5.974, AMD Ryzen 7 cpu, 32GB RAM, Windows 10 x64, Sibelius 7, Various VST libraries.
randall7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 01:23 PM   #2
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,755
Default

Faststone capture.... really great tool for both video capture and way more

cost ya 19.95

just google for it
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 02:06 PM   #3
Reason
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 699
Default

Win10 has a builtin tool for capturing games, called Game Bar. I've used it once or twice to capture Foobar2000 spectro visualization, worked pretty easy for me.
https://www.pcmag.com/news/349410/ho...-in-windows-10
Reason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 07:35 PM   #4
SonicAxiom
Human being with feelings
 
SonicAxiom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,825
Default

maybe you wanna try this method:

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....56#post2112756

.
__________________
[Check out my free VST plugin collection here.]
SonicAxiom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2019, 04:04 AM   #5
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,797
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reason View Post
Win10 has a builtin tool for capturing games, called Game Bar. I've used it once or twice to capture Foobar2000 spectro visualization, worked pretty easy for me.
https://www.pcmag.com/news/349410/ho...-in-windows-10
Yeah, but audio capturing sucks!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 10:04 AM   #6
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,755
Default

again ... FastStone capture.... many options for how to capture and audio does not suck... LoL....

I use it for many things including online movies...

I also use Wondershare video converter to later change the video format to whatever I want....

together they work just great.
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 11:33 AM   #7
Greg Savage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 445
Default

For windows Camtasia
Mac Camtasia and or Screenflow.

You won't find any better screen recorders/production suites
Greg Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 11:54 AM   #8
androo
Human being with feelings
 
androo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Leuven, BE
Posts: 83
Default

I can't vouch for it personally, but recall hearing good things about this:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Open_Broadcaster_Software
https://obsproject.com/
Maybe appropriate for your needs
androo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 11:59 AM   #9
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Savage View Post
You won't find any better screen recorders/production suites
Bandicam for 1/5 the price for most screen capture duties.
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 12:05 PM   #10
Greg Savage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
Bandicam for 1/5 the price for most screen capture duties.
Cheaper yes... better no.

If all you need to do is record no editing use Quicktime
Greg Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 06:46 PM   #11
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Savage View Post
Cheaper yes... better no.

If all you need to do is record no editing use Quicktime
QT doesn't have the feature set and 1/5 the price evens things up a bit since no one is really asking for a video editor. I have nothing against camtasia but for 200 bucks, it's over the top just to capture a reaper session when I can already edit it Reaper or Davinci for free.
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 07:46 PM   #12
Greg Savage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
QT doesn't have the feature set.
I wouldn't just make this feature up


Last edited by Greg Savage; 06-23-2019 at 07:59 PM.
Greg Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 08:22 PM   #13
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Savage View Post
I wouldn't just make this feature up
There's are reason I said feature set and unrelated to video editing - not worth arguing over really, all are good choices, I'm sure the OP has enough info to decide.
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.

Last edited by karbomusic; 06-23-2019 at 08:27 PM.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 08:42 PM   #14
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8,025
Default

Since Quicktime is already there (tagging along with the OS install)...

But maybe something fancier would be cool. Screenflow is free. Maybe I'll download it. Certainly not paying for a screen capture app!
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 10:03 PM   #15
Greg Savage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by serr View Post
Since Quicktime is already there (tagging along with the OS install)...

But maybe something fancier would be cool. Screenflow is free. Maybe I'll download it. Certainly not paying for a screen capture app!
There was a free version not sure if its supports current os but yea that's an option

Obs is decent as well
Greg Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 11:46 PM   #16
Dex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 247
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by androo View Post
I can't vouch for it personally, but recall hearing good things about this:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Open_Broadcaster_Software
https://obsproject.com/
Maybe appropriate for your needs
Iíve used OBS and it works well. The only problem is it wonít capture Asio on my computer, so I have to switch over to wasapi to record live reaper playback.
Dex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 03:47 AM   #17
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 10,335
Default

Nvidia and AMD drivers both come with capture tools. They will capture the sound from the system audio device. If that is insufficient, use File/Save Live Output to disk as well, and bring them together in a video editor such as Davinci Resolve(free).
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 10:14 AM   #18
toleolu
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Sunshine and palm trees.
Posts: 784
Default

Might be a higher end solution than what you're looking for, but my PowerDirector video editing software has a screen capture function that also captures system sound. You can adjust the size of the capture window so you get just the Reaper window. Works really well, but it costs around 100 USD.
toleolu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 10:21 AM   #19
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by serr View Post
Since Quicktime is already there (tagging along with the OS install)...
When did it start shipping with Windows 10? I have the player on one machine which I think was due to some software installing it but that doesn't do screen capture that I could find. And I sort of hate QT, sorry. For a Reaper session, I assume capturing the audio via some type of loop back is of concern, which is one of the things I meant (but not just that) by feature set.

OBS is cool, I occasionally use it for YT streams but I have not checked to see if it has all the good to have extra features for screen capture such as definable regions, active window, full screen etc. May be there, just haven't checked.
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 10:42 AM   #20
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,132
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
OBS is cool, I occasionally use it for YT streams but I have not checked to see if it has all the good to have extra features for screen capture such as definable regions, active window, full screen etc. May be there, just haven't checked.
Yeah OBS will do most if not all of that. Itís pretty cool, really. There is a plugin for it so that you can use your ASIO device as a source and recorded multichannel files, but of course it wonít share with Reaper.

Iím looking at doing some mix walkthroughs, and my plan is to record the video in OBS while recording the audio in Reaper. I donít want to do Live Output, though, because it sounds to me like the kind of thing Iíd forget and walk away and then my drive would be full when I get back. Also, though, I want the playback from the project separate from the microphone so I can edit and mix and stuff. I found a way to use the gmem send from the monitor FX to a receive on a track in a separate project tab. It takes some tweaky routing to hear the mic without recording it to that mix track, and you obviously donít want that track feeding back to the master, but it works fairly well.
ashcat_lt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 10:46 AM   #21
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashcat_lt View Post
Yeah OBS will do most if not all of that. It’s pretty cool, really. There is a plugin for it so that you can use your ASIO device as a source and recorded multichannel files, but of course it won’t share with Reaper.
I've done live OBS streams to YT where the audio was via reaper live mixing using RMEs loopback functionality. I just sourced OBS' audio from the TotalMix software output aka Reapers Master out. The only downside with that is the live stream is going to likely suck audio wise (depending on bandwidth of the end-user and so on but that's a streaming limitation in general) but the recorded version of the stream was what it should be IIRC.
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 10:55 AM   #22
Bri1
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: England
Posts: 2,432
Default

Quote:
Iíve used OBS and it works well. The only problem is it wonít capture Asio on my computer, so I have to switch over to wasapi to record live reaper playback.
ey-yes obs seems to work well also-and asio can be used with an asio tool > https://github.com/pkviet/obs-asio

it also appears there is a bassasio library that can override certain asio limits apparently.. >? any1 compile that?

to quote "Bassasio plugin: the Bassasio library is able to bypass the ASIO sdk limitations. As a result several ASIO devices can be used at the same time.
Additionally, it is possible to create several ASIO sources from the same device with different channel selections (not duplicates)."

so,wasapi does also work,but then your using desktop audio.. that could be multichannel as well..7.1
rearoute also can be used with obs-check that^ dev's notes**

seems complex to begin,but is quite simplez actually..nothing seems bug free unfortunately..had a few crashes-but have also made decent captures from it..
obs is not really an editor though-scenes and audio sources can be mixed and merged i guess,not tried switching or transitions much.
has some included effects for both audio+images-not too bad.
used to use microsoft expression encoder..again,this was wave only..shrugz-worked fine as well.
basic capturing using obs is fine here,for both wave+asio.
Bri1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 12:01 PM   #23
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 920
Default

ActivePresenter https://atomisystems.com/activepresenter/ is free and will save to mp4,

you can adjust the levels for each each audio source track after recording.

If you use VoiceMeeter Banana (Win) https://www.vb-audio.com/Voicemeeter/banana.htm that's also free you can mix a lot of audio sources.

__________________
ReaTrakStudio Chord Track for Reaper forum
www.reatrak.com

Last edited by MusoBob; 06-24-2019 at 12:14 PM.
MusoBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.