Old 06-09-2021, 12:50 PM   #1
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7,721
Default v6.29+dev0609 - June 9 2021

v6.29+dev0609 - June 9 2021
  • * Includes feature branch: render normalization
  • * Includes feature branch: MIDI editor note reordering
  • * Includes feature branch: media item lanes
  • * Includes feature branch: EEL2 x86_64/SSE
  • * Includes feature branch: VST3 bridging
  • + Master track: don't show master mixer metering options when right-clicking TCP master
  • + Preferences: add media item lanes preferences page
  • + Preferences: add preferences for media item vertical overlap and opacity
  • # Master track: support LUFS-S metering in mixer
  • # ReaScript: automatically close render window when calling RENDER_STATS with a render action
  • # Render: fix multichannel peaks/overs drawing
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2021, 02:12 PM   #2
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 1,391
Default

Thanks for all media lane preferences, they will definitely come in handy.
Another welcome addition would be if we could change the height of item lane-add area, or if we had an option so that the height of add area would change relative to the height of media lanes. So the height of add area would be the same as the height of media lanes.
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2021, 03:13 PM   #3
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 2,423
Default

How do I get my crossfades back? All I get is one side.

If enable Free Item Positioning then I can see them, but I don't want that enabled. Must be something else I need to change to get release version behavior back? I haven't been trying the Pres lately but crossfades were working without having to change anything in 0608.

Win10 x64

Last edited by Edgemeal; 06-09-2021 at 03:19 PM.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2021, 03:28 PM   #4
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 11,700
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
How do I get my crossfades back? All I get is one side.
Ah sorry, that's an oversight. Fixed for the next build, but to see the crossfades in this build you can uncheck Preferences > Appearance > Media item lanes > Draw as opaque.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2021, 04:07 PM   #5
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 2,423
Default

OK no prob.

Maybe another,.. in Preferences > Project > Track defaults >
changing state of check boxes "Free item pos." and Fixed item lanes", do not enable the Apply button.
Win10 x64
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2021, 05:00 PM   #6
bucca
Human being with feelings
 
bucca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 265
Default

i abuse this thread, i know, so sry for that.
it's just cuz to ask.
ongoing, we have all those, mostly, amazing dev steps, e.g. razor edits.
so for now, after the next release is out, can further developments be stoped for a while and the focus got set on 'fixes' and requests? what i've seen so far there are quite a few, even pending, to make a good start, imo. appreciate any kind of reply. thx.
__________________
who's gonna water my plants ... if not you
bucca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 02:14 AM   #7
music_th
Human being with feelings
 
music_th's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Cirencester, UK
Posts: 48
Default

I agree with bucca. With maximum respect to the very hard working developers, personally I would like to see more bug fixes and feature requests than new features.
__________________
Reaper 6 full time.
Logic and Cubase are now distant memories.
music_th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 02:25 AM   #8
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,419
Default

There's fixes happening just as well.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 02:32 AM   #9
music_th
Human being with feelings
 
music_th's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Cirencester, UK
Posts: 48
Default

Very true, ED.

But an update or two that solely focussed on bug fixes and feature requests would, surely, be a good thing? It’s likely that more bugs would be fixed that way.

Anyway, I do not mean to offend anyone or tell the developers what to do! Just my thoughts on what to focus on next.
__________________
Reaper 6 full time.
Logic and Cubase are now distant memories.
music_th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 03:19 AM   #10
Stroudy
Human being with feelings
 
Stroudy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: London
Posts: 529
Default

Really love the integration with the old-but-new-style overlapping media in non-fixed lanes.

Whilst you're on fixed media lanes... can we get "Item lanes: Move item DOWN one lane (when showing multiple item lanes)" to create a lane if one doesn't exist?

This function is both useful AND makes it consistent with "Item edit: Move items/envelope points down one track/a bit" where it will create a track if the item is moved below the last track in the arrange.

Bonus points if "Item lanes: Move item UP one lane (when showing multiple item lanes)" inserts a lane above the current lanes, shifting all other media items down one lane.

Thanks for the update devs
Stroudy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 03:29 AM   #11
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1,302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by music_th View Post
I agree with bucca. With maximum respect to the very hard working developers, personally I would like to see more bug fixes and feature requests than new features.
Well the devs are currently working a lot on normalize on render which has been a feature request since (at least) 2011. And while working on that they fixed a few issues in the render window/display. Also the afore mentioned razor edit has been requested a lot.

So I wouldn't say they don't implement requests and fix bugs.. I understand it can be a bit of a letdown when things are worked on that you personally have no use for (or even know what they are), I think we all have been at that point. But just be patient and eventually something will be implemented or fixed that you care about.
Phazma is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 03:40 AM   #12
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1,302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
# Master track: support LUFS-S metering in mixer
Thanks, such extra options are always very welcome! A bit surprised though that LUFS-I has been left out despite it having been requested multiple times in that last +dev thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
[*]# Render: fix multichannel peaks/overs drawing
Thanks, this works very nicely now!

Also thanks for the extra 1 pixel of space between stereo/multichannel renders. Now I really hope we can have that same 1 pixel of space between channels on stereo/multichannel MEDIA ITEMS in the arrange view aswell
Phazma is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 03:48 AM   #13
music_th
Human being with feelings
 
music_th's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Cirencester, UK
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phazma View Post
Well the devs are currently working a lot on normalize on render which has been a feature request since (at least) 2011. And while working on that they fixed a few issues in the render window/display. Also the afore mentioned razor edit has been requested a lot.
Ok, fair enough. I didn't know that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phazma View Post
So I wouldn't say they don't implement requests and fix bugs.. I understand it can be a bit of a letdown when things are worked on that you personally have no use for (or even know what they are), I think we all have been at that point. But just be patient and eventually something will be implemented or fixed that you care about.
Agreed. I also wasn't saying that the developers don't implement requests and fix bugs. I know they do. And the speed and regularity of updates is one of the many reasons I have completely moved to Reaper.
__________________
Reaper 6 full time.
Logic and Cubase are now distant memories.
music_th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 03:56 AM   #14
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 9,951
Default

Lufs-I is all I use
__________________
---> Checkout my latest Reaper album ! <---
www.chucktownband.com Click Youtube Music to play the entire album.
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 05:40 AM   #15
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,045
Default

This new option (offset overlapping) is a great idea, but there is a little issue.

We can't read very well the item title when we are at 100%. It would be great to go beyond 100% to be able to read the item title.

Or it would be nice if 100% is exactly like the old item overlapping display (it's maybe better).



Thx you!

Last edited by ovnis; 06-10-2021 at 06:06 AM.
ovnis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 06:21 AM   #16
grayter1
Human being with feelings
 
grayter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 477
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
Lufs-I is all I use
I'm slowly migrating my Post work to Reaper from Pro Tools. LUFS-I is all I use as well, and if added, I wouldn't have to have iZotope's Insight up all the time.

tg
__________________
Win 10 Pro | i7-6700K 4.00GHz | GA-Z170X-UD5 | 32 GB | nVIDIA GTX 1050ti | Audient iD22 & ASP800 | NI Komplete S49 | Reaper 6 | Pro Tools 2019.12 | Studio One 4.6.1 | Komplete 10 | Omnisphere 2
grayter1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 09:14 AM   #17
matt_t
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 152
Default

I'm with the bugfix requesters. The thing with new features is that they inevitably bring a whole host of new bugs, fixing of which tends to take priority over old ones. That's how I see it anyway.

Anyhow, while render stuff is being worked on, please could we have a "cancel all" button, as per https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=234691 Merci beaucoups!
matt_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 10:16 AM   #18
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
ferropop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Winnipeg, CANADA
Posts: 1,201
Default

Regarding Fixed Lanes will Razor Edits eventually be able to operate on the individual lanes vs the entire track as it is now?
ferropop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 10:52 AM   #19
maxdembo
Human being with feelings
 
maxdembo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: All Hallows End
Posts: 1,181
Default

LUFS stuff is very welcome.
maxdembo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 11:37 AM   #20
Arthur
Human being with feelings
 
Arthur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 71
Default

Please explain the difference between show gridlines Over Items and Through items.
In version 6.29 and 629+dev0609 they work differently.
Arthur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 11:46 AM   #21
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7,721
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ferropop View Post
Regarding Fixed Lanes will Razor Edits eventually be able to operate on the individual lanes vs the entire track as it is now?
Yeah, it's not obvious why it isn't working already.
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 11:56 AM   #22
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: [REDACTED]
Posts: 3,013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arthur View Post
Please explain the difference between show gridlines Over Items and Through items.
In version 6.29 and 629+dev0609 they work differently.
yeah i thought i noticed that, too. items appear over grid here, and they used to appear under grid
__________________
** the bugs that bite the hardest - one crustacean's compilation.
my repo - [action-based razor edit control]
automation "return speed" preference should be the exception, not the rule
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 01:30 PM   #23
MrTsonts
Human being with feelings
 
MrTsonts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ukraine, Kyiv
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Yeah, it's not obvious why it isn't working already.
Razor does not work on item lanes yet, because it is vertically oriented on tracks.
MrTsonts is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 03:24 PM   #24
Dafarkias
Human being with feelings
 
Dafarkias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Southern Vermont
Posts: 843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
[*]# ReaScript: automatically close render window when calling RENDER_STATS with a render action
This is really great, thank you!
__________________

Support my feature request!
Dafarkias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 03:28 AM   #25
Stroudy
Human being with feelings
 
Stroudy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: London
Posts: 529
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ferropop View Post
Regarding Fixed Lanes will Razor Edits eventually be able to operate on the individual lanes vs the entire track as it is now?
This sounds very useful
Stroudy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 08:08 AM   #26
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
amagalma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,911
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
v6.29+dev0609 - June 9 2021
  • # ReaScript: automatically close render window when calling RENDER_STATS with a render action
Thanks for this and for the additional dry run actions!
__________________
Most of my scripts can be found in ReaPack.
If you find them useful, a donation would be greatly appreciated! Thank you! :)
amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 08:23 AM   #27
MrTsonts
Human being with feelings
 
MrTsonts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ukraine, Kyiv
Posts: 55
Default

And what if using actions (via dry render) would create .reapeacks files that could be seen on items, tracks, master-track with the ability to on/off?
MrTsonts is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 08:39 AM   #28
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1,302
Default

@MrTsonts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrTsonts View Post
And what if using actions (via dry render) would create .reapeacks files that could be seen on items, tracks, master-track with the ability to on/off?
Why? What would you do with these files?

@devs
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phazma View Post
Now I really hope we can have that same 1 pixel of space between channels on stereo/multichannel MEDIA ITEMS in the arrange view aswell
Forgot to mention, same would be nice for Media Explorer too (or generally any place where peaks are displayed, but most importantly Media Items).
Phazma is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 08:59 AM   #29
MrTsonts
Human being with feelings
 
MrTsonts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ukraine, Kyiv
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phazma View Post
@MrTsonts

Why? What would you do with these files?
See how the wave changed after applying FX.

I'm not insisting. It's just that I've seen questions like this a lot. If this is interesting to a large number of users, then why not?
MrTsonts is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 09:50 AM   #30
alexgameaudio
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grayter1 View Post
I'm slowly migrating my Post work to Reaper from Pro Tools. LUFS-I is all I use as well, and if added, I wouldn't have to have iZotope's Insight up all the time.

tg
+1 from me. Post work, migrated from Pro Tools. Insight takes up screen real estate (and CPU) - and all I do is watch the LUFS-i number.
alexgameaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 11:30 AM   #31
pentecost
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrTsonts View Post
And what if using actions (via dry render) would create .reapeacks files that could be seen on items, tracks, master-track with the ability to on/off?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phazma View Post
@MrTsonts
Why? What would you do with these files?
observe overages in a setting where they're directly associated with both the project timeline and the track(s) of note, and act upon that information accordingly.
pentecost is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.