COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :
Old 10-27-2019, 10:12 AM   #1
Liquid Fusion
Human being with feelings
 
Liquid Fusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 572
Default Importing song titles when ripping cd

Hi. Like to import Song Titles into Reaper files that I see when Music Player plays songs.

When ripping a CD, song titles are not imported with the saved project. How can I fix this? Thanks.

Right now I go to File / Project Settings - set path / Wav bit depth. Then Insert / Media File / Import as separate tracks / Save Project As

What happens when importing Media Files into Reaper: Track Name = Track01-imported

Playing .cda files from a CD in the PC, you see Song Titles in Music Player Win10Pro.

Right clicking .cda files you see - Complete name: F:\Track01.cda

Last edited by Liquid Fusion; 10-27-2019 at 10:37 AM.
Liquid Fusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 10:42 AM   #2
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,514
Default

The song titles are not on the CD, they are fetched from some external database, such as FreeDB.org, but I guess Windows Media Player has its own database.

Yes, it would be nice if Reaper could fetch song titles from somewhere like FreeDB.org, but AFAIK this is not currently available.

I rip CDs with AudioGrabber Portable, it accesses FreeDB.org to get the song titles.

And BTW, the *.cda "files" that you see are not really files in the conventional sense, they are just placeholders that Windows make up, since an audio CD does not have a file system.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 04:00 PM   #3
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 19,119
Default

I wanted to check out Autograbber but after trying three legitimate-looking sites, Win10 informed me that all three sites were risky. Do you have a safe, reliable D/L link I could use?
__________________
"What a dick comment. I'm gonna make sure to avoid your name." Dicks other than Trump can speak????
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2019, 12:14 PM   #4
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,514
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
I wanted to check out Autograbber but after trying three legitimate-looking sites, Win10 informed me that all three sites were risky. Do you have a safe, reliable D/L link I could use?
Oh... I DL'd long ago, the portable version. I guess I got it from Softpedia, as I used to DL from there:
https://www.softpedia.com/get/PORTAB...ograbber.shtml
It is an exe, but it can be opened by 7-zip, and then just dragged and dropped anywhere (at least this worked for me).

It seems this has not been update since long ago, the DL from Softpedia is still v1.83. I run it on W7, have not tried on W10.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.