Old 03-28-2021, 10:21 AM   #1
tal4jesus
Human being with feelings
 
tal4jesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 11
Default Big Sur plugin problems

So many of my plugins are not working correctly, mostly GUI's that won't show up. Any help appreciated.
__________________
what are you talking about?
tal4jesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2021, 01:50 PM   #2
Ideosound
Human being with feelings
 
Ideosound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: U.K
Posts: 393
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tal4jesus View Post
So many of my plugins are not working correctly, mostly GUI's that won't show up. Any help appreciated.
What OS version were you using before? I hope you made a backup....
Ideosound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2021, 01:58 PM   #3
tal4jesus
Human being with feelings
 
tal4jesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ideosound View Post
What OS version were you using before? I hope you made a backup....
I had High Sierra. I did make a backup.
__________________
what are you talking about?
tal4jesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2021, 03:19 PM   #4
Kewl
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 87
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tal4jesus View Post
So many of my plugins are not working correctly, mostly GUI's that won't show up. Any help appreciated.
Maybe "old" plug-ins that use the Carbon API?

"Carbon was officially discontinued and removed entirely with the release of macOS 10.15 Catalina." https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carbon_(API)
Kewl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2021, 02:29 AM   #5
Ideosound
Human being with feelings
 
Ideosound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: U.K
Posts: 393
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kewl View Post
Maybe "old" plug-ins that use the Carbon API?

"Carbon was officially discontinued and removed entirely with the release of macOS 10.15 Catalina." https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carbon_(API)
Take it carbon is 32 bit, as I reckon that is your problem. I'm staying and happy on Mojave, since it still supports older music plugs and apps that will never get 64 bit support. And it has dark mode 😎
Ideosound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2021, 02:51 PM   #6
SteveK_Germany
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 28
Default

My plugins seem to work fine display-wise and sound-wise
Big Sur 11.4

Serum synth
Sylenth Synth
FabFilter any plugin
Native Instruments (just little use not too sure, battery is working fine)
iZotope Suite - tested most of them, I guess the Iris synth is still not supported
Output any VST - Portal, Thermal, Movement (Kontakt instruments not tested yet)
NUGEN - mastering tools
MAAT TP meter and corellation
XLN XO - the best VST plugin ever!!!
Lexicon native bundle
SSL compressor
WAVES various plugins (seem to work fine)
Soundtoys (several tools, i.e. FilterFreak, Decapitator, AlterBoy)

However, it seems like Reaper is frequently crashing when loading a project. Once it is loaded all VSTs work fine. The problem only arises on load.

I can not tell which plugin is causing this...

When I start Reaper without any project it loads fine. So it looks like some VST is causing trouble.
SteveK_Germany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2021, 02:02 AM   #7
SteveK_Germany
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 28
Default Am I the only one having problems with Reaper crashing on Big Sur?

Am I the only one having problems with Reaper crashing on Big Sur?

Almost any of my projects crash Reaper completely when I open them.
I think about switching to Logic Pro.

Mac OS 11.4
Reaper 6.29
SteveK_Germany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 01:01 AM   #8
Ideosound
Human being with feelings
 
Ideosound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: U.K
Posts: 393
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveK_Germany View Post
Am I the only one having problems with Reaper crashing on Big Sur?

Almost any of my projects crash Reaper completely when I open them.
I think about switching to Logic Pro.

Mac OS 11.4
Reaper 6.29
Can you see the crash window after reaper vanishes? If you look at the log/report it might help work out what is causing it. On Mojave myself.
Ideosound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.