Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2019, 09:24 AM   #1
BartR
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Belgium
Posts: 38
Default [SOLVED] how can I explode items of a same take, into new tracks?

When I rip vinyls , I record everything on the same track (1 take)
Then I split it removing the silences etc and I wold like to explode all the items into new tracks.
Thus if the recording was split into 10 items, I would like to set each item at the beginning of a new track

How can I do it please?
__________________
Bart R.

Last edited by BartR; 11-24-2019 at 03:18 PM.
BartR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 09:35 AM   #2
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 9,188
Default

Just in case, is the goal to render the items to new (separate) files?
In this case you could render the items directly choosing "Source: Selected media items" in the 'Render to File' dialog.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 09:49 AM   #3
BartR
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Belgium
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
Just in case, is the goal to render the items to new (separate) files?
In this case you could render the items directly choosing "Source: Selected media items" in the 'Render to File' dialog.
Well in the reality I want to normalize each item as well, independently from the other ones.
Then export them as you said.
__________________
Bart R.
BartR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 09:55 AM   #4
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 9,188
Default

For normalizing putting them on separate tracks wouldn't be necessary either.
There are some stock actions to normalize items (to peak value), if you have SWS extension installed it's also possible to normalize to RMS or LUFS (filter action list for normalize).

edit:
Personally I'd probably use the action "Item properties: Normalize multiple items to common gain" when normalizing tracks of an album, as it keeps the original volume relation between the tracks intact (as it was intended by the mastering engineer ).

Last edited by nofish; 11-24-2019 at 10:02 AM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 10:09 AM   #5
BartR
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Belgium
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
For normalizing putting them on separate tracks wouldn't be necessary either.
There are some stock actions to normalize items (to peak value), if you have SWS extension installed it's also possible to normalize to RMS or LUFS (filter action list for normalize).

edit:
Personally I'd probably use the action "Item properties: Normalize multiple items to common gain" when normalizing tracks of an album, as it keeps the original volume relation between the tracks intact (as it was intended by the mastering engineer ).
I normally put items on different tracks, because when I select the normalization, and they were on the same track, I remember it was normalized based on the highest peak of one of them..
From that moment on, I put them on different racks, normalized, then glued then consolidated
__________________
Bart R.
BartR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 10:52 AM   #6
BartR
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Belgium
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
For normalizing putting them on separate tracks wouldn't be necessary either.
There are some stock actions to normalize items (to peak value), if you have SWS extension installed it's also possible to normalize to RMS or LUFS (filter action list for normalize).

edit:
Personally I'd probably use the action "Item properties: Normalize multiple items to common gain" when normalizing tracks of an album, as it keeps the original volume relation between the tracks intact (as it was intended by the mastering engineer ).
P.S. I tried right now as you suggested. It worked perfectly.
Thus, probably I did some mistake in the past that lead me to a more cumbersome procedure.

Thanks a million
__________________
Bart R.

Last edited by BartR; 11-24-2019 at 11:05 AM.
BartR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.