Old 09-03-2019, 07:22 PM   #1
croakouttatune
Human being with feelings
 
croakouttatune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 43
Default trouble editing scripts

Hello,

currently engaged in the troublesome process of learning reaper's scripting languages.
I'm running Reaper on OS X. when I open the
"Actions" window and search the "Untitled.lua" experimental script I've been editing to try out different function that are available in the library the "edit..." button located at the end of the page doesn't open the IDE editor like I think it would.
Am I totally out of place? What am I missing?
__________________
"signal flares in bunches and acid for the brunches"
croakouttatune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2019, 02:30 AM   #2
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,871
Default

Does it show any error messages? Or is nothing happening at all?

One thing you can try:
  1. Go to Preferences > External Editors
  2. Add a new entry with lua as extension and assign a (text or code) editor of your choice as Primary Editor
Now when pressing the ReaScript: [EDIT] button in the Action List, it should give you the option to choose between opening the lua file with either the internal or external editor.
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2019, 02:41 AM   #3
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,871
Default

It might perhaps also be the case that the position of the editor window is somehow outside the visible screen area.

After clicking the [EDIT] button in the Action List, have you already checked if the editor window shows up, for instance, when pressing the (Mission Control) [F3] key to get an overview of all open windows: https://www.macworld.co.uk/how-to/ma...once-3663530/?

Otherwise, try this:
  1. Go to Options > Show Reaper resource path ...
  2. Make a copy of the reaper.ini file as backup, just in case
  3. Open the reaper.ini file with a text editor
  4. Search for the [reascriptedit] entry
  5. Remove this entry and the 'watch_' entries inside this section ** ...
  6. .. and save the changes
  7. You might have to restart Reaper afterwards or close Reaper before editing the .ini file in step 3 for the changes to take effect.

** This section usually looks something like this
Quote:
[reascriptedit]
watch_docked=0
watch_lmax=0
watch_lx=586
watch_ly=582
watch_lw=1130
watch_lh=591
watch_c1=100
watch_c2=82
__________________
ReaLauncher

Last edited by solger; 09-04-2019 at 02:59 AM.
solger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2019, 09:29 AM   #4
croakouttatune
Human being with feelings
 
croakouttatune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 43
Default

Thank you for these excellent recommendations.
How would I add Vim as an external editor?
__________________
"signal flares in bunches and acid for the brunches"
croakouttatune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2019, 09:59 AM   #5
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,871
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by croakouttatune View Post
How would I add Vim as an external editor?
I had a quick look and tried some things, but it seems that only .app versions are supported for external editors (so no vim bash version).

One option you can try is using MacVim instead (which is an .app version): https://github.com/macvim-dev/macvim...g/snapshot-157
Personally I'm using Visual Studio Code (with lua extensions): https://code.visualstudio.com/

Another possible option would be to open the lua file directly in vim (without going through Reaper).
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 01:50 AM   #6
croakouttatune
Human being with feelings
 
croakouttatune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 43
Default

What about writing a script in Python to open up vim in a terminal window?
I feel like if I could get reaper to do that I'd be set!

I realize that this is probably me going off the deep end but damn it's almost Christmas somebody's gotta lose their mind over a configuration issue.

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/...-python-script

note: I will return to over-edit this message!
__________________
"signal flares in bunches and acid for the brunches"
croakouttatune is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.