Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > MIDI Hardware, Control Surfaces, and OSC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2020, 02:51 PM   #10281
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 5,139
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixMonkey View Post
Will do. This uses the new syntax for channel numbering, yes?
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixMonkey View Post
OT Was there ever any metering FB for OSC?
No, haven't written one yet.
__________________
Beta software https://stash.reaper.fm/v/38349/CSI%20beta.zip Donate GeoffWaddington.ca
Installation / documentation / source https://github.com/GeoffAWaddington/...ntegrator/wiki
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 02:55 PM   #10282
MixMonkey
Human being with feelings
 
MixMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,599
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington View Post
No, haven't written one yet.
Cool, I won't bother looking for it then
MixMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 03:12 PM   #10283
siniarch
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 290
Default

****UPDATED*****

23 Different Unique Custom files.

19 Different Control Surfaces Mapped.

94 FX Zone files (65 in MFT by Funkybot, 20 in Platform M+ by Cragster)


https://siniarch.wixsite.com/csiconfigfiles


Thanks everyone for participating.

Last edited by siniarch; 09-26-2020 at 03:36 PM.
siniarch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 04:21 PM   #10284
MixMonkey
Human being with feelings
 
MixMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,599
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington View Post
New build is up -- "CSI beta Test.zip".

Includes 4 Reaper Actions -- just type CSI in the Action search window, number 4 is the one to check.

Could you have a quick look at your convenience and see if the files are properly generated ?

Thanks
Whereaboouts is the build? The stash doesn't seem to have changed
MixMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 04:36 PM   #10285
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 5,139
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixMonkey View Post
Whereaboouts is the build? The stash doesn't seem to have changed
It's "CSI beta Test.zip".

Be aware that the CSI.ini format has changed, as have some other things (which shouldn't affect the Raw FX file generation test).
__________________
Beta software https://stash.reaper.fm/v/38349/CSI%20beta.zip Donate GeoffWaddington.ca
Installation / documentation / source https://github.com/GeoffAWaddington/...ntegrator/wiki
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 04:39 PM   #10286
MixMonkey
Human being with feelings
 
MixMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,599
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington View Post
It's "CSI beta Test.zip".

Be aware that the CSI.ini format has changed, as have some other things (which shouldn't affect the Raw FX file generation test).
Got it
MixMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 05:05 PM   #10287
MixMonkey
Human being with feelings
 
MixMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,599
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington View Post
New build is up -- "CSI beta Test.zip".

Includes 4 Reaper Actions -- just type CSI in the Action search window, number 4 is the one to check.

Could you have a quick look at your convenience and see if the files are properly generated ?

Thanks
Files it generates look fine. It couldn't be much closer to being an actual FX Zone. Just add surface controls and change the extension
MixMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 05:07 PM   #10288
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 5,139
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixMonkey View Post
Files it generates look fine. It couldn't be much closer to being an actual FX Zone. Just add surface controls and change the extension
Great, thanks for the test.
__________________
Beta software https://stash.reaper.fm/v/38349/CSI%20beta.zip Donate GeoffWaddington.ca
Installation / documentation / source https://github.com/GeoffAWaddington/...ntegrator/wiki
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 07:19 PM   #10289
Cragster
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Quakertown PA USA
Posts: 478
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by siniarch View Post
Cragster, Thanks for this.

I was wondering which FX Zone files go with which Controller. I'm separating each controller into their own post on the website. And whichever FX zone is tied to each controller, it needs to be separated that way.

Let me know. Thanks.
all those FXZone files go with the Platform M+. As i have the M+ mapped strictly for FX params and various FX Actions that i use. So its kinda an FX surface. Thats how i use it. That Platform M+ zone file is not your typical control the tracks mute send record select etc. Its a differnt take on the surface if anyone is interested in using it that way. Or since its not standard maybe you should take it off the site ? But the mothership Neutron plugin thats included definitly goes with the M+. I have the different modules mapped to the track controls as subzones. well i guess it would work with any standard 8 fader 8 rotary select mute record solo button layout surface.Its surley a custom mapped surface so your call. when i get time i can make a standard M+ zone file and post it for your site.

edit: I think all those FX zones would work on any mcu type 8 fader 8 rotary/push surface.But they all get used here on the Platform M+
Cragster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 12:03 AM   #10290
tdc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Sydney
Posts: 450
Default

Hey Geoff,

In this latest beta, are there any EuCon changes to dive into to test?
tdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 02:35 AM   #10291
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,650
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by siniarch View Post
I agree that they should be on ReaPack, but I'm not sure ReaPack can handle ,,,
No the current version of ReaPack can't handle the format of the files - and maybe also not the combination of these different files for a single implementation.
To allow for a distribution with ReaPack, Reapack needs to consider some information about the kind of file(s).

E.G ReaPack supports providing a documentation and some meta-information that is provided to the end users before installing the file(s). This information can be searched to allow for finding the file a user might be interested in. The documentation is done in a dedicated format allowing for a beautiful display in the ReaPack window in Reaper. This code needs to be included in a comment block in the file(s). Hence ReaPack and CSI need to agree on a decent commenting syntax.
So Geoff and Christian both need to make this happen.

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 09-27-2020 at 03:51 AM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 03:31 AM   #10292
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 5,139
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdc View Post
Hey Geoff,

In this latest beta, are there any EuCon changes to dive into to test?
Not in the one just posted, but stay tuned, working...
__________________
Beta software https://stash.reaper.fm/v/38349/CSI%20beta.zip Donate GeoffWaddington.ca
Installation / documentation / source https://github.com/GeoffAWaddington/...ntegrator/wiki
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 04:36 AM   #10293
ivan_ef
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Yaroslavl, Russia
Posts: 20
Default

Hello everyone.
As I can see, no one uses encoder widget in their templates, except for x-touch full and mackie Control Surface (which works in MCU mode?). Is it because of impossibility to receive feedback to led rings on controller with encoder widget? With Fader7bit widget for encoder feedback works as it should.
ivan_ef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 05:06 AM   #10294
Equitone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 22
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixMonkey View Post
It means that the "Sync Zones Across Surfaces" box is unchecked in the CSI prefs, meaning when a Zone is changed on one surface it doesn't affect other surfaces.
That's a relief.
Thanks.
Equitone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 05:50 AM   #10295
Nick Morris
Human being with feelings
 
Nick Morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 466
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixMonkey View Post
Here's a bundle of C4 FX Zones for your website
OMG 😳 this just saved me a TON of time. I ❤️ you!!!!

Siniarch, I would think that the fx zone files should all be included on the website along with each surface they were created for. Just bundle everything for each surface together, right?
__________________
www.ElaireStudios.com
Robo-Mic RMS robotic remote controlled mic stands aimed at mic'ing amps
Nick Morris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 06:07 AM   #10296
MixMonkey
Human being with feelings
 
MixMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,599
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Morris View Post
OMG �� this just saved me a TON of time. I ❤️ you!!!!
LOL

EDIT: If you find any mistakes in the Zones, be a kind chap and let me know
MixMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 06:41 AM   #10297
tdc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Sydney
Posts: 450
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington View Post
Not in the one just posted, but stay tuned, working...
Thanks, looking forward to the next gen. Hoping you’re well.
tdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 06:45 AM   #10298
MixMonkey
Human being with feelings
 
MixMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,599
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan_ef View Post
Hello everyone.
As I can see, no one uses encoder widget in their templates, except for x-touch full and mackie Control Surface (which works in MCU mode?). Is it because of impossibility to receive feedback to led rings on controller with encoder widget? With Fader7bit widget for encoder feedback works as it should.
What surface are you using? Encoder feedback works here with Mackie MCU/C4.
MixMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 07:47 AM   #10299
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,451
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan_ef View Post
Hello everyone.
As I can see, no one uses encoder widget in their templates, except for x-touch full and mackie Control Surface (which works in MCU mode?). Is it because of impossibility to receive feedback to led rings on controller with encoder widget? With Fader7bit widget for encoder feedback works as it should.
I use the Encoder widget with the Fader 7Bit feedback combination in my MFTwister setup. A lot of encoder functionality with stepped parameters, ranges, and acceleration is still relatively new. Maybe more people just haven’t learned the inns and outs or updated their prior templates. Also the Fader 7Bit widget might just be a preference for some since it makes zone creation easier, not having to worry about stepped parameters.
Funkybot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 10:46 AM   #10300
siniarch
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 290
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Morris View Post
OMG 😳 this just saved me a TON of time. I ❤️ you!!!!

Siniarch, I would think that the fx zone files should all be included on the website along with each surface they were created for. Just bundle everything for each surface together, right?
That is exactly how it is set up.

If you download the Zones file, it has the controller Zone file and any FX zone files provided by the person.
siniarch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 10:50 AM   #10301
siniarch
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 290
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixMonkey View Post
Here's a bundle of C4 FX Zones for your website
Hi MixMonkey,
Do these work in conjunction with the default C4 controller MST files provided in the CSI install?
siniarch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 11:29 AM   #10302
MixMonkey
Human being with feelings
 
MixMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,599
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by siniarch View Post
Hi MixMonkey,
Do these work in conjunction with the default C4 controller MST files provided in the CSI install?
Probably best to use the ones I've attached

The only thing worth pointing out about these (that can't be gleaned by just reading them) is that I swapped the modifiers (Shift, Option, Control, Alt) from their normal positions with the group of 4 buttons immediately to their left (Marker, Track, ChanStrip, Function).

These buttons have LEDs, so you can see when any of the modifiers are engaged- important because modifiers can be latched.

Last edited by MixMonkey; 09-29-2020 at 05:19 PM.
MixMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 12:19 PM   #10303
ivan_ef
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Yaroslavl, Russia
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixMonkey View Post
What surface are you using? Encoder feedback works here with Mackie MCU/C4.
I'm using X-touch compact. I can switch it to MCU mode, but it's implementation in MCU mode is very poor compare to native mode functionality.
ivan_ef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 12:30 PM   #10304
MixMonkey
Human being with feelings
 
MixMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,599
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan_ef View Post
I'm using X-touch compact. I can switch it to MCU mode, but it's implementation in MCU mode is very poor compare to native mode functionality.
What does the native mode have that the MCU mode lacks?
MixMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 12:44 PM   #10305
ivan_ef
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Yaroslavl, Russia
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot View Post
I use the Encoder widget with the Fader 7Bit feedback combination in my MFTwister setup. A lot of encoder functionality with stepped parameters, ranges, and acceleration is still relatively new. Maybe more people just haven’t learned the inns and outs or updated their prior templates. Also the Fader 7Bit widget might just be a preference for some since it makes zone creation easier, not having to worry about stepped parameters.
I think you are right, it's just easier to use Fader widget.
ivan_ef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 12:50 PM   #10306
ivan_ef
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Yaroslavl, Russia
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixMonkey View Post
What does the native mode have that the MCU mode lacks?
And also 1 user layer instead of 2


ivan_ef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 12:56 PM   #10307
MixMonkey
Human being with feelings
 
MixMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,599
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan_ef View Post
And also 1 user layer instead of 2

What do you do with the 'user' layers?
MixMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 01:22 PM   #10308
ivan_ef
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Yaroslavl, Russia
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixMonkey View Post
What do you do with the 'user' layers?
One of use cases is to control some other devices with layer A and control Reaper with layer B.
ivan_ef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 01:23 PM   #10309
MixMonkey
Human being with feelings
 
MixMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,599
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan_ef View Post
One of use cases is to control some other devices with layer A and control Reaper with layer B.
I see, cool
MixMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 01:31 PM   #10310
ivan_ef
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Yaroslavl, Russia
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixMonkey View Post
I see, cool
Somehow I got encoder widget working today.
Could you explain what feedback messages for encoder LED ring are sent from CSI?
ivan_ef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 01:44 PM   #10311
MixMonkey
Human being with feelings
 
MixMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,599
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan_ef View Post
Somehow I got encoder widget working today.
Could you explain what feedback messages for encoder LED ring are sent from CSI?
Which .mst file are you using?
MixMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 01:51 PM   #10312
ivan_ef
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Yaroslavl, Russia
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixMonkey View Post
Which .mst file are you using?
I made it from x-touch midi example from this forum.

the encoder:

Widget LayerA_Rotary1
Encoder b0 21 7f
FB_Encoder b0 21 7f
WidgetEnd

this part from zon file is changing led ring filling behavor (spread, trim, fan, ect.) in MCU mode, but doesn't in native HUI mode:

Zone "Pan|1-8"
TrackNavigator
LayerA_Rotary| TrackPan 2
LayerA_RotaryPush| GoZone PanWidth|
ZoneEnd

Zone "PanWidth|1-8"
TrackNavigator
LayerA_Rotary| TrackPanWidth 3
LayerA_RotaryPush| GoZone Pan|
ZoneEnd
ivan_ef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 02:02 PM   #10313
MixMonkey
Human being with feelings
 
MixMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,599
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan_ef View Post
I made it from x-touch midi example from this forum.

the encoder:

Widget LayerA_Rotary1
Encoder b0 21 7f
FB_Encoder b0 21 7f
WidgetEnd

this part from zon file is changing led ring filling behavor (spread, trim, fan, ect.) in MCU mode, but doesn't in native HUI mode:

Zone "Pan|1-8"
TrackNavigator
LayerA_Rotary| TrackPan 2
LayerA_RotaryPush| GoZone PanWidth|
ZoneEnd

Zone "PanWidth|1-8"
TrackNavigator
LayerA_Rotary| TrackPanWidth 3
LayerA_RotaryPush| GoZone Pan|
ZoneEnd

You could try changing the FB_Encoder line in the .mst to:
Code:
FB_Fader7Bit b0 21 7f
@Funkybot had success with this with MIDI Fighter Twister, I believe. If you're lucky it might show the value sent back from Reaper.
MixMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 02:53 PM   #10314
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,650
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixMonkey View Post
What do you do with the 'user' layers?
The big shortcomings with the layers in Native mode are:
- they can only be switched by the two "layer" buttons and not remotely via Midi signals,
- The two "Layer" buttons don't send Midi signals when pushed
- when in one layer, incoming Midi messages aimed to the CCs assigned by the other layer are ignored instead of silently acknowledged to modify the (hidden) state of that layer.
IMHO this, together with
- sending only 7 bit Fader information in MC mode
- no high resolution Midi option in native Mode
is a serious shortcoming in the current firmware, but I am not aware of any update...

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 09-28-2020 at 04:42 AM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 03:05 PM   #10315
ivan_ef
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Yaroslavl, Russia
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
The big shortcomings with the layers in Native mode are:
- they can only be switched by the tow "layer" buttons and not remotely via Midi signals,
- The two "Layer" buttons don't send Midi signals when pushed
- when in one layer, incoming Midi messages aimed to the CCs assigned by the other layer are ignored instead of silently acknowledged to modify the (hidden) state of theast layer.
IMHO this, together with
- sending only 8 bit Fader information in MC mode
- no high resolution Midi option in native Mode
is a serious shortcoming in the current firmware, but I am not aware of any update...

-Michael

it depends on goals of using control surface.
Midi feedback messages must be sent continuously to controller like in MCU mode to get correct state of controls when returned to layer.

I didn't find any purposes of using higher resolution yet. However, as I can see resolution can be adjusted for encoders in CSI.
ivan_ef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 04:59 PM   #10316
ivan_ef
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Yaroslavl, Russia
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixMonkey View Post
You could try changing the FB_Encoder line in the .mst to:
Code:
FB_Fader7Bit b0 21 7f
@Funkybot had success with this with MIDI Fighter Twister, I believe. If you're lucky it might show the value sent back from Reaper.
thanks for the tips, I will try.
ivan_ef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 05:48 PM   #10317
cjewellstudios
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 389
Default

Hello all, is most everyone using the cutting edge beta?

I've sorta held off making fx zones until the recent overhaul was in place.
cjewellstudios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 06:16 PM   #10318
MixMonkey
Human being with feelings
 
MixMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,599
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cjewellstudios View Post
Hello all, is most everyone using the cutting edge beta?

I've sorta held off making fx zones until the recent overhaul was in place.
Nope FX and Sends are not operational yet and many things have changed and are not yet documented. I think most people are using the build from May 5th that is in Geoff's link.

I'm using a build from April:

https://stash.reaper.fm/40308/CSI%20beta-30.zip

Touch mode works in this build, as well as sends zone returning correctly to home.
MixMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 07:38 PM   #10319
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,451
Default

May 5th build here.
Funkybot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2020, 04:41 AM   #10320
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,650
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan_ef View Post
I didn't find any purposes of using higher resolution yet.
I found that faders with only 7 bits resolution (I originally erroneously said 8 bits) are agreed to be not appropriate. That is why MC protocol with close to all other devices implements something like 10 bits by "stretching" the 3 byte Midi message format in a propriety way.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.