Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2019, 11:49 AM   #641
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,722
Default

I don't remember seeing that either.

How about we take the discussion to a new or another thread, as this one is supposed to be about reaper bugs, and this is very probably a linvst and not a reaper bug.
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040,etc. :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 09:38 PM   #642
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 507
Default

The Zombies.

As far as I can work out, the zombies should get collected and disposed of automagically, that's what seems to happen with the systems I've used, so after some time the zombies should disappear.

"When the process that created the zombies ends, init inherits the zombie processes and becomes their new parent. (init is the first process started on Linux at boot and is assigned PID 1.) init periodically executes the wait() system call to clean up its zombie children, so init will make short work of the zombies."

I did have signal(SIGCHLD, SIG_IGN); in the code which signaled to ignore the zombies but there seems to be a possible bug with it and the newer kernels and so LinVst would not run with it and the newer kernels and so I needed to take it out, and that was around 6 months ago.

The signal(SIGCHLD, SIG_IGN); can be uncommented by removing the // at the start of the line in remotevstclient.cpp, but I had trouble with it on Manjaro but maybe it's ok now.

Or, if someone is really concerned with the zombies then they can uncomment (remove the /* and */ lines) in remotevstclient.cpp but that will increase the plugin exit time a bit which can add up for multiple plugins.

RemoteVSTClient::~RemoteVSTClient()
{
/*
for (int i=0;i<5000;i++)
{
if (waitpid(-1, NULL, WNOHANG))
break;
usleep(100);
}
*/
}

Last edited by osxmidi; 01-01-2019 at 11:25 PM.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2019, 01:22 AM   #643
monty
Human being with feelings
 
monty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 146
Default

@osxmidi
Thank you for the explanation and the quick fix!

@Jack Winter
can you please move this post into another thread or into the linux main thread?
__________________
KDE Neon (lowlatency) AMD FX-8350, 16GB, GT 630 (nvidia-415), Multiscreen (2x 22", 1x 15"), Reaper (latest) Theme: iLogic Next, Interface: Tascam US-16x08, ControlSurface: Tascam US-2400, Monitors: JBL 4412A, Tascam VL-S3 & Alesis Elevate 3 mkII
monty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2019, 02:18 AM   #644
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,722
Default

I haven't looked at the LinVst code for ages and don't remember hardly anything about it. Here is another quick fix that appears to take care of it. Caveat I don't really understand the code, and don't know why vfork() is being used, neither what the loop and usleep() are good for. All in all it seems a little bit hacky to do it this way (my patch below), and it probably does need some more work with proper error checking, etc, or even another solution using a signal handler.

Still in a quick 5 minute testing on my laptop it seems to get rid of the zombie processes both when scanning and removing plugins. No guarantees, YMMV and all that

Change the destructor in remotevstclient.cpp to:

Code:
RemoteVSTClient::~RemoteVSTClient()
{
    wait(NULL);
}
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040,etc. :)

Last edited by Jack Winter; 01-02-2019 at 04:10 AM.
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2019, 05:17 AM   #645
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 507
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Winter View Post
I haven't looked at the LinVst code for ages and don't remember hardly anything about it. Here is another quick fix that appears to take care of it. Caveat I don't really understand the code, and don't know why vfork() is being used, neither what the loop and usleep() are good for. All in all it seems a little bit hacky to do it this way (my patch below), and it probably does need some more work with proper error checking, etc, or even another solution using a signal handler.

Still in a quick 5 minute testing on my laptop it seems to get rid of the zombie processes both when scanning and removing plugins. No guarantees, YMMV and all that

Change the destructor in remotevstclient.cpp to:

Code:
RemoteVSTClient::~RemoteVSTClient()
{
    wait(NULL);
}
I don't know how I ended up with that code, I've changed LinVst 2.4.1 to wait(NULL); and changed vfork to fork as you suggested, so the zombies should be ok.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2019, 07:50 AM   #646
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,722
Default

Ah cool. Hopefully it works for everyone, as I haven't really tested more than scanning my plugins twice and adding/removing a few plugs.

Regarding vfork() vs fork(), all I know about vfork() is that the man pages seem to indicate that it really shouldn't be used anymore, and I didn't test changing it to a fork() as I wasn't sure if it was there for a specific reason.

Time to build a new linvst Wish I could get waves central working though, as this is driving me crazy...
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040,etc. :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2019, 08:12 AM   #647
monty
Human being with feelings
 
monty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 146
Default

hmm. I have used the debian bin version but after re-scanning many VST does no longer work and I see messages popup w/ wrong version of linvst server or server not found ... not for all vst. I will try to compile the source and replace the debian bin files.
__________________
KDE Neon (lowlatency) AMD FX-8350, 16GB, GT 630 (nvidia-415), Multiscreen (2x 22", 1x 15"), Reaper (latest) Theme: iLogic Next, Interface: Tascam US-16x08, ControlSurface: Tascam US-2400, Monitors: JBL 4412A, Tascam VL-S3 & Alesis Elevate 3 mkII
monty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2019, 11:32 AM   #648
monty
Human being with feelings
 
monty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 146
Default

looks good so far ... no more zombies ;-)
I had to scan a few times and removed double files with different names from /usr/bin but now it works ;-)
thank you guys!
__________________
KDE Neon (lowlatency) AMD FX-8350, 16GB, GT 630 (nvidia-415), Multiscreen (2x 22", 1x 15"), Reaper (latest) Theme: iLogic Next, Interface: Tascam US-16x08, ControlSurface: Tascam US-2400, Monitors: JBL 4412A, Tascam VL-S3 & Alesis Elevate 3 mkII
monty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2019, 07:05 AM   #649
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 507
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by monty View Post
hmm. I have used the debian bin version but after re-scanning many VST does no longer work and I see messages popup w/ wrong version of linvst server or server not found ... not for all vst. I will try to compile the source and replace the debian bin files.
Unfortunately, things like that can happen when the older version .so files are not totally deleted or overwritten with the new linvst.so.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2019, 07:13 AM   #650
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 507
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Winter View Post
Ah cool. Hopefully it works for everyone, as I haven't really tested more than scanning my plugins twice and adding/removing a few plugs.

Regarding vfork() vs fork(), all I know about vfork() is that the man pages seem to indicate that it really shouldn't be used anymore, and I didn't test changing it to a fork() as I wasn't sure if it was there for a specific reason.

Time to build a new linvst Wish I could get waves central working though, as this is driving me crazy...
I've just tested Waves Central with Wine Staging 4.x on a MX Linux Debian based system (and the WineHQ Debiam Wine binaries) and it's all ok.

Other distros and their Wine binaries I don't know whether they work,

I also tested the Waves VST3 API-560 and Abbey Road Plates plugins with the DDMF Metaplugin VST3 to VST2 wrapper and Wine Staging 4.x and Debian Stretch/Sid and it all seems pretty good.

(The renamed) linvst.so loads the DDMF Metaplugin VST2 and the DDMF Metaplugin is sort of like Carla and can load VST3's and make them available to the DAW, very interesting and it works pretty well.

So if Waves (or other plugins) go just VST3 then it's still possible to run VST's using the DDMF Metaplugin VST3 to VST2 wrapper.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2019, 07:25 AM   #651
monty
Human being with feelings
 
monty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 146
Default

great work osxmidi!
& thanks for the quick extra build
__________________
KDE Neon (lowlatency) AMD FX-8350, 16GB, GT 630 (nvidia-415), Multiscreen (2x 22", 1x 15"), Reaper (latest) Theme: iLogic Next, Interface: Tascam US-16x08, ControlSurface: Tascam US-2400, Monitors: JBL 4412A, Tascam VL-S3 & Alesis Elevate 3 mkII
monty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 03:13 AM   #652
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,722
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by osxmidi View Post
I've just tested Waves Central with Wine Staging 4.x on a MX Linux Debian based system (and the WineHQ Debiam Wine binaries) and it's all ok.
Grr, then I suppose I've been wasting my time creating prefixes and playing with overrides Suppose it must either be a problem with wine, runtime libs or the GPU on my systems.

Would you mind terribly posting the terminal output when you start Waves Central so that I can compare it to the output on my system? Maybe it can give me a starting point in trying to solve this problem. No need for the output when installing as that seems to work fine.
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040,etc. :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 05:00 AM   #653
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 507
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Winter View Post
Grr, then I suppose I've been wasting my time creating prefixes and playing with overrides Suppose it must either be a problem with wine, runtime libs or the GPU on my systems.

Would you mind terribly posting the terminal output when you start Waves Central so that I can compare it to the output on my system? Maybe it can give me a starting point in trying to solve this problem. No need for the output when installing as that seems to work fine.
1.txt is Waves Central starting up.

I'll include what Waves Central does when it installs the chosen plugins for anyone that's interested.

2.txt is Waves Central doing the plugin install.

I added the reg entries and the 32 bit robocopy mfc42 and mfc42u overrides and then installed robocopy while a usb drive was inserted.

Then I installed Waves Central.

I added a 64 bit mfc140.dll override because some Waves plugins seem to need it.

Waves Central seems to use a windows version of curl (curl.exe) and robocopy.exe.
Attached Files
File Type: txt 1.txt (13.9 KB, 26 views)
File Type: txt 2.txt (39.9 KB, 29 views)

Last edited by osxmidi; 01-04-2019 at 05:17 AM.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 07:55 AM   #654
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,722
Default

@osxmidi: Thanks a lot! Just a question, what kind of GPU (graphics driver) are you using on this machine?
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040,etc. :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 07:18 PM   #655
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 370
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Winter View Post
No need for the output when installing as that seems to work fine.
Does lack of an error message from an install
operation guarantee a completely complete install? I'm not
so trustful of the big-n-bad installer guys.
Maybe run dmesg | tail after a seemingly successful install?

Hopefully you'll be humming 'another one bites the dust'
pretty soon!
Cheers
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 08:44 PM   #656
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 507
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Winter View Post
@osxmidi: Thanks a lot! Just a question, what kind of GPU (graphics driver) are you using on this machine?
The system I used was an i7 with a Radeon HD 6670/7670.

I have had Waves Central running on an old Dell Inspiron Core Duo with the standard Intel graphics and that was running Debian and Ubuntu.

Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2012 is needed I think but it's usually installed by default but if something went wrong then maybe winetricks vcrun2012.

WINEDEBUG might show something, the log files can be huge.

Last edited by osxmidi; 01-05-2019 at 12:42 AM.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 04:41 AM   #657
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,722
Default

Waves central does install in a kde neon virtual machine. Even without any registry changes or any other additional software, it installs and displays its gui, which it fails to do on my normal archlinux machines..

Much as this sucks, at least it's encouraging to see it displaying the gui. Now to find out why it breaks on archlinux, which sounds like a drag...
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040,etc. :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 01:45 PM   #658
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 370
Default

I've noticed various QT libs (supplied by the app itself)
in some seemingly odd locations
while looking at installs that failed. Izotope, AIR, ilok etc
I'd think Neon would have newer linux libs than some distros.
If some plugin uses QT, can/does wine ever take the plugin's search
for a lib to the linux folders outside of .wine?

Maybe it's a matter of discovering
all the places waves looks for system support files, or if it provides
it's own, and then making sure wine gets them placed where waves will
find them. A/B comparisons of each distros paths/folders/content
might reveal things. Tediously won victories...still go
in the win column.
Cheers

Last edited by 4duhwinnn; 01-05-2019 at 04:19 PM. Reason: clearity uf thawt
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 03:53 AM   #659
monty
Human being with feelings
 
monty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4duhwinnn View Post
I've noticed various QT libs (supplied by the app itself)
in some seemingly odd locations
while looking at installs that failed. Izotope, AIR, ilok etc
I'd think Neon would have newer linux libs than some distros.
If some plugin uses QT, can/does wine ever take the plugin's search
for a lib to the linux folders outside of .wine?

Maybe it's a matter of discovering
all the places waves looks for system support files, or if it provides
it's own, and then making sure wine gets them placed where waves will
find them. A/B comparisons of each distros paths/folders/content
might reveal things. Tediously won victories...still go
in the win column.
Cheers
hmm, arch & manjaro is already equipped w/ QT 5.12 while Neon is still using QT 5.11 ... possibly a problem with the wine version or wine GTK3 theming settings > winecfg > staging
__________________
KDE Neon (lowlatency) AMD FX-8350, 16GB, GT 630 (nvidia-415), Multiscreen (2x 22", 1x 15"), Reaper (latest) Theme: iLogic Next, Interface: Tascam US-16x08, ControlSurface: Tascam US-2400, Monitors: JBL 4412A, Tascam VL-S3 & Alesis Elevate 3 mkII
monty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 11:42 PM   #660
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 507
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Winter View Post
Waves central does install in a kde neon virtual machine. Even without any registry changes or any other additional software, it installs and displays its gui, which it fails to do on my normal archlinux machines..

Much as this sucks, at least it's encouraging to see it displaying the gui. Now to find out why it breaks on archlinux, which sounds like a drag...
What about the window manager and wine.

Some arch users seem to have wine windows not appearing sometimes for some reason, maybe it's their window manger and their wine, I have no idea.

Have you tried running Waves Central with the window manager controls unchecked in winecfg?
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 10:27 AM   #661
Sangeppato
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 15
Default

Hey @osxmidi, first of all thank you so much for your amazing job!

As the LinVst developer, in your experience is there a significant performance hit running VSTs through wine and livst compared to native plugins? If so, how big?
Is it advisable to use them as daily driver for recording or overall it's just better to stick to windows, from a performance only point of view? I'm mainly interested in small amp sims from Lepou and Ignite, nothing crazy, but sometimes I ask myself if I'm missing out..
Sangeppato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 08:04 PM   #662
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 370
Default

In my experience, not likely to be any problems or huge
performance differences, those plugins have worked fine in wine for a long time,
and should also with linvst. The link below is to Scorchcrafter,
a multi-stage linux native ampsim, for some precise gainstaging,
that's been ported by osxmidi.

https://github.com/osxmidi/ScorchCrafter/releases

described as

"9 Amp Channels with various tube stage configurations.

Channels 1, 2, 3
Uses 2 simulated tube overdrive passes
Clean and low gain / crunch

Channels 4, 5, 6
Uses 3 simulated tube overdrive passes
Mid-range gain, moderate overdrive

Channels 7, 8, 9
Uses 4 simulated tube overdrive passes
High-gain overdrive"
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 12:06 AM   #663
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 507
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sangeppato View Post
Hey @osxmidi, first of all thank you so much for your amazing job!

As the LinVst developer, in your experience is there a significant performance hit running VSTs through wine and livst compared to native plugins? If so, how big?
Is it advisable to use them as daily driver for recording or overall it's just better to stick to windows, from a performance only point of view? I'm mainly interested in small amp sims from Lepou and Ignite, nothing crazy, but sometimes I ask myself if I'm missing out..
Wine is slower but by how much seems to vary from system to system.

From my testing, one of the things that can affect latency is the vst GUI believe it or not.

It seems that the way Wine translates the Windows vst GUI to Linux can vary from card to card and maybe affect the Wine audio processing part.

If you are trying to get realtime recording with low latency then LinVst might work ok but it might depend on the system as well.

An i5/i7 with a fast graphics card and a recording interface capable of low latency with it's Linux Drivers and a realtime or low latency kernel with irq priorities setup (rtirq script) would probably be the best system.

Some seem to have been able to use amp sims ok with LinVst on their systems https://line6.com/support/topic/3066...h-added-linux/

If you feel ok with Windows and don't want to experiment a bit with Linux and maybe not get the results you would be happy with then maybe sticking to Windows would be the way to go, it's hard to say exactly.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 02:38 AM   #664
Sangeppato
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by osxmidi View Post
Wine is slower but by how much seems to vary from system to system.

From my testing, one of the things that can affect latency is the vst GUI believe it or not.

It seems that the way Wine translates the Windows vst GUI to Linux can vary from card to card and maybe affect the Wine audio processing part.

If you are trying to get realtime recording with low latency then LinVst might work ok but it might depend on the system as well.

An i5/i7 with a fast graphics card and a recording interface capable of low latency with it's Linux Drivers and a realtime or low latency kernel with irq priorities setup (rtirq script) would probably be the best system.

Some seem to have been able to use amp sims ok with LinVst on their systems https://line6.com/support/topic/3066...h-added-linux/

If you feel ok with Windows and don't want to experiment a bit with Linux and maybe not get the results you would be happy with then maybe sticking to Windows would be the way to go, it's hard to say exactly.
Thanks for the answer!
I have tested the LePou VSTs mainly (love those plugins and they don't even rely on d2d1.dll) and the results so far are great, I can't notice any extra latency (obviously with an external audio interface) and the CPU load stays very low.
I definitely prefer Linux and I'm fine tweaking things (to a certain extent), but you know, sometimes I have some doubts if it would be better to just stick to Windows-land, where all the VST are native, for music stuff. Just some stupid thoughts I guess.
Thanks again, keep up your great work!!
Sangeppato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 07:30 PM   #665
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 370
Default

Linux helps me to see what I'm doing, so I know what I'm doing.
It can be slower, and more work, but there are connections
unseen in windows audio, that I want to see and easily
modify at will. So flexibility is more important in my case.

People who are more used to 'doing it all' in a daw app,
with many dollars in plugins, might be more productive
and happier in some mac/win setting, but even such people are finding
favorite plugin collections to be working in linux.

For text work, audio editing, media playback and file management,
I also prefer linux. I use win7 to watch a little TV (with guitar
and keyboard active to practice*) and to retain no-brainer bargains until
they can be made working in wine/reaper.

* playing along with scores and soundracks helps get a feel for real productions and musicality compared to just shredding, although
practicing speed and dexterity carries over into turning
some lucky melodic magic.
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 12:32 AM   #666
wastee
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 22
Default

It there any chance use vst3 with linvst directly?
Not use DDMF.

I want to know the possibility if wine melodyne ara2 run in Native REAPER. haha
wastee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 03:59 AM   #667
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 507
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wastee View Post
It there any chance use vst3 with linvst directly?
Not use DDMF.

I want to know the possibility if wine melodyne ara2 run in Native REAPER. haha
No not at this time.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 04:42 AM   #668
Sangeppato
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by osxmidi View Post
No not at this time.
I was asking that same question myself.
Just out of curiosity, would it technically be possible (to directly bridge vst3) or it would require a full reimplementation of linvst?
Sangeppato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 08:36 PM   #669
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 507
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sangeppato View Post
I was asking that same question myself.
Just out of curiosity, would it technically be possible (to directly bridge vst3) or it would require a full reimplementation of linvst?
Yes it's possible and I've already looked into it.

Whether I get around to it, I don't know.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2019, 04:43 AM   #670
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,722
Default

Finally I can hopefully wipe those embarrassing eggs off my face.

The last few days Waves Central worked on my computer, and I was able to install waves plugins and run them in reaper via linvst. Sadly today it refuses to start again I'll see if I can figure out what has gone wrong... The plugins are still authorized and seem to work fine though.
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040,etc. :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2019, 10:54 AM   #671
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 2,965
Default

I have the Waves DBX160 compressor, but never tried to get it functioning in WINE/Linux. I pretty much expect with the copy protection schemes they and some others use, that it would be more hassle that it's worth so I just bought another compressor that has a native Linux version and just quit using the Waves DBX160. I thought about looking for a crack, since I am a paying customer, but in the end, it would have to run through LinVST and would never be as efficient at the native Linux FC70 compressor from Overtone.
__________________
Glennbo
Hear My Music - Click Me!!!
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2019, 12:27 PM   #672
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,722
Default

It seems to be related to what kernel I boot.. I suppose some kernel configuration makes it fail on the kernel I've mostly been running. That was not obvious

Waves central is quite a hassle to install, and seems to need a USB stick connected to work, though no license gets installed on it, it seems to get installed in the wine prefix C drive. No need to have the usb connected to use the plugins though.

I'm really mostly interested in maxxbass, but having fun trying vocal rider. I don't really need waves, but they do have a lot of quite useful plugins and are fast to get a decent result with..
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040,etc. :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2019, 12:51 PM   #673
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Winter View Post
I'm really mostly interested in maxxbass
Same here -- they have that patent so it's still the only game in town for what it does... it'd be great if it could be working in Linux. Thanks for exploring the issue.
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2019, 01:37 AM   #674
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 370
Default

I wonder if there are different usb modules loaded in different kernels?
There used to be quite a few of them, and not uniformly
made use of. Sometimes a midi interface would need a certain one
to get it working right.
Cheers
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.