Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2022, 12:43 PM   #1
BartR
Human being with feelings
 
BartR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Belgium
Posts: 982
Default [Semi-Solved] 6.61 exporting video with 4ch audiotrack I get 6ch audiotrack

When I export video with audiotrack 4 channels Reaper creates video with 6 tracks audio channels.

When I export Video with 8 channels audio, it exports video with 6 channels audio

Stereo audio on video, are ok.

__________________
Bart R.
Reaper: always the most up-to-date.
O.S.: Windows 11

Last edited by BartR; 06-22-2022 at 03:18 PM.
BartR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2022, 01:18 PM   #2
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13,541
Default

Windows media supports encoding to AAC (which I assume you are using, although the screenshot crops it out) at 1, 2, and 6 channels only.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/win...nd/aac-encoder
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2022, 01:39 PM   #3
BartR
Human being with feelings
 
BartR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Belgium
Posts: 982
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Windows media supports encoding to AAC (which I assume you are using, although the screenshot crops it out) at 1, 2, and 6 channels only.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/win...nd/aac-encoder
Right AAC so that you suggest do not use windows media but ffmpeg. I will try later since the 4 channels audio are meant for ambisonics format.

Thank you for the hint
__________________
Bart R.
Reaper: always the most up-to-date.
O.S.: Windows 11
BartR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2022, 02:09 PM   #4
BartR
Human being with feelings
 
BartR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Belgium
Posts: 982
Default

Ok so it works. but then: why the channels 4 and 8 are still available from the drop down? isn't better to remove them once MP4 is selected (or better when Windows Media is selected)? just it avoids this kind of stuff :-)
__________________
Bart R.
Reaper: always the most up-to-date.
O.S.: Windows 11
BartR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2022, 02:29 PM   #5
BartR
Human being with feelings
 
BartR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Belgium
Posts: 982
Default

@Schwa now the ambisonics works but it's full of aliasing (audio exported as AAC). Unusable. Looks like something from early 80s :-) no ... it must be dropped. Real garbage.

MOV (audio 24bit) it's ok. It's perfect. Considering that just adding .MP4 the final file is .MP4 ... with that audio is great.

What's missing, for ambisonics, is the injection of the required metadata for YT. I did it with a free tool suggested by YT itself (official doc) :-)
__________________
Bart R.
Reaper: always the most up-to-date.
O.S.: Windows 11

Last edited by BartR; 06-22-2022 at 03:17 PM.
BartR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.