Old 01-15-2011, 05:17 PM   #1
JonnyGinese
Human being with feelings
 
JonnyGinese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,373
Default ReaComp input gain please.

Is it possible to add an input gain to ReaComp please.

It would he'll out with side chaining and also keepin the dynamics more consistant while keeping the mix fadet at Unity.
JonnyGinese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 11:58 AM   #2
klangmaler
Human being with feelings
 
klangmaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: East Germany near Russia
Posts: 112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonnyGinese View Post
Is it possible to add an input gain to ReaComp please.

It would he'll out with side chaining and also keepin the dynamics more consistant while keeping the mix fadet at Unity.
JS. Utility/Volume bevor?
__________________
Weniger ist einfach nur weniger
klangmaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 01:07 PM   #3
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,836
Default

There are a great many ways to manipulate the volume of material before it hits the compressor.

Why would an input gain be more advantageous than the pre-fx-volume, the two item gains(graphic handle and item properties slider), item-take-volume envelope and a volume JS plugin ?
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview - Faderport16CSI
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 04:47 PM   #4
JonnyGinese
Human being with feelings
 
JonnyGinese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,373
Default

Well the input gain would give you the ability to better control the signal coming in before it hits the compressor.

Item volume is great to lower the volume. But to raise.. you have to normalize then turn down the items.

And using another plugin just for this purpose seems silly.

The overall benefit would be better control over your signal before and after.

I know its not a need... but I feel it should be added.
JonnyGinese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 04:51 PM   #5
PitchSlap
Human being with feelings
 
PitchSlap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 3,279
Default

Sidechaining is really a chore because of this.

There is a tiny tiny window where the threshold is usable and I'm having to max out my sends to +24 just to reach it. Then my channels automute, even though the overloading channels are just for the aux input of ReaComp. Arg!
__________________
FRs: v5 Media Explorer Requests, Global Quantization, Session View
Win10 Pro 64-bit, Reaper 6(x64), AMD 3950x, Aorus X570 Master, 64GB DDR4 3600, PowerColor Red Devil 5700XT, EVO 970 2TB, 10TB HD, Define R6
PitchSlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 12:04 AM   #6
Broman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 403
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
There are a great many ways to manipulate the volume of material before it hits the compressor.

Why would an input gain be more advantageous than the pre-fx-volume, the two item gains(graphic handle and item properties slider), item-take-volume envelope and a volume JS plugin ?
Because it would be integrated into the processor that needs to control it? This is about ease of use and workflow.

Pre-fx volume... what if you have a different effect before the compressor?
Item gains... same issue.
Item take volume and envelope... same issue.
JS plugin... workable but a flow killer.
Broman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 01:29 AM   #7
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PitchSlap View Post
There is a tiny tiny window where the threshold is usable and I'm having to max out my sends to +24 just to reach it.
Reduce the RMS window size.
IXix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 03:21 AM   #8
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,836
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broman View Post
Because it would be integrated into the processor that needs to control it? This is about ease of use and workflow.

Pre-fx volume... what if you have a different effect before the compressor?
Actually that's the one very good reason I can think of why an input gain makes sense.

My problem with this is very simple. If you're automating parts of the track, would you rather automate the compressor for every item using the input gain control , or just use the item gain/envelope to adjust the material, which is far easier and can be done for any number of chosen items at the same time without using any non-existent automation features of Reaper ?

I guess it won't hurt to have an input knob, which would be the least intrusive thing to do in the GUI of ReaComp.

And let's not forget that the threshold can be set all over the place. If anything, the upper output gain range needs to be extended. If you need the choice of either using an input gain knob/slider or to extend the output gain range, you have my vote in any case.

I just hope it won't brake anything existing, or perhaps Cockos will need to add a new compressor plugin, so they might as well pop in some more nifty stuff than just an input gain control. Some way to control the relationship between ratio and gain reduction perhaps to get some electro and opto kind of control. And how about setting up a relationship between the RMS size and gain reduction, as well as release and so on. And while some may state that this is somewhat possible with parameter modulation, I must counter that you could buy your own 747 build kit, but everyone just buys a seat on a premade airline-owned one because nobody can be faffed to go to that much trouble.


Quote:
Item gains... same issue.
Item take volume and envelope... same issue.
JS plugin... workable but a flow killer.
+1 on the choice, as long is doesn't disrupt previous use of the ReaComp. If they can swing that, I'll vote for it.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview - Faderport16CSI
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 05:05 AM   #9
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 13,119
Default

Id be up for it too but wanted to say if you hold shift you can gain upwards when grabbing an items gain control even when at zero

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonnyGinese View Post
Well the input gain would give you the ability to better control the signal coming in before it hits the compressor.

Item volume is great to lower the volume. But to raise.. you have to normalize then turn down the items.

And using another plugin just for this purpose seems silly.

The overall benefit would be better control over your signal before and after.

I know its not a need... but I feel it should be added.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 07:16 AM   #10
JonnyGinese
Human being with feelings
 
JonnyGinese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,373
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
Id be up for it too but wanted to say if you hold shift you can gain upwards when grabbing an items gain control even when at zero
Cool. Ill try that out. But I still think it would be great if I was in the plugin... and I could just grab the knob and turn it up/down a few notches..
JonnyGinese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 09:41 AM   #11
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,836
Default

You forgot to mention one practical effect of an input gain. Instead of using the threshold and the output gain, you're just using one control.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview - Faderport16CSI
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2020, 07:06 AM   #12
Wissti
Human being with feelings
 
Wissti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 26
Default YES!

Yes we need an input gain, and we should be able to link it Straight or Reverse with the output gain.
Wissti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2020, 09:47 AM   #13
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,302
Default

This should be a feature request because it has nothing to do with an upcoming pre-release. It's also 10 years old, so kind of tells you how likely it is to happen.


Do you want this to control gain of the input or the detector or both? Does it need two controls? Either way they're redundant to the controls we already have, but...
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2020, 03:07 AM   #14
Fahrenheit Beats
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 6
Default

+1 on that
Fahrenheit Beats is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.