Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for macOS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2018, 05:52 PM   #1
Warrior
Human being with feelings
 
Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 260
Default Crackling Sound During Record Arm, Record and Playback

I'm hearing a little bit of crackle when I have even just one track on a session. I hear it when the track is record armed, recording and during playback.

No plugins, etc... just a guitar (Axe-FX direct via USB).

Source, Reaper and Interface (Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 DSP) set to 48Hz.

Changing "Request Block Size" doesn't change it.

Any ideas?
__________________
Reaper 6.13/64 - Audient iD14 Interface-Mac Mini 2.3Ghz i7, 16GB RAM 256GB SSD (OS,apps) & 1TB HDD (data), OS X 10.14.6 - Macbook Pro 2.2Ghz i7, 4 GB RAM, 256GB SSD (OS,apps) OS X 10.13.6 - Presonus Faderport
Warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2018, 08:20 PM   #2
dug dog
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,286
Default

Have you taken the guitar and the cable out of the equation?
dug dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2018, 06:27 AM   #3
Warrior
Human being with feelings
 
Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dug dog View Post
Have you taken the guitar and the cable out of the equation?
Will test tonight.
__________________
Reaper 6.13/64 - Audient iD14 Interface-Mac Mini 2.3Ghz i7, 16GB RAM 256GB SSD (OS,apps) & 1TB HDD (data), OS X 10.14.6 - Macbook Pro 2.2Ghz i7, 4 GB RAM, 256GB SSD (OS,apps) OS X 10.13.6 - Presonus Faderport
Warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 11:05 AM   #4
Warrior
Human being with feelings
 
Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 260
Default

I have found that I hear the crackling during recording and playback. However, when I rendered the recorded audio and played the MP3, I did not hear any crackling.

I also just changed my DAW interface to an Audient iD14. No difference.

1 track and no plugins.

Very confused.

I did use a different guitar, cables and still there.
__________________
Reaper 6.13/64 - Audient iD14 Interface-Mac Mini 2.3Ghz i7, 16GB RAM 256GB SSD (OS,apps) & 1TB HDD (data), OS X 10.14.6 - Macbook Pro 2.2Ghz i7, 4 GB RAM, 256GB SSD (OS,apps) OS X 10.13.6 - Presonus Faderport
Warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 11:36 AM   #5
dug dog
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warrior View Post
Very confused.
Me too.
What happens if you record at 44.1 kHz instead of 48?
dug dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 12:11 PM   #6
Warrior
Human being with feelings
 
Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dug dog View Post
Me too.
What happens if you record at 44.1 kHz instead of 48?
Iíll try but donít think thatís it. Itís never done this before. Iím Recording my Ace-Fx direct to DAW via USB anddthat require 48 kHz. I did try Recording via analog but also at 48.
__________________
Reaper 6.13/64 - Audient iD14 Interface-Mac Mini 2.3Ghz i7, 16GB RAM 256GB SSD (OS,apps) & 1TB HDD (data), OS X 10.14.6 - Macbook Pro 2.2Ghz i7, 4 GB RAM, 256GB SSD (OS,apps) OS X 10.13.6 - Presonus Faderport
Warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 12:49 PM   #7
dug dog
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,286
Default

I was just grasping at straws, really. Hopefully someone else has some ideas.
dug dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 03:00 PM   #8
Warrior
Human being with feelings
 
Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 260
Default

I found the solution...

I was using Aggregate device on my mac to be able to use both my Audient iD14 and AXE for outputs. In macs utility Audio Midi setup there was a checkbox 'drift correction'. I unchecked it and now the noises are gone.
__________________
Reaper 6.13/64 - Audient iD14 Interface-Mac Mini 2.3Ghz i7, 16GB RAM 256GB SSD (OS,apps) & 1TB HDD (data), OS X 10.14.6 - Macbook Pro 2.2Ghz i7, 4 GB RAM, 256GB SSD (OS,apps) OS X 10.13.6 - Presonus Faderport
Warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 03:07 PM   #9
dug dog
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,286
Default

Great. BTW, I thought I felt you breathe a sigh of relief. LOL.
dug dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 04:28 PM   #10
Warrior
Human being with feelings
 
Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dug dog View Post
Great. BTW, I thought I felt you breathe a sigh of relief. LOL.
LOL!! You are correct! Iíve been stressing over this for a week!

Itís little things like this that can drive you crazy! It took care of the issue but I still have no clue why it worked.
__________________
Reaper 6.13/64 - Audient iD14 Interface-Mac Mini 2.3Ghz i7, 16GB RAM 256GB SSD (OS,apps) & 1TB HDD (data), OS X 10.14.6 - Macbook Pro 2.2Ghz i7, 4 GB RAM, 256GB SSD (OS,apps) OS X 10.13.6 - Presonus Faderport
Warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2020, 05:14 PM   #11
kid bliss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: beirut
Posts: 132
Default

i seem to be having this issue on windows 10, rme fireface ufxll.

recordings my synth in reaper are distorted.

got the synth connected, all sounds clean, as soon as i press arm record on, it sounds distorted.
same for 'record monitoring auto'.


in 'record monitoring off' it sounds normal, i can record it sounding normal but when playing it back it sounds distorted again.

never had this before and can't seem to solve the issue, been 10 days now yikes..
kid bliss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2020, 02:25 AM   #12
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kid bliss View Post
i seem to be having this issue on windows 10, rme fireface ufxll.

recordings my synth in reaper are distorted.

got the synth connected, all sounds clean, as soon as i press arm record on, it sounds distorted.
same for 'record monitoring auto'.


in 'record monitoring off' it sounds normal, i can record it sounding normal but when playing it back it sounds distorted again.

never had this before and can't seem to solve the issue, been 10 days now yikes..
I posted a reply in your other thread about this: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=242527
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2020, 01:21 PM   #13
kid bliss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: beirut
Posts: 132
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
I posted a reply in your other thread about this: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=242527
Maestro! thumbs up & thanks
kid bliss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.